In and Out Gardening

in-out-gardening

Yesterday was a gardening day indoors and out.  The containers that came with my new seed starting light kit were potted up with Mother of Thyme seeds.  I will be leaving these containers out on the patio this spring to germinate.  Hopefully I will be able to plant the mature seedlings into the garden before May.  Thyme seeds can be sown outdoors at this time of the year, so I will be direct sowing some around the stepping stones as well.  After all you can never have too much thyme in the garden.  ( no pun intended 🙂 )  Then so I could grow more stuff indoors I purchased four 8-pack peat cell packs, more potting mix and some plant labels.  Finally was able to put that Lowe’s gift card I got for Christmas to use.  And there is still some money  left on it for something else this spring.  By the way they were setting up shelving for vegetable transplants when I was there.  Kind of early don’t you think?  Anyhow I planted the peat cell packs with  Angelonia serena, Cosmos  ‘ Psyche White’, Cayenne, Banana, and green/yellow bell peppers.  Well that was the indoor gardening I accomplished so now to the outdoor.  I had a package of yellow Ranunculus corms that needed to be planted.  Since they are borderline hardy in my area I decided to wait until we got through the wet days of winter.   There were 30 corms in the package so I planted them in groups of 10 in the New Garden in front  of the Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’ .   This bed has a color combination of purples and yellows.  While I was doing this I decided to divide the two large  Coreopsis ‘Jethro Tull’ plants that were added to the New Garden last year.  Now I have four plants that have been dispersed throughout the bed for maximum blooms this season.   It felt great to be back in the garden again.

20 responses to this post.

  1. You have been busy. I noticed the containers that came with your kit and thought they were really big for starting seeds under the lights. Makes much more since to use the smaller ones and have more space for more seeds. I have tried Ranunculus but they don’t seem to like it here. Even when I plant them in spring. So I wish you luck with them. Isn’t it fun when you can divide and have ‘free’ plants!

    And enjoying every minute of it Rose. That’s what I was thinking with the containers too, now I can grow 3x as much with the smaller peat pots. I’ve never grown it but my neighbor has it all over her garden so I’m thinking it must like our conditions. Thanks! I love free plants, the more the better. 🙂

    Reply

  2. You must be having sunny weather. It always feels great to get things done. Someone was very thoughtful to get you a gift card to Lowe’s. It does seem early for veggie starts. Maybe it will be just the cool weather stuff. Here’s to more sunny days.

    It has been very nice outside. We are getting some spring weather here right now. I’m enjoying it while it lasts. That was my son who got me the giftcard, he knows I love gardening stuff. 😉 That’s what I’m thinking now about the veggie starts.

    Reply

  3. Posted by greenwalks on February 13, 2009 at 1:32 am

    You are a busy bee as always. I got outside for about 20 min. today, that was it. Agh! It was sunny, too… My daughter likes to make up puns based on thyme/time – she had a lot of them when we were making thyme scones last weekend for the SAGBUTT meeting! 🙂

    Yep I love to be outside when the weather allows for it Karen. Especially at this time of the year when it’s comfortable. Come August I’ll be sick of the heat, lol. That is too funny about your daughter making up puns about Thyme. 😉

    Reply

  4. Nice to see the sun is getting out there and making you come out of your cozy homes. Good luck

    Yep no more hibernating for me. The sunshine really perks up my spirit at this time of the year! Thanks Chandramouli!

    Reply

  5. Looks like lots of great stuff is going to be in your garden. Isn’t it great to be back outside. I got in two hours, planting some trees and weeding, but outside nonetheless.

    Thank you Melanthia. It is wonderful to be able to get outside and garden now. Sounds like you’ve been busy too! 😉

    Reply

  6. You are really getting busy in and out of the garden. I know it will be beautiful.

    Thanks Darla, yep the busy season is upon us. So much to do before spring arrives.

    Reply

  7. I agree you can never have too much thyme in the garden. I only have 5 varieties, though my creeping thyme is trying to take over, so the square footage keeps increasing.

    Yep it’s a great plant Daphne. Now I’ll have two varieties, MOT & Elfin. I don’t want it to take over so hopefully it’s easy to contain.

    Reply

  8. I love thyme between the stones in the garden path. And thyme is so hardy! I love it!!
    Good luck with all your seeds–I know they will provide you with happy flowers.
    Have a good weekend Racquel!

    It will be such a nice groundcover for the path and hopefully keep the weeds at bay. Thanks Linda, I hope you have a good weekend too! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Pun is too cute! I think they are a bit late on the veggie transplants. I’m itching to get some more red cabbage for my garden. Maybe some broccoli and cauliflower too. Won’t be long. Thanks for the lovely Valentine’s Day flowers! I wish you the greatest too!

