Coming attractions…

 While enjoying our mild temps this past weekend, on many of my strolls through the garden, I found the next round of spring bloomers.  Some of these are new to me this year so I am excited to see their foliage .  It’s always a thrill to watch the bulbs & new perennials we plant in the fall poke their heads through the soil in the spring.  So without further adieu here are my coming attractions….

The bulbs are all new to me this season.  I love Alliums and the majority of mine are shades of purple.  Multibulbosum is a white flowering heirloom that I found at my local Lowe’s this past fall.   Can’t wait to see it blooming in the New Garden bed combined with the many shades of purple and yellow flowering plants that live there now.  Purple Sensation looked pretty fabulous in the catalog photos, so I’m hoping it’s everything it promised to be this year.  Muscari are wonderful spring bloomers and this bi-colored variety is a big change from the common Grape Hyacinths that I have been growing  for years.  Last but not least is the new foliage of Nelly Moser.  She is a gorgeous large flowering Clematis that I’ve had for 7 years plus now.  Last fall she found a new home planted against the back fence in the Arbor Garden under my new trellis.  Hopefully she loves her new digs and rewards me generously with her pretty blossoms.

20 responses to this post.

  1. It is great to see them emerge from a winters rest(-: My Nellie didn’t make it last year. I don’t know what happened. I love Alliums I saw some of mine poking through the soil the other day too!

    Yep it’s always a sigh of relief to know they survived whatever winter threw at them over the past few months. That is shame about your Nellie. Maybe too much winter moisture? Mine has been in the garden for going on 8 or 9 years now. She’s what started my Clematis addiction. 😉 Alliums are my alltime favorite spring bulb. So easy & so many varieties to choose from Cindee.

    Reply

  2. Looking good. I feel like a broken record…tomorrow I will plant the snaps. Went to the dump today to take a bunch of the roses that I clipped on the weekend. I found someone had just dumped a lot of freshly cut camellia bushes. Well, as luck would have it the extension office is between the dump and my house! So I stopped in to ask about propagating some of these branches that I ‘rescued’. While it wasn’t a real ‘go for it’ from the agent, he did give me the details of what I needed to do. So like I said…tomorrow for the snaps. hahaha

    I’m sure you will to those snaps soon Janet, lol. Good luck with your Camellia cuttings, hope they do well for you. That will be exciting to see if you get a nice new shrub from someone’s clippings! 🙂

    Reply

  3. It’s exciting to see the new growth. I sighted a hosta sprout the other day, spring’s a comin’!

    Yes it is Dave! 🙂 Oh I haven’t seen any signs of Hostas yet, I will have to go take a peek under the leaf mulch tomorrow!

    Reply

  4. It won’t be long now!

    It sure won’t Sheila! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ok, we’ll be watching and waiting too. I’m excited!

    Thanks Anna, I promise to share the journey with all of you! 🙂

    Reply

  6. I bet Nelly Moser will love her new digs. I look forward to the photos!

    She seems happy so far Susie. 🙂 I promise I will share lots of photos of her pretty blooms this spring!

    Reply

  7. I have been finding more green on my perennials, too, including a foxglove. I even have a nicotiana that’s usually an annual here, looking quite lush. Every day we can go out we’ll find new discoveries!
    Woo hoo!

    Isn’t it fun to find the new growth, a nice signal of the season to come. Soon everything will be growing like crazy! 🙂

    Reply

  8. It is wonderful to see the plants start to emerge. And once they do they seem to grwo overnight. Hope yours do well and you can show us some great pictures. I planted some of the Sweet Autumn you sent. Finally, got some of my seeds strated. I am waiting for them to poke through. Thanks again for the seed. If all goes well, Rose and I will soon have our own clematis beauties.

    It is an exciting process to watch them grow and yes they do seem to do it quickly once they break ground. Especially the Alliums. Oh I hope the SAC do well for you, I’m sure they will. It tends to reseed in my garden (not too much thankfully) easily. Hope you post a photo when they germinate! 🙂 I have my fingers crossed for luck for you & Rose.

    Reply

  9. I’m excited right along with you Racquel. It is always the anticipation with new things. I bet they’ll all do great. Can’t wait to see the Purple Sensation.

    Thanks Tina, I hope they all turn out as pretty as the pictures on the tags. 😉 I can’t wait to see the Purple Sensation either.

    Reply

  10. It is always exciting to see new bulbs coming up – even in others’ gardens. Well, when your garden is still sleeping, other gardens are very exciting. I like to look of alliums and have considered putting more in here, maybe this year…

    I’m glad I could share my spring bloomers with you Chris. Gives you hope for the season ahead doesn’t it? 🙂 You should definitely put in more Alliums, they are such a nice addition to the garden.

