Snowy Day

Well that Winter Storm of 2009 definitely hit my area.  Here’s some photos I took at 5 am this morning.  It’s still coming down and blowing like crazy so the pics might be a bit blurry at times.  Sorry!  I will try to get out & take some more landscape shots this morning to show you my winter wonderland.  Oh and the schools are closed so I’m going back to bed.  🙂

17 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my stars! You did get some snow!!! Beautiufl slide show.

    Yes we did! And I’ll be glad when it melts away, lol. Thanks Darla! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Racquel, just how different can two places in the world get? Take a look at my latest post and you’ll know what I’m talking about.
    BTW, I would kill to be in your part of the world right now !

    I don’t envy your heat but your flower photos warmed me up a bit this morning Sunita. We are complete opposites as far as weather goes right now, lol. Remember, the grass isn’t always greener on the other side though…

    Reply

  3. We have that storm hitting us right now. The worst is going to hit in an hour or two. We will end up with about a foot. Friday was spring, today is winter again.

    I heard you guys are getting hard today Daphne. Stay warm & safe indoors! Hope you don’t have to go anywhere. This weather is screwy for sure, it was 70 degrees here last Friday. 😦

    Reply

  4. Same here, Racquel. I’m waiting for better light outside to take some photos. Tripod/camera all set up by the window here.

    Cameron

    I’ll be over soon to see your winter wonderland photos Cameron!

    Reply

  5. Boy, you guys are really getting hit this year! Looks like fun-good thing it doesn’t come too awfully often.

    Yep and just when I thought winter was behind us too! 😉 I couldn’t agree with you more on that one Tina, lol

    Reply

  6. I heard from my DC daughter yesterday that it was going to hit! Stay inside with that hot chocolate today! Brrrrr–March snows smell to be the coldest! Hey, you could make Susie’s (Digging in the Dirt) muffins today!! Yum!! 🙂
    Stay warm!

    I hope DC didn’t get hit too hard, further north of us got the brunt of it. Yep I won’t be going anywhere today, Virginians don’t know how to drive in snow. lol That’s an idea, but I think I’ll just curl up with a good book or movie & some hot cocoa. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Racquel,
    Enjoy your day off! I’m sure that bed feels nice and cozy. 🙂

    Thanks Randy, I will! 🙂

    Reply

  8. The snow isn’t too deep…maybe a couple inches. We had REALLY high tides around midnight. The creek was up to the swingset. Will see what day’s high tide looks like. Nice to sleep in a little after being up watching til after 12!

    I think we might of gotten alittle more than that here. It’s still snowing as we speak. 😦 Hope your creek doesn’t get any higher. Stay warm & get some rest!

    Reply

  9. Hi Racquel, I love the new fallen snow and how it gets! Nice photos! It’s amazing to think that it’s March and the south is getting snow! We had a dusting that was gone rather quickly! But we didn’t escape the cold that came after! Keep warm. gail

    Hey Gail, it does look pretty when it first falls before all the footprints make it messy. This is definitely unusual for us. I’ve never seen snow this late in the 20 something years I’ve lived here. Looks like you escaped the madness that this type of weather brings. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Love the big white mushroom (birdbath) you have growing in the garden! Your scene looks very similar to what we had here!

    They do look like mushrooms don’t they, lol. Thanks Dave! 🙂

    Reply

  11. ….and we got sun, although the windchill right now is -5 degrees.

    Too cold for me Mom, I guess I shouldn’t complain about my temps! 😉

    Reply

  12. Beautiful slide show Racquel. Must be sooo cold!

    Thanks Kanak, yep it is cold! 28 but feels like 13! Brrrr! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel, First of all I can’t believe you were outside at 5 this a.m. taking pictures! I guess we bloggers do anything for a good picture! lol. I bet it was so peaceful being out there tho. The pictures are beautiful! Thanks for sharing them with us. Hope you have a wonderful, warm day!

    Me neither Susie, lol. In pajamas & a coat too! 🙂 The cat woke me up cause he wanted to play so I let him go in the backyard to check out the new snow. He didn’t care for it, lol. You are quite welcome, enjoy the rest of your day!

    Reply

  14. Pretty snow shots Racquel! It looks like you got about the same amount of snow as we did here yesterday. It’s in the teens here this morning but is supposed to warm up to the 50’s later in the week. Hopefully your snow will melt soon so spring can resume! Looks like you’ve got lots of spring bulbs poking their heads up in the snow.

    Thanks Linda. It’s still snowing a bit now but I don’t think we will get too much more. About 3-4″ out there I think. It’s about 28 here but with the wind chill it feels like 13. Brrrr! By Saturday it will be back up in the 60’s again. Yay! I just hope this freak late snow doesn’t hurt my spring bulbs that have emerged.

    Reply

  15. Is this your first and only snow of the winter Racquel?? I think I remember you saying you hadn’t had any??? Enjoy the day off. I like that it makes us slow down for a time and it’s really pretty when you don’t have to go anywhere.

    Yep this is my first & most likely only snow of the season. I don’t work outside the home, but my eldest had the day off from work & my youngest from school. I’m glad they are home safe & sound. Nope I’m not going anywhere today, did all my running yesterday. 🙂

    Reply

  16. That storm was such a big deal to us wasn’t it? It’s going down in history as a very wet and heavy event. It’s the kind of snow that stacks well and sticks to everything. Your pictrures are very pretty. I like the gentleness of undisturbed snow.

    It was a major deal especially in March, very late for us to be getting a winterstorm. Of course since it happens only once & a great while, no big deal. 🙂 It was a nice wet snow that was great for snowballs & snowmen. The boys had a blast yesterday with their snowball fight. lol Thanks Anna, I’m glad you enjoyed my photos today.

    Reply

  17. Posted by greenwalks on March 3, 2009 at 2:02 am

    Cool slide show! Are you always up at 5am? Wow, no wonder you get a lot done. 🙂 Silly old white stuff, doesn’t it know we have spring garden chores to do and cute little bulbs to photograph?!

    Thanks Karen, I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 Yep I get up at 5 am every morning to get my sons off to work & school. The cat woke me at 4:30 that morning wanting to play, lol. I’ll be glad when the white stuff is gone so we can get on with the spring season ahead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

