Early Risers

Narcissi triandrus 'Thalia'

Narcissi triandrus 'Thalia'

Look what I discovered peaking through the ground in December!  A little early don’t you think for a April-May bloomer.  I planted some in several different garden beds and all of them are emerging.  It was a new daffodil to my garden this fall.  Thalia is a white flowering variety with up to three blooms on one stem.  They can stay in bloom for up to 4 weeks.  I got a feeling that they will be blooming long before April, don’t you?

Narcissus triandrus

Narcissus triandrus

 

 These tiny daffodils produce multiple pale yellow blossoms on a single stem.  I think this variety is ‘Baby Moon’.   They look very pretty planted in a mass with  Grape Hyacinth for a pleasing color combination.   The normal bloom time is March to April right after the large flowering Narcissus are finished.  I’ve found they do well planted in Sun or Part Sun  so I have them in everywhere.    I purchased them from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs and you can view a photo of them here.

Hyacinthoides hispanica

Hyacinthoides hispanica

The common name for this early spring bloomer is ‘Spanish Bluebells’.  They naturalize very easily in my area.  My grandmother gave me a small clump of bulbs  from her garden 11 years ago and now I have hundreds of them spread throughout my garden.  Each stem is filled with dangling  bell shaped flowers that come in shades of blue, white & pink.  The blue variety is more prevalent in my garden than any other color.  Have you been noticing any early risers in your garden?

17 responses to this post.

  1. You didn’t even get a break before it’s all starting over again. I hope we have an early Spring here as well.

    I know isn’t that strange Anna?! I know some of the Daffs bloom as early as February here, but some of these early risers are really ahead of the game in my opinion.

    Reply

  2. How exciting to see new bulbs growing and anticipate the new blooms. Fresh earth and green shoots are one of the best parts of gardening. Do you think they will be your first new flowers of the year?

    It is NS! I look forward to my weekly strolls through the garden to see what new stuff might be showing up, but this is rather early. I know my large flowering Daffs bloom as early as February, but I’m not seeing any signs of them yet. These early risers might have shot out of the gate too early. 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by greenwalks on December 30, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Nutty! I love Thalia, usually plant them but I can’t remember if I did this year. Mine have been fragrant too, a nice plus. Hope they hang in there and bloom at the right time! Sometimes the foliage is fooled into coming up early but then they hold off with the flowers.

    It is nutty Karen! I’ve never planted Thalia in the past, but I was impressed by their white blooms & promise of fragrance. Hope your right about the blooms. Our winters aren’t terribly long here, but even this might be a bit early for us.

    Reply

  4. Yes mam I have some early risers too! I am curious to see all of yours bloom. Do Alliums come up with four or five think blades of grass looking leaves? I planted some this year for the first time and I’m not sure if that’s what I am seeing or if it is indeed some type of grass. My husband says it is not grass, so of course I am leaving them alone. They are in clumps of 3 to 5 is why I think it’s a bulb of some sort that I planted. I dotted my gardens with over 80 bulbs so as to have many more in those areas in the coming years, just can’t quite remember whats where. Bad gardening I know!

    I knew you might have some early risers Darla since your area is warmer than mine. I am curious to see when these bloom too. Yep Alliums always come up early and they have grassy like leaves except thicker. Sounds like that is what you are seeing, mine have been up for some time now (especially the existing ones). I’ve done the same thing in the past so this year I made a journal of all the new plants & bulbs I planted and the locations.

    Reply

  5. I am definitely going to have to check mine now. You are the third person who has said their daffys are up. I do think it is too early but I guess they know when to grow don’t they? 🙂

    Yep you need to get out to the garden & take a peek Tina. 🙂 It does seem early to me too, but maybe they know something we don’t? Like maybe we are going to have a shorter winter. (Knock on wood!)

    Reply

  6. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on December 30, 2008 at 8:08 am

    I haven’t looked to see it anything is coming up but since you have and things are sprouting, I must take a look. We had quite a downpour recently that may have facilitated sprouting. I must check on the hellebores. – Donna

    You might be happily surprised to see what is peeking through the soil in your garden right now Donna! 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you discover!

    Reply

  7. Daffodils are beginning to emerge here in TN too. It seems early to me but I think they did it last year also.

    I guess I’m not the only one seeing signs of life Dave. I think they might of last year too, but I might have not noticed since I wasn’t blogging then. The blog has really made me pay more attention to every little subtle change in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  8. The only early riser around here is me 🙂

    That’s too funny Balisha, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Signs of spring. Signs of hope. Makes you smile, doesn’t it? 🙂

    Cameron

    Yep it sure does Cameron! I look forward to seeing the fruits of my labor reward me each spring & summer! 🙂

    Reply

  10. I am always envious of you gardeners in mild climates. I’d really like to see a little green in my garden about now.
    Marnie

    It won’t be long Marnie & spring will be in everyone’s garden.

    Reply

  11. It sure makes you wish for spring doesn’t it Racquel? I can’t wait to see them all in bloom, especially with the grape hyacinth mixed in. Should make for a beautiful display.

    Yep it makes me pretty eager for spring Susie! I’m hoping for a great show of color this spring. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I’m with Marnie ‘cept I’m getting cabin fever up here.
    Only early risers we have are the snowplows!

    I can only imagine Dawn! Don’t worry before you know it we will be welcoming another spring in the garden!

    Reply

  13. ahhh the promise of spring!! Mine are all in one pot (since the move) and I was so pleased to see green!!!!

    The ones I have in a pot are peeking through the soil too Carla. It’s always great to see signs of spring even this early. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by spookydragonfly on December 30, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Even in my zone 5 I have experienced this after a few days of unseasonal warm weather. I believe it’s due to the amount of fallen leaves on the woods’ edge. Spring seems so far away. Now I have to check on my bulbs!

    We’ve had several days this past week of unseasonally warm weather. I hope these guys didn’t jump the gun. 😉 Go check yours!

    Reply

  15. There are no early risers here, Racquel; not even me:)
    No wonder you are out in your garden every day! I would be out there every day, too, checking to see how these bulbs are progressing. I can’t wait to see yours in bloom–definitely makes me eager for spring!

    Yep the garden is a constant source of excitement & anticipation for me Rose. I promise to share my early bloomers with you! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Wow, that’s just plain crazy! Will things cool down and hurt them or are they safe to rise so early? Hasn’t 2008 been a crazy year weather wise?

    It is alittle whacky to me too Cinj! 😉 The Daffs are pretty hardy, they’ll bloom through snow. It has been a crazy year weather wise!

    Reply

  17. My Baby Moons are already poking through the soil, too. They are usually the last narcissus to bloom in my garden in early-mid April. No sign of the triandrus yet though. I spotted a flower stalk on my leucojums (snowflakes) the other day. I have a big patch of Spanish bluebells too. I’ve had them for about 8 years and they multiply like crazy. They started out as a mix of blue,pink and white but after a couple of years they all turned pink.It looks like the warm spell is over now so I hope everyone’s beautiful flowers will be okay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

