Life Choices

new-posts-001My husband and I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but we do try to make life choices.  Our life choices for this year are to try to eat healthier and to get more physical activity.   Years ago we had a gym membership and got some free sessions with a fitness coach.  During those sessions we were introduced to a great book called Eating for Life which has some tasty but healthy recipes.  They have tons of recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner and even low-fat snacks.  Even my boys enjoy the meals I’ve made from this book.  The second part of our “life choices plan” is to get more exercise this year.  When it gets cold outside I’m tempted to be lazy and hibernate indoors.  However there is a beautiful park just up the street that has a walking trail about 2 miles in distance.   (More info will be discussed about this  park in a later post)  We even can take thenew-posts-002 dogs with us as long as we clean up any messes they might make along the way.  They even have doggy cleanup stations where they provide baggies and a disposable can for this purpose.   We started on Monday this week with the intentions of walking every day (weather permitting of course) and then it rained Tues & Wed which derailed us a bit.  Today the sun came out and it was in the upper 40’s so off we went to the park for our brisk walk with Spaz.  She even enjoyed the pace we set, lol.  We came home to a nutritious breakfast of fat free yogurt, a banana & coffee.  OK I know coffee isn’t a healthy option, but I need at least one cup of coffee (two is best) to get my day off to a good start.  🙂   What life choices did you make for 2009?

17 responses to this post.

  1. This is my ‘Yes’ year … to follow my dreams! Good luck with your dreams in the New Year!

    Thanks Joey, good luck with your dreams this year too! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I didn’t make any. Is that bad or what?? I do say every year that I want to be healthier so that’s an ongoing goal of mine too. I think your choices are great ones, and even if you don’t get your walk in every day at least it’s more than you were doing, right?

    Nope that’s not bad Kathleen, I don’t normally make any myself. My husband was saying he wanted to shed some pounds & feel better so we decided to do it together. It’s always easier when you have a buddy to help keep you motivated. Your right, it’s more than I’ve been doing since I can’t get out & garden like I do during the peak season. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by greenwalks on January 9, 2009 at 2:09 am

    Good goals! Thanks for the book rec. I don’t usually make resolutions, but I am hoping for this: more fun, less fret! Overall I think that would improve a lot of things in my life. Enjoy your walks! My daughter was asked to make a New Year’s resolution and she said “go for a walk every dy (that it snows)” and drew a picture of the two of us. 🙂

    Thanks Karen. Sounds like you have some wonderful goals for the New Year too. 🙂 You are welcome for the book link. It’s a great source of delicious recipes and great info. What a wonderful resolution your daughter made, spending time together is a lovely goal.

    Reply

  4. Good luck with your choice! Eat well and stay healthy. A better choice than a New Year Resolution that you’re most probable to break.

    Thanks Chandramouli! I know that I would probably not keep my resolutions after a couple of weeks. 😉

    Reply

  5. Healthy food and exercise, great choices. I am with you though on the coffee, they would have to pry it from my cold … lol … well you get the idea 🙂

    Thanks Mom, sometimes you just have to do what’s good for your body & spirit. 🙂 I get the idea about the coffee, lol. It’s one of two vices for me. 😉

    Reply

  6. Hi Racquel, good choices. Your walk looks lovely, blue sky and crisp clear air. Have a great weekend/ Tyra

    Thanks Tyra. It’s a beautiful place to take a walk which makes it seem more like fun than work. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Pretty park Racquel! Looks like a nice spot for a walk. Kudos for making healthy life choices.

    Years ago I was corporate director for a chain of health clubs. We had a club right next door to the corporate offices. It was great – I worked out every day and created a policy for the office that gave everyone a ‘free’ quarter-hour extra on their lunch hours if they spent part of it working out in the club – just a little extra motivation to encourage the staff to practice what we preached. Being in a leadership position, I felt responsible for motivating the staff and being a role model, and that helped me stay motivated.

    These days I can use all the motivation I can muster. It’s easy to start a workout routine, but harder to stick to it. About three years ago we converted an extra bedroom to a workout room with cardio and strength-training equipment. It’s a bit pathetic how sporadically we use it. It SHOULD be easy with such a convenient setup. This year we are resolved to actually USE it. So far we’ve done pretty well – gotten good cardio workouts five out of eight days of the new year.

