Skywatch Friday-End of January

bare trees & blue skies

bare trees & blue skies

interesting patterns and a sunset

interesting patterns in the sky

sun setting behind the trees

sun setting behind the trees

I found the skies last night to be quite beautiful.  The white streaks of clouds made for interesting patterns against the expanse of blue.  And it was a sunny day in Virginia with highs in the lower 40’s.  After a couple of days of nonstop rain it was great to see the sun shine again.   To see more skywatch photos or to join in please visit skyley.

23 responses to this post.

  1. Those were lovely winter skies. The second photo was my favourite as it had so much fine clouds.

    Thank you Chrome3d! The second was my favorite too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Great series of pictures, thanks for sharing.

    You are welcome, I’m glad you enjoyed them. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Great skywatch shots, thanks for sharing.

    Cheers and have a great weekend!
    Regina In Pictures

    Thanks Guy D! Have a nice weekend.

    Reply

  4. Great skies. I really like those soft, swirling clouds.

    Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Beautiful pictures, but I especially liked the last one! Thanks for sharing these! It won’t be too mcuh longer before we see green on those trees! 🙂
    Have a great weekend Racquel!

    Thank you Linda. I’m glad you enjoyed my skywatch photos today. 🙂 Can’t wait to see some signs of spring in the trees! Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  6. The sky was beautiful down here, too. Bold blue during the day and wisps of pink clouds near sunset.

    Great shots!
    Cameron

    It’s funny how a pretty sky can be quite deceptive in the winter. Thanks Cameron!

    Reply

  7. Just beautiful! Simply love the bare trees and the cloud patterns.

    Thank you Kanak. The sky was full of interesting patterns yesterday. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Really beautiful shots Racquel. Wish I had taken a picture the other night before the big squall line went through, ominous looking sky. Janet

    Thank you Janet. After two days of rain it was nice to see blue skies and sunshine again. 🙂

    Reply

  9. It’s hard to believe January is gone already. I agree with Linda-won’t be long before green is here!

    Yes it is Tina but I’m so glad that February is almost here too! Won’t be too much longer now and spring will be here!

    Reply

  10. I love the sky and its many faces…I hope February brings us spring. gail

    It seems even prettier at this time of the year! Me too Gail I’m ready for it to get here! 🙂

    Reply

  11. It’s just about February for sure!! Closer to planting!! The sunshine makes a huge difference in our moods, doesn’t it?

    Yep! And that means spring will be here before we know it Darla! 🙂 The rain does make me cranky except during peak season of course, lol.

    Reply

  12. Enjoyed your blog!
    Debbie

    Thanks for stopping by Debbie! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed your visit.

    Reply

  13. Posted by skeeter on January 30, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Do I see clumps of misletoe in the trees on the first pic???
    It is so interesting to look up at times…

    Some of those clumps are mistletoe Skeeter! Good eye there! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Great photos Racquel. Always good to see sunshine after that much rain. I can’t believe it’s almost the end of January. I wonder if February will fly by as fast?

    Thanks Susie, it is always nice to see the sun come out after days of rain. Didn’t this month just fly on by? I hope February is quick too! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Lovely Racquel! Such a nice bright sun. February’s almost here!!!! Yay. How can you keep up with this meme, and have time to stay on top of blotanical, etc. I know I can’t, at least I don’t think so. I love taking photos but not sure I’d be able to visit everyone!

    Thank you Jan! Isn’t it great, and February is a short month too! There is no way I could visit everyone on this meme. I mainly try to visit the people who stop by mine on SWF. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Your sky photos are very peaceful.

    I’m glad you found them to be Grace! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Beautiful photos, Racquel! I need to spend some time looking upward instead of focusing on the snow at my feet:)

    Thanks Rose! Yep the winter skies can be quite pretty and a nice break from all that white you have right now. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Beautiful sky watch…
    Great shots..
    Thanks for sharing…
    Greetings from Portugal!

    HSWF:)

    Thank you Lurdes!

    Reply

  19. What beautiful skies, there! I think I like the second pic the best.

    Thanks Sue, that is my favorite too. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Love seeing those words “end of January.” Isn’t that terrible to not appreciate this month? I’ll be happy to see a touch of green appear on your trees (and mine) too!

    Isn’t it wonderful to be done with January! It is a such a slow & dreary month in my garden that I’m always happy to be done with it already. Soon we will have lots of new growth to enjoy! 🙂

    Reply

  21. I enjoy each and every sunny day in the winter, even with over a foot of snow on the ground they make you feel better 🙂

    Yep they do wonders for the mind & spirit Mom!

    Reply

  22. I think this has been the longest January EVER and am glad to see it go!

    Me too Monica, me too! 🙂

    Reply

  23. Hi Racquel !
    These are such pretty pictures of the sky.. my favorite is the “patterns in the sky” the middle one .. I love cloud patterns !
    I have had no luck with sunrises lately .. no pretty colours .. nothing !!
    I have been so busy I have missed posts on here too … like paddle crazy and not getting any where and add the cabin fever to that and yo pretty well have me crazy as a loon ? LOL
    Thanks for the resting of my eyes on some very pretty sky : )
    Joy

    Thanks Joy, that’s my favorite of the three too! 🙂 Sorry about the cabin fever, hope you get something pretty to look at soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

