The First Daffodils of Spring

2009-02-17_080926The first Daffodil of spring has bloomed in my garden!  It’s a miniature Narcissus that has been coming up for years now.  I don’t remember the name of this petite beauty.  The foliage is strappy like Liropes and it is only about 4″ tall.  This single bloomer is separated from its’ siblings which must of happened when I transplanted several daylillies to this spot.  Either that or a squirrel is messing with me again, lol.  I’ve had lone bulbs come up over the years in areas where I know I didn’t plant them.  So maybe  in the process of burying and digging up the zillions of Pecans in my garden the squirrels are moving some bulbs around haphazardly…  It’s a thought, don’t you think?   Anyhow, the second photo shows the buds on a large flowering Narcissus that was growing in my yard when we bought the house.   In fact the original patch was coming up in the lawn every year and being mowed down by hubby shortly after they bloomed each spring.  They have multiplied nicely since then and I have three large bunches now that I meant to divide this spring before they started blooming.  Note to self…don’t forget to divide these after they bloom this spring.  This is a sure sign of spring in my garden (very early spring) and soon they will have other varieties of bulbs joining in the festivities.  Even though it is a chilly morning here in VA I know that it won’t last forever and another growing season will be upon us again.

22 responses to this post.

  1. A lovely bloom, Racquel! What shall I say? I’m jealous 😀

    Thanks Chandramouli! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nice! Mine are still on their way.. have later bloomers. Janet

    These are the earliest blooming ones I have Janet. They have some relatives that will be coming behind them in the next month. 🙂

    Reply

  3. What a lovely surprise, Racquel! Mine are still asleep under a blanket of snow.

    Thanks Joey, they were a pleasant surprise yesterday. 🙂 I guess I will get to enjoy a second flush of them when yours wake up from their snowy nap.

    Reply

  4. Oh, i love these. You are so lucky to have yours blooming so soon. Mine are just coming up, and I can just see the little bit of green…I am very excited! Even more so, since I have seen yours!

    They are one of my favorite spring bulbs too Zach. I’m glad mine have given you some anticipation of what’s to come in your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  5. A good use for squirrels — planting bulbs! 🙂

    Cameron

    As long as they don’t taste test them first Cameron, lol 🙂

    Reply

  6. That is a lovely spring bloom. It’s nice and sunny looking which I need because we got gray and rain this a.m.

    I’m glad my yellow Daff brightened your day Susie! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lovely bloom .. we are so far from seeing green here 🙂

    Thanks Mom, it won’t be much longer believe it or not…:)

    Reply

  8. So exciting to see these signs of spring, early or not! Don’t you enjoy finding surprise flowers and blaming the squirrels? LOL I can hardly wait to see my Daffs bloom, have had the Paperwhites and the Double Erlicheer bloom but that’s it so far for the Narcissus this year.

    I don’t think these are actually early since they normally along with the Crocus are my first spring surprises. The squirrels definitely are a nuisance that I am more than happy to put the load of blame on, lol. You have so many beautiful blooms right now Darla that I’m sure the Daffs will be next. 🙂

    Reply

  9. the earliest daffs have started here, such a promise of spring-I’ve heard mole/vole/gophers move them in their digging too.

    Yes they are definitely a promise of spring that’s for sure. Really that is interesting about the moles, voles & gophers messing with the bulbs as well. It makes sense that in the process of their digging they would disturb them.

    Reply

  10. Congrats…theere is nothing like the feelings the first daffs bring to us! Gail

    Yep, it’s a sure sign that other things will soon follow Gail. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Once the Narcissi start appearing spring is really here I always think. Here they always appear after the Snowdrops and Crocus have started to flower. Oddly enough one of the things my squirrels don’t do is disturb bulbs – for which I am very grateful (lol)

    It’s always a good sign to me that spring is here or on its’ way at least. That’s what they do here too, bloom right after the Crocus & Snowdrops. You are lucky that your squirrels leave your bulbs alone. Mine are most susceptible the first couple of days after planting because the area looks freshly planted. I’ve found stamping the dirt a bit with my foot and laying some leaf debris over it helps some.

    Reply

  12. I so can’t wait to see the daffodils. My little guy trampled some the other day but I think they’ll make it.

    They are pretty tough, my dogs have stepped on the foliage a bit and they still bloomed beautifully.

    Reply

  13. Hooray for you!!!!! That’s a sign worth celebrating! I’d be curious to know if your theory about the squirrels transplanting is actually true. It wouldn’t surprise me in the least.

    Thanks Cindy! I’ve seen them dig up bulbs in the past and not damage them looking for nuts. Especially freshly dug areas.

    Reply

  14. Nice.
    I am always pleased to see the first daffs. of the season – although my preference is for the little tete a tete type
    🙂 Spring – not long now.
    K

    Thanks Karen. I have some Tete a Tete types too I think. Nope it is surely on its’ way now. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Just three days after I showed mine, you are showing yours. Very pretty.

    How ironic was that Deb? 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  16. Don’t you just love daffs! If I had room, I would have a yard full. I found a website where you can order heirloom bulbs—ummmm, think I might need some! 🙂

    They are definitely one of my favorite spring blooming bulbs Linda. I know what you mean, I try to tuck in more & more each fall. 🙂 Heirloom bulbs?? I would love to know the name of that website. You do need some, I agree. lol

    Reply

  17. Posted by spookydragonfly on February 17, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    You are so fortunate to see the first signs of spring! I have to wait quite some time!

    Thanks Spooky! Don’t fret too much, Spring will be here for everyone before long. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Racquel, yeah!! Spring is showing up in some places. The daffodil is a charming little fellow. I am sure he had help moving. How soon after blooming will you divide your bulbs? And do you cut of the green stems and leaves? Happy spring to you!

    Sure does look that way Beckie. 🙂 I normally will divide right after they finish blooming, the earlier the better. I try to leave the foliage on them until it turns brown and yucky that way you don’t deplete the bulbs resources for next season.

    Reply

  19. Yaaaaaaay! Racquel, don’t you just love seeing those cheerful colors? It means spring is on it’s way!

    Thanks Randy, it doesn’t brighten my spirit especially on a rainy day like today. 🙂

    Reply

  20. oh, you’re so lucky Racquel! Once I see the daffodils, I always know it’s spring. I think it’s arrived at your house. Thanks for the preview of whats to come (in my zone)!!!

    Thanks Kathleen. It is definitely a preview of what’s to come for all of us. I hope you’re right, I’m tired of winter already. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Posted by skeeter on February 18, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Yeah for VA, spring is arriving! If only we could train those squirrels to garden with us and not against us. 🙂

    Yep it is definitely on its’ way Skeeter! 🙂 I guess we all need a nemesis in the garden, lol.

    Reply

  22. Posted by Sandy on February 18, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Beautiful!

    Thanks Sandy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

