Bloomin’ Tuesday in January!

Paperwhite Narcissus

Paperwhite Narcissus

It’s been over a month since I’ve been able to participate in Bloomin’  Tuesday since there hasn’t been anything going on in the garden.  But the Paperwhites that I bought for forcing earlier this month are finally blooming!  The scent is rather odd, not unpleasant or pleasant for that matter.  Now that they are starting to open up I can move them from my son’s bedroom window (which is sunny) to a area that gets no direct light such as my mantle in the living room.  The plastic pots that came with the kits were not attractive so I purchased ceramic pots that are slightly larger to set them into.  To read more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit  Jean at Ms Greenthumb.

bloomin-tuesday-icon

26 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jellyfishbay on January 27, 2009 at 12:17 am

    I always thought that paperwhites had a somewhat medicinal smell. Still, so pretty!

    That is the smell! Medicinal! Thanks for giving me the words to describe it Jill! Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Racquel, how gorgeous are those?!!

    Thanks Nancy, I was quite pleased with the blooms! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love your gorgeous Paperwhites Racquel, they are such pretty flowers. I have some growing veeery slowly in the greenhouse, perhaps I’ll show you them in…..april 🙂

    Tyra

    Thanks Tyra, I like the flowers too. Can’t wait to see your blooms in April! 🙂

    Reply

  4. The Paperwhites are lovely. I’ve always liked the odd fragrance of these flowers, but I haven’t had any for the last couple of years. Mostly out of laziness! Not in getting them going–just shopping for them.
    Aiyana

    Thanks Aiyanna, this was my first time forcing bulbs and now I’m hooked. 😉 They were on clearance so I had nothing to lose really.

    Reply

  5. Posted by greenwalks on January 27, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Hey, patience pays off at last! Glad they finally opened up and are giving you some (early) signs of spring! Hope your outdoor bulbs are hanging in there too.

    Yes it does Karen! I’m glad I went back and got these now. 🙂 Yep the outdoor bulbs are hanging in there too, they are getting some moisture today.

    Reply

  6. Breathtaking! I wish I could grow them here but they’d probably get roasted by Day 2 😦
    I’m curious about the name…. apart from the obvious colour association, is there any other likely reason why they’re called ‘paperwhites’?

    Thanks Sunita. I am forcing these indoors so you could possibly do the same thing on your windowsill. This is some info from wikipedia that I found for you ” Narcissus papyraceus (from papyrus and aceus ; meaning paper like”. They are native to Europe & Asia and are grown all over the world.

    Reply

  7. Very nice! Spring you will have to put them in the ground and look forward to a December/ January bloom next year!

    Thanks Janet, that’s what I was planning on doing! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Very pretty!! The fragrance is odd, but I guess I am use to it now. We need to plant them outside so we can have early blooms next year like Janet’s comment said. Cindee (Cindee’s Garden) also told me to be sure and do this with mine.

    Thanks Linda! It is odd, but not unpleasant in my opinion. Kind of medicinal like someone else mentioned. That’s what I’m planning on doing with the bulbs when they are done blooming this spring. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Paperwhites are so beautiful! I really love them. However, this is the only flower that I know of that makes me sneeze!

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, the fragrance probably triggers an allergy for you. My cat likes the smell, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Finally! They look great too. My paperwhites outside have buds on them.

    Thanks Darla! I’m planning on planting these bulbs outdoors in the garden when they are done blooming. Hopefully they will come back and bloom next year. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I don’t blame you for moving them out where you can enjoy their delicate beauty. And what a great idea to set them in more decorative pots!

    Thank you Beckie! It is nice to have beautiful blooms in the house. Yep the decorative pots can be reused for maybe some much needed indoor plants soon. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Jamie and I started a new Amaryllis, but it sure is moving slow. I’m ready for it to take off!

    I almost bought one of those this week at Wallyworld, they had them marked down cheap & they were in pretty decorative pots ready to be forced (they had named cultivars)! Look forward to seeing what yours does soon!

    Reply

  13. I can almost smell them from here! You did a good job forcing them.

    I’ll fan the scent your way Tina! 😉 Thanks!

