Wordless Wednesday-mystery to me

A cocoon???

A cocoon???

28 responses to this post.

  1. A puzzle to me too. At first glance it looks like a gall then it looks like it has antenna-a snail? Hmmmm, puzzling.

    That’s what I thought at first too Tina (a snail) but looks like some others were able to identify it right away.

    Reply

  2. prey matis egg case???

    Thanks Deb, looks like you were right. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. That is definitely a preying mantis egg case.

    Thanks Dawn for the help!

    Reply

  4. Very strange!

    It is a bit strange Darla, I’ve never noticed these on my Buddleia in the past.

    Reply

  5. I agree, looks like a preying mantis egg case. That’s a good thing!

    Thanks Carol, how cool is that!

    Reply

  6. YES!!!! It is a praying mantis egg case! How lucky! Just wait until they hatch, they are so tiny! What fun.
    Janet

    Thanks Janet, this is pretty cool. I’ve never seen these cases on my Buddleia or any other shrubs before. Maybe I’m noticing things more now that I have a blog? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Ohhhh I want one.

    Pretty cool, huh? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Racquel, I’m not looking at the egg sac, I’m looking at the how green your butterfly bush is already…lol!
    Lynn

    It does have some signs of life pretty early Lynn, lol. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  9. Have no clue, but looks like your other readers do. So, mystery solved?? πŸ™‚
    Have a great Wednesday Racquel!

    Thanks Linda, it seems so. πŸ™‚ You too!

    Reply

  10. Hopefully you won’t miss them hatching and can do a photoshoot!

    Wouldn’t that be something EG? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. I don’t know — whatever the experts say!
    Cameron

    I know what you mean Cameron. I’m no expert on these things but it looks like some others solved the mystery for me. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Racquel,keep a close eye on it because when they hatch, their will be hundreds come out about 1/4″ long and all at once. I thought the ones I saw were ants at first-you know how they trail each other in a long line. I had several adults on my butterfly bush this year hiding and then pouncing on unsuspecting butterflies. An easy meal. πŸ™‚

    Wow that is a massive amount of babies! Thanks for the info Beckie, I knew they were a beneficial predator that sometimes ate the good insects too.

    Reply

  13. You lucky gardener! Love the preying mantis and wish they were showing themselves here! gail

    Thanks Gail, I do feel lucky that they decided to lay their eggs in my garden this year. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. I am so intrigued with this. I will be looking my buterfly bush over more carefully now.

    Isn’t it amazing how much we can learn from each other daily! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. It’s amazing…how educational for us all:) Having never seen one it’s fascinating. I read somewhere that you can ‘order’ praying mantis’ to spread around your yard and garden, because they eat a lot of the destructive things. Now, you have a whole family of them!

    Didn’t you say you cut back your butterfly bushes 12 inches from the ground? Is this one you didn’t touch?

    I am concerned because I literally cut the wood of the bush way way way back this year, removing every green sprouting thing from it and it just looks like several sticks ‘sticking’ up from the ground.
    Do you think I’ve ruined it???

    This was such a great educational post for me too Jan! I learn something new everyday since I started blogging. πŸ™‚ Yep I cut them all back and these limbs were rescued from the curb this morning! I’m going to lay them in the backyard so they can do their thing. Don’t worry your Buddleia will be fine. It blooms off of new wood each season. It won’t look like much right now but in no time at all it will be filled with new green foliage.

    Reply

  16. Well I’ve never seen that before either. Preying mantis huh? I wonder how long it will be before it opens up and you see baby mantis’s?

    No clue Susie, but it is rather exciting prospect. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  17. I didn’t know that this might be a praying mantis egg case–how exciting! I had so many mantises last year, but I haven’t seen an egg case like this anywhere. I’m going to have to do a little sleuthing in my garden–as soon as it stops raining:)

    Glad I could encourage you to do some sleuthing in your own garden Rose. Isn’t it great all the new things we learn daily just blogging? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. Posted by skeeter on February 11, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I have found the empty casings here and there and always wondered what they were. Now I know a Praying Mantis! My new thing learned today! Love this blogging!!!

    See we both got something new out of this mystery photo today! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. How big is it? It looks huge in the picture(-: I was going to say an Alien! (-:

    I enlarged it a bit so everyone could see the details. It’s about 3/4 this size actually. lol about the alien! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  20. I agree that it’s a praying mantis egg case Racquel. I have them in my garden often too. I have to be careful not to do too much spring cutting, too early or I dispose of them. It’s lucky you saw it and rescued the limbs so they can hatch.

    Thanks Kathleen, I’m glad I shared this photo with all of you today. I figured someone out there was more knowledgeable than me about this subject.

    Reply

  21. Mystery solved already. πŸ™‚ I’m admiring all that new growth.

    It was a fast solution today! πŸ™‚ Thanks Nancy.

    Reply

  22. I vote for praying mantis egg case. This was my first thought and it looks like many of your wise posters agree.

    Looks like everyone had the same concensus today Grace! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  23. Excellent- praying mantis are such useful, but odd creatures…lucky, lucky you!

    Thanks Tessa! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  24. Nature is full of mysteries!
    Brenda

    So true Brenda, so true. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  25. Posted by greenwalks on February 12, 2009 at 2:37 am

    That is so wacky! I have never seen any in my garden, not sure they are around too much here. They’re such amazing little monsters!

    I rarely have seen one in my own garden Karen. That’s why I was so surprised to see these egg cases.

    Reply

  26. Just dropping by… from the Caribbean..
    I also collect plants, over eighty species, besides
    writing with critical focus.
    Nice blog.

    Thanks for dropping by Raul! πŸ™‚ Looks like you are as obsessed as the rest of us when it comes to plants!

    Reply

  27. ooo, I love a good mystery! Keep us posted:)

    I’ll try to keep you in the loop Carla. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  28. It is a praying mantis egg case. Leave it where it is and you will have babies when it warms up. I collect and hatched them in my classroom for years and then released them upon hatching. You have to release them or they start having dinner on each other. If you collect the egg case in the fall, keep them sealed in a glass bottle in the refrigerator till spring.
    Debbie
    Garden Thyme with the Creative Gardener

    Thanks Debbie for all the great information on how to handle these new babies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

