He knows me so well…

My husband ordered me a wonderful gift for Valentine’s Day and it came in the mail yesterday.  After I saw what the name on the box was he let me open it early.  🙂  (by the way it was Gardener’s Supply Company)  Usually I am very good with surprises and waiting but when I saw who it was from it was driving me crazy!  See I’ve been hinting around to him for the past week or so about something I really would love to have to help me get my garden started sooner this year.  Are you curious yet?  Okay here it is:

random-photos-004

My very own tabletop seed starting light kit!  They had this as a starter kit which included everything you see plus twelve quarts of organic potting mix.  The white styrofoam containers are 4″ size which eliminates all the transplanting later on.  I suppose I could substitute a different seed tray or peat pellets as well.  Below the white containers is a reservoir tray and lid which holds 1 gallon of water.  On top of the lip you place a moisture wicking mat that is long enough to fit one end into the tray.  This way your plants soak moisture up from the bottom eliminating some of the problems such as overwatering, underwatering and dampening off (fungus).  Before investing in a larger system I thought I would like to start with a table top version to see what I thought.  Looks like I will be able to get those Cosmos ‘Psyche’ and Angelonia started soon….Wish me luck!!!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Wow-ie! It looks like you really hit the jackpot. Both, with the man as well as his gift.
    All the luck in the world to you, Racquel. You already have the skill 😀

    Thanks Sunita, I feel quite blessed to have such a thoughtful husband that gives me things based on my passion for gardening. 🙂 Thanks for the sweet compliment and well wishes too!

    Reply

  2. Aaah…How very sweet of him, it looks so very great and handy and with this reservoir tray underneath it will be perfect, the plant will love it. Now what is your plan for this fantastic husband of yours?

    Take Care Racquel and do tell your husband that I’m impressed./ Tyra

    Thanks Tyra, he is very thoughtful husband! It is definitely a nice setup and I’m excited about the possibilities this spring. I will have to come up with something wonderful in return for my sweet man. I let him know what you said. 😉

    Reply

  3. This looks great. I know you will put it to good use. It is so nice that your dear hubby took the time to get you something you really wanted instead of the usual candy.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Thanks Jan, can’t wait to break it in! 🙂 He really tries to give me things he knows I will use in or for the garden.

    Reply

  4. Get out of Town!! That has to be one of the best gifts to receive this time of the year. Please post the progress of this new journey!!

    Isn’t it the nicest surprise! The timing for this couldn’t of been better. I promise to share my journey with all of you. Thanks Darla!

    Reply

  5. Good luck! And what a sweet husband!

    Thanks Tina, he’s the best for sure! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Your hubby is a man after my own heart. What a great gift! Angelonia is one I’ve been wanting to try. Have fun getting your hands in at least a little bit of dirt! 🙂

    For a non-gardener he really is sweet about my gardening passion. Thanks Kerri! I planted Angelonia from small 3″ transplants that I got at my local big box store last summer. It was a great summer annual, hope the seed works out too!

    Reply

  7. Perfect! (I just showed your photo to my husband) 🙂

    You’ll be all ready for spring planting with your seeds.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, was that a hint-hint you gave hubby? lol 🙂 I can’t wait to get my hands dirty and try this new system.

    Reply

  8. For once this beats chocolate or roses that will last a short week.

    So true Les, so true! 🙂

    Reply

  9. What a lucky lady! Nice job husband!
    Janet

    Thanks Janet! Don’t I know it, he’s a generous man! I will pass along your compliments…

    Reply

  10. Racquel, He knows you very well. In my opinion…this fantastic gift is better then a trinket any day! Can’t wait to see it full of growing plants! Gail

    Thanks Gail. I agree completely! Trinkets have never impressed me. 🙂 I can’t wait to get started on my new adventure.

    Reply

  11. What a great and thoughtful gift. Have fun with it.

    Thanks Deb, I plan on enjoying it alot this spring and for years to come!

    Reply

  12. Oh how nice. Your hubbie sure is thoughtful. Can’t wait to see how your seeds do.

    Thanks Susie, he is such a sweetie! Promise to share the journey with all of you! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Okay, I will say it…I’m jealous! BUT very happy for you! Hmmm, I’ll accidently have this post open when my HH comes looking for me..lol.
    Lynn

    Thanks Lynn, hopefully your plan works and HH gets the hint! lol 🙂

    Reply

  14. Wow, I’m so jealous! That is a FABULOUS Valentine present Racquel. The kind that keeps on giving, right? I’m sure you’re going to have hours of fun with it. Now who can I show your post to?!!! Because I want one too!!!

    Thanks Kathleen. It is definitely a gift that will give me many years of wonderful ornamentals & veggies for the garden. Can’t wait to put it to use. You should definitely show hubby, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Lucky girl! I love Gardener’s Supply Company. So many wonderful things to buy. I’ll be anxious to know how it works out.
    Brenda

    Thanks Brenda. Is that where you got your gorgeous Blue glass birdbath? I promise to share the journey. 🙂

    Reply

  16. That is sooooo cool. You are going to love it.

    Thanks Balisha, I can’t wait to try it out. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Isn’t that way better than jewelry?! 🙂

    Considering I’m not a jewelry person Monica, YES! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

