A great day!

Today I had every intention of getting out in the garden & doing some real work.  And don’t get me wrong I did go out & enjoy our beautiful weather and took tons of pictures of my spring blooms.  But I got a bit sidetracked from gardening and spent the better part of the afternoon with my closest friend.  With our hectic lifestyles it’s been awhile since we’ve been able to get together for a girls day.  So today we both set aside some time and went out to lunch.  It was great catching up with her again after so long.  She also helped me out by notorizing some Advance Directives (‘medical power of attorneys) I needed for my grandparents.  This way I will be able to talk their doctors and pass along their wishes for treatment.  My friend is a wonderful photographer and enjoys taking pictures of the flowers in my garden.  Today she took a bunch of macro shots of the deep purple Crocus blooms out front.  She promised to email me some copies soon.  When she does I will share them with all of you too!   Anyhow, during one of my strolls through the garden today I brushed aside some of the leaf mulch in the beds to look for signs of life amongst the perennials and look what I found….

Gentian blooming (09/08) and (03/09)

Gentian blooming (09/08) and (03/09)

The Gentians I planted last fall in front of the Limelight Hydrangea in the Arbor Garden are coming back to life! When I found these at Lowe’s in September they were marked as annuals, but after some research online I realized they were hardy in my area.  This was one of three plants that I felt iffy about being hardy in my garden.  The other two are the Salvia ‘Black & Blue” which is also showing signs of life and Lantana ‘Miss Muffet’ which I’m not sure of yet.  This is definitely a good sign of what is coming in the garden when the new foliage of perennials start emerging.  Yep it was good day in & out of the garden.  🙂

P.S.  Remember Spring forward & Fall back!  Don't forget to set your clocks ahead one hour tonight before you go to bed!  
23 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like everything is getting ready to bust out for you. Just a couple of weeks til spring. Can’t wait.

    Looks that way Deb, it’s so exciting! 🙂 I can’t wait either…

    Reply

  2. Some days you just gotta say no to gardening and spend time with friends and family. The gentian is a beautiful blue.

    Thanks for that Tina, I agree! 🙂 It is actually a deeper blue than I was able to capture with my camera.

    Reply

  3. Isn’t it exciting to see those first signs of life in the spring? I managed to even do a little work in the garden yesterday and discovered some tulip and daffodils beginning to emerge. But it’s good to take time for friends–you deserved some “girl time” after all your hard work and the stress you’ve had recently. Thanks for the reminder of the time change–I need to get to bed!

    Yes it is Rose. I’m glad you were able to get out in the garden & get your hands dirty yesterday! Sounds like spring is trying to make an appearance in your neck of the woods too. 🙂 Thanks I forget to give myself some time for just me. It’s a “MOM” thing, you know? 🙂

    Reply

  4. To quote Scarlett O’Hara, tomorrow is another day. I still haven’t seen any action with my Black and Blue sage… hope it comes back.

    So true Janet, so true! 🙂 I’ll cross my fingers for your B&B salvia, Les says his has been very hardy for him.

    Reply

  5. Glad you had a great day! I guess I need to spring forward to 12:26 am!

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, I needed it! 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’m glad you had a great day, too. It’s good you got information on how to take care of your parents. We took our grandson to my parents, who are in their upper 70s, and left him there for our daughter-in-law to pick up. We stayed awhile to visit, though. My sister was there, too. My parents both have things going on with their bodies. I forgot what Mom called her problem, but she’s had it awhile. She has pain in one of her shoulders, and is in therapy to avoid surgery. She is not to lift anything over 10 pounds, so she can’t lift our grandson. I feel bad for her, because they keep asking to have him every week, and there could be a time when they can’t handle it or him. He’s 15 months old, and an active little guy.

    Now I forgot what you said about plants, since I carried on about my parents. I am so glad a new garden season is approaching.

    Yep it was a nice day after a couple of weeks of stress. This POA will really give me some peace of mind in the near future with my grandparents. To quote my grandfather ” …it’s hell getting old…” 🙂 Thanks for the understanding & sharing your experiences with me. Sometimes I forget that I’m not the only person going through this.

    Reply

  7. Posted by greenwalks on March 8, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Lovely blue gentian! I wish I could winterize that here. So cute. Glad you had a fun girls’ day out and also got some gardening and important stuff done. How’s your grandfather recovering? Hope he is doing better every day.

