Planning for spring

Hyacinths emerging in January

Hyacinths emerging in January

I’ve been going through my seed & plant catalogs for the past month trying to decide what I wanted to add to the garden for next season.  I prefer seeds that can be direct sown into the garden.   When it came to the plants I had to be realistic what I could fit into my existing garden.   Here are the final choices I picked:

Seeds ( annuals and perennials) :

  • Angelonia serena (purple)  –  I grew these last season from transplants and was pleased with the results so they will return to the new garden bed.
  • Sulphur Cosmos (yellow) – I’m thinking these will make a nice compliment to the Orange Cosmos that Tina sent me last fall.   
  • Mother of Thyme – This will make a nice ground cover to grow between the paving stones in the Arbor Garden. 
  • Salvia ‘Claryssa Mixed’ – I’ve been wanting to try Clary Sage for a while now and hopefully it does well in my zone 7b garden. 
  • Cosmos ‘ Psyche White’ – I couldn’t resist another Cosmos and white will make a nice compliment to other colors in my garden.
  • Wall Flower – Just love the color orange and this will make a nice compliment with the Mystic Spires Salvia in the new garden.

Plants (which includes perennials, shrubs, and roses):

  • Oakleaf Hydrangea ‘Little Honey’ 
  • Agastache ‘Raspberry Summer’
  • Bergenia ‘Bressingham Ruby’
  • Climbing Rose ‘Morning Magic’ 

With all the great seeds I ordered last fall and the ones I received from the seed swap in December I will have tons of stuff to plant in the garden this spring.  🙂

16 responses to this post.

  1. Cosmos is a pretty flower and it’d be great to see different colors of it in the same place! I’ve been trying to germinate them twice and this is the third time I sowed them again five days ago and they’re yet to germinate :(. Any tips you can share?

    I just scatter them on the surface of the soil in spring after our last frost date (which is around April 10th). I’ve never tried to germinate them in pots since they tend to sprout quickly & get leggy.

    Reply

  2. Hi Racquel, Do you sow your cosmos seeds directly into the ground? I like just scattering seeds and having the meadow look in one part of the garden. Janet

    Yep that’s all I do Janet is just scatter the seeds throughout the garden beds where I want them. They do tend to reseed themselves from year to year if you don’t mulch too heavily. I tend to mulch heavily. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Good selections Racquel. I love cosmos too–hum….maybe you will be sharing the seeds from the white cosmos this fall! 🙂
    It’s going to be spectacular–I can’t wait to see your pictures.

    Thanks Linda and I will be more than happy to save/share seed from the white cosmos this fall. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I love when thyme grows between paving stones and even up over the paving stones since it tends to do this. It really gets rid of the sharp angles and makes it all look more organic.

    That and it helps to cut down on the weeds that would take over this area Daphne. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Racquel — you have a perfect list of plants for your plans!
    The angelonias are really great. I tried them for the first time last year and will plant more. I also bought transplants, but tried to save seeds. I’ll see how the seeds work out. I’m going to be brave and plant cosmos. I have one packet so far of a pale yellow that was sent as a bonus when I ordered from Diane’s. This will require getting some bunny repellant – or, plant them on the deck.

    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron! I just love the Angelonia and hope they grow well from seed otherwise I will be looking for transplants this spring. That pale yellow Cosmos sounds wonderful! I wish you luck with yours!

    Reply

  6. Perfect choices-love the purple and yellow with some white thrown in.

    Thank you Tina. That is my favorite color combination of all time. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I have seeds, seeds and some more seeds for my garden as well. I have three trays of seeds started on the small table in the kitchen and another ready for seeds to be planted in it. You have made some nice selections for your gardens, can’t wait to see them grow and flourish. It was 19 degrees here this morning, it looks as if even the pansies and snapdragons are protesting. Hopefully the sun will warm them up and they will decide to try and make a come back, after all it will get to 60 today, 70 the next few days!!

    I know you do Darla! 🙂 You’ve been busy busy bee getting your seedlings started. I’ve tried this in the past with not much success. If I had a heated garage I would make room for them out there. Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing these new additions to my garden next season too. We are in the 40’s today and it is suppose to be in the 50’s over the weekend which is better than it has been for the past week.