    Reply

  11. Posted by greenwalks on March 10, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Looks like spring is really coming your way! How fun. Still lagging here, it was under 20 this morning when I checked. Eek!

    Yep it has made a nice appearance in my garden so far. I’m sure once winter decides to leave your area, you will be seeing some wonderful signs of life too! 😉 That is too cold for me BRRRRR.

    Reply

  12. I love to see bulbs peeking through the ground in spring! Be sure and post pictures as they progress–I can’t wait to see them in bloom!

    Me too Linda! 🙂 I promise to share lots of photos with you along the way.

    Reply

  13. Hi Racquel, so exciting! Nelly is looking good. I have had trouble relocating mine, it took a year or two for them to bounce back, but lots of watering helped. That new allium sounds delightful too, how funny to find it at Lowe’s, purveyors of the obscure! NOT! ha Purple Sensation was new for us last year and a thrilling bloomer so more were added. The foliage is up from last year’s too, so hopes are high for a good show. Sometimes after the first year some of these bulbs don’t return or are lesser in bloom. Purple Sensation always gets rave reviews, the color is nice and dark too, not washed out like A. christophii.
    Frances

    Hi Frances. thank you I’m glad she survived her move this past fall. She has had ample amounts of rain this winter & spring to usher in the new growth. I don’t baby here too much except during the blooming season with supplemental watering. I’ve found some nice things at my local Lowe’s and surprisingly enough new stuff that is just out on the market as well. I’m holding my breath with the Alliums since they are some of my favorite spring bulbs, hope they are everything the photos showed & more. 😉

    Reply

  14. Yes, it is wonderful to see “New” plants break the ground. I bought the same clematis, haven’t seed hide nor hair of it yet. The Purple Sensation Alliums I planted too, nope it’s not peeking out yet either. How long do they take?

    Such a treat at this time of the year Darla! Soon I’m sure you will see some signs of life with your Clematis & Alliums. My Purple Sensation just started poking through the ground a day or two ago. 🙂

    Reply

  15. It is so much fun to walk around the garden and see what is popping through the earth this time of year, isn’t it? We are farther behind you in spring’s coming, of course, but I, too, am beginning to see some life in the garden. I even noticed some buds on the lilac! But I haven’t seen a bee yet–yours is a sure sign that spring can’t be far away.

    Yes it is, new signs of life bring so much anticipation on what the new season holds for us in the garden Beckie! Buds on the Lilac are definitely a great sign if you ask me. Can’t wait to see the blooms on that beauty. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I also love alliums, though for some reason I don’t have many… It’s fun to watch for things coming up!

    I keep trying to add more varieties of this wonderful bulb to my garden each year. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Darn it! I meant to get some alliums. Couldn’t find any around here. Can’t wait to see yours. Are those the bulbs that only produce one flower?
    Brenda

    That’s a shame Brenda, I’m more than happy to share my blooms with you! The larger varieties like Purple Sensation I think is one flower per bulb, but supposibly they mulitply quickly. 🙂

    Reply

  18. I’m excited to see the blooms you get too! I’m not familiar with any of them so I will be looking forward to being introduced. 🙂

    Thanks Cindy! Well than I’ll be sure to show photos so you can become acquainted with these pretties. 🙂

    Reply

  19. How exciting Racquel. I planted a bunch of new bulbs last fall too (alliums among them) but unlike you, I can’t remember where I put them! So it will be even more of a surprise when they come up and bloom. I already see some bulb foliage I don’t recognize but I have no clue what it is… I hope your Nelly Moser comes back strong too. It’s a pretty one.

    Thanks Kathleen, I guess you will be surprised when they start blooming if you forgot where you planted them. lol I’ve done the same thing so many times I couldn’t tell you. This year I made notes so I wouldn’t forget. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what your unknown bulb foliage turns out to be. Yep I love Nelly, she’s been such a trooper in my garden ever spring for the past 5-6 years now.

    Reply

  20. Always fun to see what’s happening in the garden…I just saw the allium multibulbosum in a catalogue, love the loose look. Is your bi-colored muscaria gold and lilac? I have one like that, the nursery called it Golden something, but I’m not sure of the botanical name, must get that. There’s a muscari that is lavender and purple, too. I’d be curious to know if you know which yours is.

    Yes it is, I love this time of the year for all the unexpected surprises hidden under the leaves. 🙂 Nope my Muscari is lavender & purple. But the gold & lilac one sounds pretty interesting. Might have to check that one out next.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

