Pretty landscaping

garden-at-vet

It’s been a busy couple of days for me.  It was suppose to snow yesterday and school was canceled.   But of course since my area went into panic mode we barely saw a few flakes.   Anyhow between running Mooch to the vet yesterday to have his drainage tube removed and running Spaz today for her annual checkup and immunizations I’m beat.  But since I haven’t checked in for a couple of days I thought I would share a photo of the pretty little garden outside the Veterinary Hospital.  Here’s a good example of a well done commercial landscaping  job.  The plantings and trellis really personalize this small space.  Well I’m off to take care of some more errands.  Hope everyone is having a nice week thus far.   (Sorry that the photo is a bit blurry, I took it with my cellphone)  🙂

10 responses to this post.

  1. It always charms me when I drive past someone’s contribution to beautifying the earth. You can usually tell the newbie from the expert but to me it’s just the idea that someone made the effort. I really like the arbor and the colorful kale. I hope you can take some down time today. Grace

    Me too Grace! It really softens the hard edges of the commercial buildings & parking lots. 🙂 Thanks, I’m in the process of taking some down time now.

    Reply

  2. That is nice to have a homey touch at any business. Our city has quite a few rose gardens and they are going to do away with them because of the money it takes to maintain them, I just about cried when that was reported on the local news. They said because of liability issues they could not turn the job over to citizens. Hope your critters are doing well.

    Isn’t it though! That’s a shame about your public rose gardens being eliminated. Too bad they couldn’t resolve the issue someway. Thanks, the critters are doing well today. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Isn’t amazing how you can landscape a small area with not a lot but it makes a big impact? I like to see little areas like that.

    Yes it is Susie! I found this small garden setup very quaint. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hi Racquel, how about that snow?? ha ha! It is surely bitter cold today. I like the landscaping photo you took. Aren’t cell phones amazing? Pretty good quality considering.
    Janet

    Wasn’t that a letdown Janet, they cancelled school for nothing. 🙂 It was a cold day today, but sunny! I wasn’t impressed with the quality of the photo but it is a new phone so I haven’t figured out the features yet.

    Reply

  5. It is lovely. I especially like that arbor. I do hope Mooch is feeling better.

    Thank you Tina. He is a bit cranky from being restricted to the house but he does feel better.

    Reply

  6. I always appreciate it when businesses have some pretty landscaping around their premises. It makes everything just a little nicer and more pleasant to be around.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, I tend to gravitate towards the businesses that make that extra effort. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Nice to hear that Mooch is improving slowly. Great to see that you love Mooch so much, Racquel. If you hadn’t mentioned, I wouldn’t have guessed that it’s a garden outside a hospital. It looks like a residential garden. Great!

    Thanks Chandramouli, I do love the big furrball. 🙂 I does look like a private garden space doesn’t it, that what caught my attention to it I think. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Hope all your little furkids are fine. Our Charm decided to be a racing greyhound in the snow yesterday and ran three laps.. she’s limping today, but it seems to be working it’s way out. Poor old girl (10 years old in February).

    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron, they are doing okay at the moment. Spaz is alittle tender from here shots and kitty is full of attitude about being stuck in the house. Poor Charm, looks like the old gal might of overdone it in the snow yesterday.

    Reply

  9. In spring and summer, flowers reign supreme. But for a landscape to hold our interest the rest of the year, we need to pay attention to such matters as foliage color, exfoliating tree bark, or the pattern in which a shrub’s branches grow.
    Shelly

    Looks like the landscapers really followed the rules with this commercial space. It was interesting to look at even in January. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today Shelly!

    Reply

  10. Posted by skeeter on January 22, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Mooch still in house jail. Poor baby.
    I get such a good feeling when I see the wonderful landscaped business around us. We are lucky as they really do seem to take pride in our area. Entrances to places change with the season and such a great treat to people on the road. I fear of taking my eye off the road at times though. tee hee. One time while with my MIL, she was driving and while parking hit the cement barrier. She said, “Ops sorry, I was looking at that beautiful tree and not paying attention to parking.” We both got such a giggle from that as I too was looking at the same tree! But I was not driving. lol….

    Yep he is not a happy camper at the moment Skeeter. 😦 They do the same thing in my area, and not just the businesses either. There are beautiful areas along the interstate or in the medians on main roads that have been wonderfully landscaped. You MIL needs to be careful not to get too mesmerized by the scenery when driving. lol 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

