Glorious Winter Skies (SWF 01/16/09)

Looking to the East

Looking to the East

Looking to the North

Looking to the North

Looking towards the west

Looking towards the west

No matter which way I looked last evening the skies were full of interesting shapes, luminous light and beauty.  The winter skies sure do peak the imagination at this time of the year.  I am in awe everytime I look up.  For more Skywatch Friday posts or to join in please visit HERE. 

25 responses to this post.

  1. Great pictures of the sky,
    thanks for sharing it

    Thank you Etje!

    Reply

  2. Great skywatch shots, you captured them perfectly. Cheers!

    Thank you Regina! I enjoyed the photo on your post today too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Those are beautiful, Racquel. Were they taken at approximately the same time?
    I love the leafless trees silhouetted against the sky and most of all, the last photo with the sky all covered up in a sheet of grey and then there’s this patch of blue defiantly holding fort!
    Lovely! I have to bookmark this page so I can come back when its hot and sweaty in summer and the sun is trying to burn through the roof to get at me!

    Hi Sunita, thank you! Yep they were all taken this Thursday late afternoon just before the sunset. Isn’t the winter sky even more remarkable with those bare branches against it?! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos and feel free to come back anytime to cool off. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Great pictures–the pictures DO look like a winter sky! You are a great photographer Racquel!
    Have a great weekend!

    Thank you so much Linda. That is a lovely compliment! Have a wonderful weekend yourself. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I just kept looking…and looking. One of the best SWF posts ever! Agree with Sunita about the bare trees. And I love to check out your changing headers–I find the photos very interesting.

    Oh thank you so much Kanak! 🙂 Such sweet compliments! I try to change up the photo headers as often as possible.

    Reply

  6. Such a pretty blue-reminds me of the summer sky except for the bare trees.

    Thanks Tina, the sky almost does look like summer with that pretty blue shade. It looks nice & bright but it’s really cold out there.

    Reply

  7. Wonderful sky photos!

    Thank you Darla! 😉

    Reply

  8. Lovely sky photos, Racquel. Those western skies look a bit ominous–our winter storms are heading your way!

    Thanks Rose! They do look pretty stormy, I hope we aren’t in for some bad weather. It’s been sunny here today but cold!

    Reply

  9. Great job Racquel! I really like the way you framed the sky with the trees in the northern picture. You have a very good eye!

    Thanks Randy! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the photos today.

    Reply

  10. Such beauty Racquel! Glad to see you have some sunshine!

    Thank you Susie! It is sunny but cold here!

    Reply

  11. Racquel I left you a fun tag on my blog today. Come and check it out!

    Hi Susie, this does look like fun! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Racquel — as always, your sky photos are beautiful! It’s sunny but cold here today.

    I created a COUNTDOWN TO SPRING widget that anyone can grab from my blog sidebar to add to their blog sidebar.

    Cheers,
    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron! It’s cold here today too! I wll have to check out your widget, clever! 🙂

    Reply

  13. I especially like the third photo; it’s so moody. 🙂

    Thank you Monica, that’s my favorite too! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Skies look so interesting and changable, don’t they? My skies look a lot warmer than they actually are though. A beautiful, clear cornflower blue without a cloud in sight and the sun is shinig bright.

    My skies are alittle deceiving too Cinj! It was quite cold here today too!

    Reply

  15. Hi Racquel, Beautiful photos. If it weren’t for the defoliated trees they would look like summer except for that ominous west facing one that looks like the harbinger of a torrent. Great idea.

    Thank you Gracepete! Yep the skies can be quite deceptive at this time of the year. It was definitely a winter day in VA. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Winter skies are, without question, my favorite. 🙂 These are beautiful shots. (And I love your new header photo!)”

    They are more beautiful at this time of the year Nancy, thank you! I’m glad you like my new header too, it’s the GBBD pansies. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Great pics! 🙂

    Thanks Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Nice shots. Looks like a storm coming in?

    Thanks Debbie, it looked that way didn’t it? But nope clear skies today too, but chilly! 🙂

    Reply

  19. It looks like we had the same idea for Skywatch. Lovely!

    lol, looks like we were on the same page today Sue! 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  20. Posted by skeeter on January 16, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Cold here today at 36 for the high but clear blue skies!

    Yep looks like we had the same weather Skeeter! 🙂

    Reply

  21. A little sun, a few clouds and a front moving through. You’ve got it all. A bit of peace when taking time to watch the sky.

    Yep something for everyone Beckie! 🙂 It was an interesting view for sure.

    Reply

  22. just wanted to pop in, so busy but your sky pics are so interesting. hope all is well.

    Thanks for taking time to pop in today Marmee! 😉

    Reply

  23. Beautiful sky shots Racquel!

    Thank you Linda! 😉

    Reply

  24. How interesting to view the sky in this way! All views are so different, yet the same sky!
    Brenda

    Thanks Brenda. When I looked up Thursday evening I couldn’t get over no matter which direction you looked it was completely different! 🙂

    Reply

  25. Racquel ……………. I don’t know how I missed your post on these beautiful sky pictures but here I am girl ! and loving the pictures since I am a sky nut too !
    I can’t wait to see another red morning sky though .. it has been a long time and I keep searching for them every morning ! darn !!
    Great pictures girl : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