    Reply

  14. Hurray! Gotta love January blooms! I hope this is the start of something. Like new blooms every Tuesday from here till frost! That’s wishful thinking isn’t it? It’s probably too early for such a thing but congrats on the beautiful paperwhites!

    Thank you Kathleen! 🙂 I’m addicted now and will definitely be trying all kinds of bulbs for forcing next year! I almost bought some clearance Amaryllis at Wallyworld the other day. They were named cultivars and in pretty decorative tin planters.

    Reply

  15. Such beautiful blooms I can’t believe the fragrance is unusual. I just knew you would say how great they smell!

    Thank you Susie! Sorry but it wasn’t a scent I was expecting from such a pretty flower, very medicinal smelling! 🙂

    Reply

  16. The paperwhites look great! The photo could be used in a magazine.

    Thank you Jeff! And what a nice compliment for my photo! 🙂

    Reply

  17. I can smell them from here!!! I can’t have these in the house, hubby isn’t fond of the smell, I, however LOVE it!!!

    I’ll fan the fragrance your way Carla, lol! I don’t particularly care for the scent either but I can only smell it up close. 🙂

    Reply

  18. I thought about growing Paper Whites. I once forced some daffodills but i don’t think I did them correctly. I will have topost on them some time. I did get some great pics from them. If you want, you can have some of the snow here. I is forcasted to snow an extra 3 in on top of the 5 we have now. And this is after the snow on my last post melted!

    The paperwhites were very easy to force Zach. After this experience I’m going to try more things next winter. Look forward to seeing your forced daffodil blooms soon. No that’s okay I’ll pass on the snow, but thanks for the offer! lol 😉

    Reply

  19. Oh my goodness! I wish I had smell-a-vision on my computer!

    lol, wouldn’t it be nice if these photos were scratch & sniff? Thanks Dawn!

    Reply

  20. Your paperwhites are lovely. I may have to try some next year to cheer me up this time of year. Would love top smell them. Jean

    Thanks Jean, you should give them a try next year. They were very easy and now I’m hooked on trying some other things, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Oh hooray, Racquel! Those are stunning, the fragrance is not to everyone’s liking, but I like it. Good for you having blooms now. 🙂
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, I was pretty pleased to see them bloom! 🙂 To be honest, the fragrance isn’t to my liking, but I don’t hate it either.

    Reply

  22. Your paperwhite blooms are so wonderful.They do have an odd fragrance but their beauty makes up for that.

    Thank you Charlotte. I agree about their beauty making up for their odd scent! 🙂

    Reply

  23. Paperwhites are a fave of mine. I really like the scent because it sort of reminds me of lilacs but is still different. Kind of a heady fragrance. Yours are beautiful!

    Well then I’m glad I could shade my blooms with you today Cindy. It is definitely a heady fragrance. I’m not sure if I like or dislike it yet. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  24. I really enjoyed your blooms and the beagle above.

    Why thank you Grammy! 🙂

    Reply

  25. Lovely, Racquel! I’m not fond of the scent…kind of yucky, in my (and my family’s) opinions!

    I, of course, went through the bulb forcing cycle and mine grew and flowered and I still haven’t posted…I feel like it would be ‘copying’ to do so…it’s like, the same thing! ]\

    Like our hawk posts, for instance;) I saw yours and didn’t mean to do the same thing! I had been seeing the hawk-twice in 2 weeks, and took photos to post and couldn’t wait to get them up. I guess we garden bloggers have a lot of the same things happening in our gardens!!!!!

    I don’t care for it either Jan, but hubby says he likes it. Go figure! 🙂 Hey I would love to see your bulb photos. It is so fun to share photos of the things we see in our yards, whether it be plants or wildlife. Don’t worry about copying, I enjoyed your story & poem. 🙂 That’s what I’ve enjoyed the most about blogging is sharing similiar experiences with others and getting their view on it.

    Reply

  26. The lovely white petals and yellow stamens are so cheery. Aren’t they pretty when they open? It’s fun to watch them as they develop too, if they don’t take too long.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