    Thanks Tina, lol. I didn’t think about the spring veggies needing to be planted already. Guess I was thinking they were jumping the gun and getting ready to put out the summer transplants. You are quite welcome for the VD flowers.

    Reply

  10. Racquel — you are such a busy lady! Your garden is going to be superb! 🙂

    One more day of warm temps before winter returns?

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, I hope not about winter returning….I know they are calling for 50’s next week. Not too bad.

    Reply

  11. Racquel, you are busy!! Think I will dig out my Cosmos seeds and see about starting them. I think I fall into the scatter the seeds and cross your fingers type of gardener. I linked a post of mine today to you. A new mystery. http://thequeenofseaford.blogspot.com
    Janet

    Yep this is the busy season for me. Good luck with the Cosmos seeds. I’m the same type of gardener (scatter & cross your fingers). lol 😉 I will go check out your post. Thanks for the link.

    Reply

  12. It does feel good to be back in the garden again doesn’t it! If ‘Jethro’ happens to seed on you this season could you save me a few?

    Yes it does Dave, yes it does! 😉 I will be more than happy to save some seed for you of ‘Jethro’.

    Reply

  13. Okay, I had to chuckle at your “non-intended pun”. Funny! Girl, it looks like you have been mighty busy. Don’t you just love it? I was at Wal-mart the other day and they too have veggie seedlings for sell. I thought the same thing, except for maybe cabbage and broccoli plants since they like cooler weather.

    Can you believe one of my freshly planted seeds have sprouted? It is a “White Swan” coneflower. Four days and it has sprouted. Amazing! Of course we have been having temps in 70’s. That has probably helped.

    lol, thanks Susie. I will have to go see what Walmart is putting out now that you got me curious. 😉 That is great about the White Swan Coneflower. I’m going to try to save seed from mine this year. Yep these spring temps are the culprit that’s for sure.

    Reply

  14. It’s great you’re able to get a head start, Racquel — I’m *thinking* about making a tiny cold frame. It’s still too cold to start anything, but in another few weeks, it just might work. No harm in trying if it’s built inexpensively. 🙂 Good luck with your seedlings.

    Thanks Nancy. Good luck with your cold frame, I hope you post about it if you do it! Nope never any harm in trying new things especially when you can do them in a economical way. 🙂

    Reply

  15. You certainly are busy preparing for Spring planting..Never enough thyme in the garden for sure! 🙂

    Yep I’m trying to get as much as I can done now Anna. While the weather is cooperative. 🙂

    Reply

  16. The warm weather has been a gift! So glad you had a good time outside and in! I have never tried ranunculus, but I am giving windflowers a try! Gail

    Yes it has Gail. It is suppose to be cooler for the next couple of days and then warm up again. This is a tricky time of the year. Got to take advantage of it while you can. Good luck with your Windflowers, I’ve never tried those either. 🙂

    Reply

  17. I haven’t ever had luck with Ranunculus either Racquel ~ I wonder what the secret is? I hear they like cooler weather (and we should have plenty of that) but there must be something else missing here. If you think of any tips, let us know. I’m jealous of your busy gardening day. I haven’t done one thing outside yet. Very soon tho!!

    That’s why I planted them now thinking they might come up and bloom before the heat of summer sets in Kathleen. My neighbor successfully has grown them in her garden for years so we’ll see. It shouldn’t be too much longer for you either. We’ve had some warm days lately so I’ve taken advantage of them. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Posted by skeeter on February 14, 2009 at 12:00 am

    You are getting a big jump on spring planting! I never have luck with starting seeds inside but giving some tomato seeds a go this year. I will never have luck if I dont try right? lol, that is what I keep telling myself…

    I’m hoping this new system makes a difference Skeeter. I’ve had very little success in the past but like you said you got to keep on trying. 🙂

    Reply

  19. I definitely could use more time in the garden–and thyme as well:) How wonderful you could get out in the garden yesterday! We had beautiful weather yesterday, but I knew it was still too soon–this morning I woke up to snow! It’s still too early to start seeds here, but I am ready whenever the time is right–my husband put up my new plant grow light so I’m eager to get started. I’ll be watching how your seeds do and take some hints from you, Racquel.

    Reply

  20. You’re doing a great job with your seed planting! I’m right behind you. I’m going to ‘try’ to plant today. I bought a 72 pack w/peat at Lowes and a little heating pad goes under it. I’ll do a post when I do it.

    Thanks Jan. I look forward to seeing your setup soon. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