    Reply

  8. Hey Racquel is the Wallflower you mentioned have the botanical name of Citrona? If it is, that plant has a lovely fragrance. It only does well for us here in cooler temps. We had it at the nursery in yellow and orange.

    Actually here is some information on this plant Susie: Cheiranthus allionii (Brassicaceae)- A bushy biennial or perennial variety native to the Canary islands, but has naturalized throughout much of northern North America. A charming species with an abundance of vivid orange flowers occurring on short, compact plants.

    Reply

  9. It’s hard to set limits isn’t it? I go thru the catalogs and have way more on my list than can possibly fit into my garden. I usually start most things from seed tho instead of scattering. I have more luck that way. It’s nice you don’t have to do that! Saves some effort & steps. Are Wallflowers cool weather plants?? I don’t know why but I was thinking that???

    Yes it sure is Kathleen. The pictures just suck you into the beauty & possibilities. 🙂 We have a longer growing season here and I think that helps with being able to direct sow into the garden. I’m not sure from the information I gathered they bloom between April & May so that is a possibility. The heat of summer hasn’t set in yet.

    Reply

  10. Hi Racquel, all good choices, I love that little honey hydrangea and have been thinking about it. I’ll see how it does for you. We both got the clary sage too, I am hoping it does as well as the photos show. I have never grown thyme from seed, I would think it will be quite tiny, but could be wrong. How fun to think about spring and even see bulbs peeking out of the ground too. It won’t be long before those bulbs will be showing us their blooms, hooray! It can’t come soon enough for me, this has been a cold winter.
    Frances

    Hi Frances, I’m really excited about Little Honey since I’ve been wanting an oakleaf hydrangea for some time now. I wish us both luck with the Clary Sage too. Yep those Thyme seeds are probably very tiny. I might try starting a few in 3″ pots too. Don’t worry it shouldn’t be much longer, some spring bulbs will be blooming soon and then spring will be here. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Delightful plants on your list. Several of them on my list…not the same variety but I do want a few Pee Wee Oakleafs and I think the agastaches will love the GOBN. Oh, my a white cosmos…Now I must put them on the list!
    This spring can’t come too soon…gail

    Thanks Gail, I’m very excited about the new additions this spring. You have a whole new area to plant which is always fun! It will be here before we know it. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Isn’t it wonderful planning our spring gardens? I’ve been working on doing the same thing, but it seems that my focus has been a bit split lately. What else is new?

    Yes it is Cinj. Looks like you have been preoccupied with the soap making process. Good luck with your search for lye. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Posted by greenwalks on January 22, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Great picks! And of course your veggies will look pretty too. 🙂 Kinda hard to narrow it down, but smart to work with what space/time you know you will have. My eyes are always bigger than my garden, it seems!

    Thank you Karen! It was a hard decision but that’s why I chose alot of self-seeding annuals too. They will be more than happy to come back year after year in the garden. 🙂 My eyes are always bigger than my garden too, lol. It’s a gardener thing I think! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Hi Racquel, Nice selection. I grew the pink angelonia last summer. It was always in bloom. I bought a small plant. I haven’t tried it from seed. I can vouch for the ‘Raspberry Summer’ agastache. I bought it as a plant. Where did you buy seed for it? I wouldn’t mind growing a few more.

    I’ve grown other agastaches from seed. Easy. I bought the oakleaf hydrangea last fall. Great minds think alike.

    Thanks Grace. Last season was my first experience with Angelonia and I grew it from transplants. Hopefully the seed works well too! Actually I bought The Raspberry Summer as a plant. I haven’t seen it in seed yet. Looks like we have similar tastes indeed! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Interesting that you have had good results sowing the Cosmos direct. I tend to restrict annual sowing because I’ve not got anywhere to keep trays in good light (the greenhouse is filled with tender plants). I like particularly the white Cosmos so I’ll follow your lead and try sprinkling outside.

    This is the only way I’ve ever grow Cosmos before, transplants tend to get leggy real fast. They even seem to self-seed themselves pretty easily too if you don’t mulch too heavily. 🙂 Good luck with your Cosmos this spring!

    Reply

  16. With the temperatures around zero here today I have been surfing for new plants to add to my yard this year. I have a few catalogs out also but I find surfing the net is more fun. A great way to pass the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