    Thank you Karen! It was nice having some time to myself. He is doing well, thanks for asking. Getting stronger & healthier everyday. 🙂

    Reply

  8. You sounded so happy. Who wouldn’t. Those flowers look beautiful. Couldn’t wait for the macro shots you friend took.

    It’s been a bit hectic here for the past couple of weeks so it was nice to take sometime for myself for a change. Thanks Blossom!

    Reply

  9. Beautiful flowers Racquel and turning the clock to summertime is a true spring sign! Lovely

    Tyra

    Thanks Tyra! Yep it is truly a sign of longer days & warmer nights. Yay! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Love that blue. And there’s so much to look forward to! Agree with Tina’s comment about friends and family. Your day sounded like great fun.

    Thanks Kanak! It was a fun day & I agree that friends & family should come first sometimes too! 😉

    Reply

  11. Isn’t it wonderful to take the time and catch up with a friend? Love seeing your plants coming back!

    Yep it was a nice visit & I enjoyed the conversation. 🙂 Thanks Darla!

    Reply

  12. Glad to see your garden is emerging from winter. My little qt. sized pot of ‘Black n’ Blue now makes up a patch that is over 5′ wide, definately hardy.

    Thanks Les, me too! 😉 Wow, thanks for the info, I might need to find mine a new location soon. lol 🙂

    Reply

  13. Love the flowers. And thanks for the reminder. I knew this was the weekend, but in my morning haze I wondered where my time went. I got up at the usual time by my clock. Then after just a short time on the computer it was so much later. My foggy morning brain just couldn’t figure it out.

    Thanks Daphne! The camera doesn’t do them justice, the color is much deeper in person. You are quite welcome, glad I reminded you about the DST. I had a hard time getting up this morning too, needed 3 cups of coffee this morning to get going. Normally 2 is plenty. 🙂

    Reply

  14. March 7 WAS a good day! It rained off and on all day (and it’s raining this morning as well) but I took a nice drive outside suburbia to a more rural area to give a talk at a historic house in Hudson, Michigan. It was fun!

    No rain here but after tons of it last weekend followed by snow I’m grateful for the sunshine. 🙂 I’m glad you had a nice day yesterday too!

    Reply

  15. Seems we both are having good days these days! 🙂

    Sure looks that way Kylee! 🙂

    Reply

  16. The crocuses are blooming here as well, which is beyond strange for this time of the year … global warming anyone ? I also saw a Robin in February. While at the farmers market yesterday, one of the vendors mentioned how they no longer leave his yard in the winter. Perhaps soon we will be able to grow oranges ? LOL

    A sure sign of spring in Cleveland Mom! I saw a yellow finch today & a bee yesterday. A good signals that we are starting a new season in the garden. That would be something if you could grow oranges, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  17. What a lovely gift! Finding new plants revived. And having a friend over for visiting.
    Brenda

    Thanks Brenda. It was great day in & out of the garden! 😉

    Reply

  18. Posted by skeeter on March 8, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    It is a wonderful thing to put aside some time for friends and family! I would gladly pass on play in the garden if a friend or family member stopped by or called for a girl’s day out! Great fun and what a great find in the garden hiding under the mulch as well…

    Yes it is Skeeter. Especially when I don’t get to see my extended family & friends too often. It was a fun day all in all. 🙂

    Reply

  19. It does sounds like you had a lovely day. It’s always great catching up with a close friend. And of course, any time in the garden is good.

    It was a wonderful day, thanks Susie! 😉

    Reply

  20. Sounds like it was a productive day even though you weren’t gardening. Sometimes we need a break from the chores of a garden, and an old friend is a great way to do that.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    It was at that Jan! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  21. It sure is a wonderful feeling to brush aside some of the mulch, to discover new spring growth.

    Yes it is Jennifer! 🙂 Thanks for visiting today.

    Reply

  22. Sounds like a wonderful day Racquel. Good for you taking some time for yourself to spend time with a good friend. I’m sure I don’t have to tell you caretaking is hard, and nurturing yourself is a good battery recharger! Looking forward to seeing the crocus pictures – I haven’t gotten around to bulbs here yet, so I’m glad to enjoy them on the blogs.

    Thanks Linda! Yep sometimes you have to put aside some time for yourself. 🙂 Glad to share my bulb photos with you.

    Reply

  23. And me too!!! I have been in the garden all week. Isn’t it the best. But we’re going to get cold for just a bit again…it won’t last long—I promise.

    It is the best feeling in the world to be back out in the garden again. I missed playing in the dirt these past couple of months. Yep the brief cold spell is coming, but to be expected in March. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

