Any day now…

any-day-now-002

It was just barely two weeks ago that I bought the forcing kits for these Paperwhite Narcissus, and look at them now.  I don’t know if you can see, but there are several large buds forming already.  About a week ago I put them in my 15 year old son’s bedroom window since it  is gets sun streaming through it all day.  Today he finally noticed them there  and asked me why I had plants in his room.  lol  When I explained that they needed light until they started blooming he was like oh okay Mom.  It might just  be me but I don’t think he was really that interested in my reasons.  What do you think?  🙂

any-day-now

I also finally cut some upright branches from my Forsythia.  From the information I’ve gathered online it can take up to 3 weeks before they’ll bloom.   Believe it or not I have never done this before either.  🙂

22 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve never forced Forsythia either- can’t wait for the pics. I’ve read that if you put a little water in your paperwhite’s alcohol…opps, I mean a little alcohol in the paperwhite’s water (he, he, he) they won’t get so tall and flop over :). You can use rubbing alcohol too- 70%. 1 part rubbing alcohol to 10/11 parts water. Happy Gardening!

    Hi Tessa, promise to share photos when/if they bloom. Thanks for the tip about the alcohol & water. I didn’t know the exact measurements so thanks for that too. I tried it today. 🙂

    Reply

  2. LOL! You do love living dangerously, dont you? Either that, or your 15-year old is very different from my 16-year old ! I wouldnt dare keep even an empty pot in my son’s room. It would end up as the basket to dunk balls in or as the goal post for indoor football games or simply be buried under a mountain of clothes!
    I’ve never seen either forsythia or narcissus except in pictures so this is very interesting for me 🙂

    Yes I do Sunita, lol. Well my 15 (almost 16) yr old is more of a video game junkie. But I do have the concern of the pots being buried under a pile of dirty clothes when I’m not looking. 😉 Glad I was able to share something you’ve never seen today.

    Reply

  3. If your son is like mine, he probably has selective vision. If you move one of his game systems 2″ to the left, he will know immediately. Put the overflowing kitchen trash can infront of the back door and he will walk right by it without a thought.

    Hey when did you meet my son Les? lol 😉

    Reply

  4. careful, Racquel, I may be cynical and suspicious but it may be best he doesn’t know too much about green stuff blooming indoors in sunlight. I haven’t heard the term forcing before, we call it germinating.

    lol Catmint. I’m sure with his short attention span he’ll soon forget about the plants. 😉 Forcing is when you make a plant bloom indoors earlier. For example the bulbs are’nt buried below the soil but just pressed into the surface of the soil.

    Reply

  5. Posted by sppokydragonfly on January 24, 2009 at 7:42 am

    I’ve taken cuttings from my Forsythia and just stuck them in the ground at the woods’ edge and they took off! No special treatment or rooting hormone. Good luck with the plants in your sons’ room!

    Thanks for that tip Spooky, I will have to give that try sometime. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  6. I will be interested in seeing the forsythia bloom indoors, up here it is a sure sign of Spring when they bloom 🙂

    Thanks Mom, it is a sure sign of spring here too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. You could try forcing the forsythia in a pot of soil. Then plant the resulting rooted forsythias later. They will look great either way!

    Thanks for the suggestion Dave. I might give that a try. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Good Morning Racquel,
    The forsythia will really brighten up the room when they open. Our UPS man gave me a small couple stems with roots of forsythia and they have been doing well in the ground. When the bulkhead had to be replaced our old forsythia disappeared, so I am looking forward to the cheery yellow blooms again.

    Good evening Janet, what a generous UPS man! Glad you will soon have replacements for the old one. My bush is quite large now, I bought it as a small (6-8″) shrub at a garage sale 10 years ago for 50 cents. 😉

    Reply

  9. I have some paperwhites up outside, no buds yet though. When my son was 15 I wouldn’t have been able to find his windowsill…Never had much luck with forsythia.