    Thanks Linda. It is a pretty park and the walking trails have an interesting view along the way. What a great way to motivate your employees to be healthy buy giving them some incentive. Sounds like you were a great role model for the business. I know what you mean, I have good intentions when it comes to working out but somewhere along the way I lose my motivation. 🙂 Looks like you have started out your year pretty good with your resolve to use that workout room.

    Reply

  8. I have been a walker for many years..but a fair weather walker I’m afraid. 🙂 I love, love to walk and could go on forever. My daughter is trying to get me to do a litttle running, but at my age…hum..not sure. What is for sure, I will keep up with that walking!!
    Have a great weekend Racquel!

    Well you are way ahead of me then Linda. It’s easier to stick to the routine when the weather is accomodating I know. I hate exercise, but walking in the park didn’t seem like work, just fun. I’m not a runner either, and it’s hard on the joints. Keep up the good work and enjoy your weekend!

    Reply

  9. You’ve inspired me too, I’m off to do a bit of walking!

    I’m glad to be of service Tina, enjoy your walk!!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Good for you! Those choices sound very healthy. Uh, coffee? You better believe that’s on my list of healthy drinks!! If I don’t have my coffee, it’s not pretty around here.

    Thank you Darla. lol, I know what you mean about the coffee. 😉 I need something to wake me up in the morning too!

    Reply

  11. Racquel-
    Like you, I don’t make resolutions, but I am trying to make a conscious decision to live my life with reverence in ever task I do. I also want to enjoy everyday of my life and be grateful for every wonderful moment I’ve been given.

    Good for you Randy! Sounds like your conscious decisions are some healthy choices for your spirit! 🙂

    Reply

  12. My husband and I made the same life choices in 2008 and are continuing — exercise has become a regular part of our lives. We started shopping at Trader Joes when it opened and are eating foods where we can pronounce the ingredients on the labels (no chemicals/preservatives).

    It’s paying off. We feel younger, happier and I’m definitely healthier since I’m off the nasty heart meds that were prescribed by an ER doctor — when he should have been treating my respiratory infection that lasted 5 months. He treated the symptoms of irregular heart beat (I have mitral valve prolapse) rather than the infection. Long story — but, with your life choices — always ask about whatever a medical person prescribes. I am on NO meds now. Sorry, but I get on my soapbox about this stuff!

    Cheers,

    Cameron

    I remember you talking about this once before maybe in a post. Looks like your choices have improved your health. I know what you mean about the medication thing, I don’t take anything currently. However my grandparents must take 8-10 things a piece daily. It does concern me what kind of sideeffects they may have from mixing all that stuff together. I’ve been thinking about checking out our local Trader Joes too. It is a good source of local and organic stuff right?

    Reply

  13. My goals are pretty much the same as yours, especially the diet part. We eat far too many sweets. I’ve tried this before and have always failed. Maybe we can encourage each other during the year, in our blogs. My breakfast was yogurt, apricots and toast.

    Looks like we have the same weaknesses Balisha, lol. I love sweets myself. 🙂 That would great, I think we could really motivate each other to stay on track with our goals. Sounds like you were off to a great start this morning with a healthy breakfast.

    Reply

  14. That looks like a lovely place to walk and two miles long, that’s great! I applaud you for taking on new challenges. I know what you mean about drinking coffee. I told my honey I was going to try that but so far I’m not meeting that challenge. The other thing I want to give up is having an occasional glass of wine. I usually only do that about once a week so that will be easy to stop. My two weeks of leg rest is almost over so I am so anxious to get back to exercising. I feel so much better by exercising and plus I sleep much better. Keep up the good work Racquel!

    Thanks Susie for your words of encouragement! With that and some cleanup for spring I should get a full body workout. 🙂 Caffeine is a deal breaker for me, I need my morning cup of joe to get my day started. I rarely drink, but I’ve heard a glass a wine occasionally is actually good for you. No kidding! Hope you are able to get back to your exercise routine soon Susie. I always sleep better when I work out too.

    Reply

  15. remember a week of pizzas doesn’t mean the year is over.

    my thought for myself this year….”be wide open to suggestions made by my students and assistants in my classroom.”

    Good for you Wayne, it’s good to be open to suggestions from others.

    Reply

  16. An excellent way to start the new year!…healthy choices! MY resolution is still Enough…which means I want to get enough exercise! gail

    Reply

  17. I don’t make resolutions either, but we are actually trying to do the same thing. Making healthier eating choices and being more active. I think that this will help us be more successful than we have been in the past, because even small changes are better than the way we’ve already been living. How can we fail?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

