Wordless Wednesday-Forsythia

forsythia-for-wordless-wed-0021

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on February 4, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Hooray, spring can’t be too far around the corner now! We had a forsythia right by our front door in the old house. Loved to see its cheery blossoms every winter. Is this the once you were forcing inside?

    Well it feels like winter here still but these branches I brought inside give me that nice spring feeling! πŸ™‚ The one outside has buds but isn’t ready to bloom quite yet.

    Reply

  2. Nice pic, though blurry. Is that a bee there? The black ball-like thing?

    Thanks Chandramouli, sorry it is a bit blurry from me enlarging it. These are the branches I brought inside to force. Nope that is actually the doorknob in the background, lol. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. I’m guessing this is the one you started from a clipping? Great job!!

    Yes ma’am it is! Thank you Darla! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Is this the one you forced inside? I can’t wait for all the early spring vines to start blooming. Such a sure sign spring is on the way.

    Yes all the branches I brought inside to force are in full bloom now. πŸ™‚ It really gives a spring feeling indoors even though it very chilly here today and we’re getting some snowflakes.

    Reply

  5. Great photo of your forsythia!

    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Nice! Next will be our Bridal Wreath Spirea! or….? Spring is like popcorn..one bud, then another, then another…. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Janet. Those Bridal Wreath Spireas are glorious when they are in bloom. That is a great description of spring!

    Reply

  7. Spring!

    That is exactly what Forsythia say to me! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. So nice to see blooms in the house!

    Between these and the Paperwhites it really is making the house pleasant for the winter! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. cool photo effect Racquel. I need to get some branches for forcing too. I’m sure yours have brightened up the winter days.

    Thanks Kathleen! They really do brighten up the kitchen with their cheery blooms!

    Reply

  10. Posted by skeeter on February 4, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Ours is blooming also! Come on spring!

    Yay spring! These are blooming indoors for me right now Skeeter. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. I love forsythia’s golden flowers! I know you are glad you brought them inside to bloom their hearts out. gail

    Me too Gail and I am so glad I gave this a try. They are really brightening up the kitchen table right now! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. How wonderful to see a bloom, snowing here (again) and 14 degrees … brrrrrrrrr!

    Thanks Mom, and yes I saw your weather on the news this morning. Brrrrrrr is right! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Hi Racquel, hooray, spring!
    Frances

    Thanks Frances! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. It won’t be long! I like the frosty stuff on the edge. Was that there, or did you put it there on a program?

    It’s getting closer & closer Sue! Thanks actually it was my photo program that puts that frosty frame on it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Nice spring forsythia you’ve got there, Racquel! I’m afraid to cut any of my branches off, because most of them need to stay on the bush! A couple of years ago, we had someone rake our yard and gardens, and cut back dead weeds, etc. Well, he cut back my forsythia, I was very unhappy:( Maybe I’ll just snip off 1 or 2….!

    Very nice photo too!

    Thanks Jan. I took advantage of the need to give this large shrub a neat trim and brought the trimming inside. πŸ™‚ You can always cut back any that are out of bounds…

    Reply

  16. It is a powerful little shrub and one of my favorites! I like the white edging around the photo.

    Thanks Anna! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  17. Just lovely Racquel! I added a forsythia last spring but alas, put it in a spot that was too wet and killed it. This spring I’ll try again with a new one in a better spot. Nothing says Spring like forsythias, and forcing branches inside is such a lovely spring preview.

    Thanks Linda, that’s a shame about your Forsythia last year. I wish you well with the new one! Yep their bright yellow blooms definitely scream Spring! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. Is this blooming outside, Racquel?? I love all your signs of spring; I know yesterday’s post was from past springs, but it won’t be long before you will have those blooms again. You’ve given another good reason for sharing plants with others–you can always get another start if something happens to your original plant:)

    Nope these are the branches I brought in a few weeks ago. Thanks Rose, can you tell I’m itching for spring to get here already??? πŸ˜‰ Yep I am so glad I shared some of those Irises with my neighbor now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