    I’m hoping to plant these bulbs somewhere in the garden when they are done blooming. lol, I know what you mean Darla about the 15 yr’s old room. I have to bite my tongue everytime I walk in there. 😉

    Reply

  10. Posted by gailae on January 24, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Hi Racquel, Someday your son will notice beautiful blooms! I’ve been thinning the forsythia and completely forgot to force the branches…thank you for the reminder. They are beautiful in bloom. gail

    Hey Gail, he might notice the scent before he notices the flowers. lol 🙂 You are welcome for the reminder. My shrub needed thinning too which is why I remembered to bring some inside for forcing. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  11. I see them and they are looking pretty fine there. Way better than the crocuses I am trying to force which are forcing me to head them to the compost bin.

    Thanks Tina. I’m sorry about your crocuses. You could always plant them in the garden and maybe they would bloom next year. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Racquel, I just noticed that I am signed into my WordPress account (thinking of moving) the gailae is clay and limestone!

    Hey Gail I was wondering about that. Good luck with the move, you won’t be sorry if you go through with it. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Aren’t you glad you went back and got them! I told my husband this morning I need some brances from the Bradford soon to start forcing inside. They are really pretty, but take longer than paperwhites. Winter fun!!

    I am so glad that I went back and got them Linda!!! Oh I love Bradford Pear blooms, we used to have a tree in our backyard but it was damaged in a hurricane a few years back. Good luck with them! 🙂

    Reply

  14. lol about your son (and the comment on moving the game system 2″ had me chuckling) So true. You are going to have a house full of blooms very soon Racquel. It’s going to be great. I’m glad you went back for the paperwhites too. I love to force shrubs. I need to plant some in my yard so I don’t have to buy branches (yes, I’ve been desperate enough for blooms to do that!) A cherry, forsythia or pussy willow would be awesome. I look forward to seeing yours open.

    Hi Kathleen, glad I gave you a chuckle today. 🙂 I am so glad I went back for them too. Today they had some Amaryllis kits on sale at Wally World and I almost bought those too. lol I didn’t realize you could buy branches. Thanks!

    Reply

  15. Lucky, lucky girl Racquel! How pretty all those blooms will be. Lots of photos, please!

    Thanks Nancy! I promise to share lots of pictures when these bloom (both of them). 🙂

    Reply

  16. Oh, the anticipation! I know we’ll soon see some pretty blooms from your plants.

    Cameron
    PS — What Les says about teenage boys pretty much sums it up!

    Hi Cameron, I promise I’ll share my pretty blooms when they open. 🙂 Yep I know about the teenage boys thing, I have a 19 year old too. lol

    Reply

  17. I bet when they bloom he’ll be wondering what that wonderful fragrance is. Not only have I not done that with forsythia I didn’t know you could. It will interesting to see when they bloom.

    lol, Susie that fragrance might be better than the dirty laundry on the floor scent he has going on now. 😉 I’ve seen other’s force branches but have never tried myself. Promise to share photos!

    Reply

  18. I was thinking along the same line as Susie, but I am not a fan of the fragrance and was thinking, “Just wait til he smells them.” Although, I do think the smell of paper whites is better than the smell of my boys shoes.

    lol, you might have a point there with the smell of your boy’s shoes. I figure compared to the smell of the dirty laundry all over his room the paperwhites gotta be better. lol

    Reply

  19. Wait til they bloom and he catches the scent, there will be no doubt that there are plants in his room, I love the scent, my hubby disagrees.

    He might miss it over the scent of dirty laundry on the floor, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Sometimes I think the only reason I keep Forsythia is to cut branches for indoor forcing. It’s one of those no-brainer things for me. It takes longer to get them to bloom, the farther they are from their normal blooming time. I’ll be cutting some in a couple of weeks.

    That’s a good reason to grow it MMD. The branches are lovely in full bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Well, yet again, another example of how your climate is so much ahead of ours, just 2 1/2 hrs. south. I knew I always liked living down there;)

    Isn’t that strange that just a short distance can make all the difference in the garden? 🙂

    Reply

  22. I have grown paper whites many times. I love the scent. However, I have never regrown the bulbs more than that one year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

