Christmas leftovers: the ham bone

beans-cornbreadNavy Beans & Cornbread was on the menu for dinner last night in our house.  I recycled that bone from the Christmas ham into a hearty meal for a cool winter day.  Simple but tasty is all that is necessary to please my family.  Growing up my grandparents (a product of the Depression) always re-purposed the leftovers from the holidays into something delicious.  The leftover turkey from Thanksgiving was made into a Potpie and the ham bone was used in beans or soups.  This is a fairly easy dish to make but does involve some prep time.  You could use any dried beans that you like in place of the Navy Beans.  I’ve used Great Northern as well and they were just as tasty.   The process is as follow:  rinse & sort the dried beans (1-2 pounds), soak overnight in cold water (4-6 cups),  simmer on low heat for 1 1/2 – 2 hrs in 6-8 cups of hot water with a ham bone (with bits of meat still intact),  serve up with a large slice of cornbread and enjoy!  The cornbread I made in my cast iron skillet to create these pie shaped slices.   The picture doesn’t do it justice, the smell while it is cooking is just heavenly.  I get hungry just thinking about that wonderful aroma in the kitchen.  My youngest son gave this meal a thumbs up! 🙂

14 responses to this post.

  1. I wonder how hard it would be to sneak the ham bone from Christmas dinner out of my Mom’s fridge.

    Hmmm…that’s a good question Deb, lol. I wouldn’t let her see my post before you take it. 😉

    Reply

  2. Oh yeah, got my turkey carcuss in the freezer for soup!!

    I forgot to mention the turkey bones for soup, thanks Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel,

    I grew up eating a very similar Navy bean soup with cornbread. Your cornbread does look so delicious!

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, it was something my grandparents were very fond of making. The cornbread was something my grandmother’s sisters showed us how to make. They grew up in Kentucky & it was a traditional part of every meal almost.

    Reply

  4. Good morning, Racquel–You must have slept well after such a hearty meal! I often like the leftovers better than the dinner–I think I get sated smelling (ok, and tasting) the stuff I cook for a big dinner, so everything tastes better a day or two later.

    Good evening Cosmo. I did sleep well & took advantage of the good weather today to get outside. The same thing happens to me after cooking too. Most things taste better the next day. 🙂

    Reply

  5. It looks very delicious and how thrifty you are!

    Thanks Tina, I try not to waste food. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Beans and cornbread, doesn’t get any better than that 🙂 I am making pot pie with left over turkey today.

    Yep it is comfort food in my house in the winter. 🙂 Yum I love turkey pot pie!

    Reply

  7. It sounds delicious Racquel and so smart of you repurpose the ham bone. I think a lot of people have forgotten how to do this today?? These economic times make it a lot more practical so maybe the simple but delicious fare will make a comeback??

    It is very tasty Kathleen & a great way to do some recycling in the kitchen. 😉 I have to cook for 6 people on a daily basis, so meals that are simple & stretch my dollar are wonderful. You might have a point there with the economy being the way it is we may need to go back to our roots. That’s another reason I plan on having a veggie plot next season.

    Reply

  8. I was raised on beans and cornbread and sometimes fried potatoes. Yummy! Those ham bones make wonderful beans and soups too.

    I hope you are having a great day! The sun just came out and is calling me to go outside even though it isn’t as warm as it has been.

    Yep me too Susie. 🙂 And fried onions and mushrooms too! It was a beautiful 68 degrees here today & a wonderful day to spend outside doing some work.

    Reply

  9. Mmmm so delicious. I love those warm, comforting meals. I grew up in a single income family and my mother was a master at budget cooking. I’m so thankful that she passed those skills on to me. It’s amazing how many delicious meals you can make from leftover turkey and ham. Yum!

    Yep stretching the dollar with simple meals was the way I grew up too. My grandparents raised me and they were on a fixed income during the majority of my schoolage years. Thanks Amy!

    Reply

  10. Shoot, I grew up out in the country on pinto and navy beans and cornbread! And in the summers sliced tomatoes. Yum!
    Brenda

    Yep my grandmother used to serve sliced tomatoes with mayonaise on them for supper in the summer. They were so refreshing! Thanks Brenda. 🙂

    Reply

  11. My husband has a medical problem and can’t eat navy beans anymore. He can, however, eat lima beans. I make my soup with dried limas and it is delicious. I love cornbread put into a glass of milk and eat with a spoon. An idea from my Grandma.

    Yum, I love lima beans too. That sounds good Balisha. My grandmother used to put bread in buttermilk & eat it with a spoon.

    Reply

  12. sounds delicious Racquel! Our ham bone is already in the freezer awaiting use for split pea soup. It’s my favorite. Mom often made navy bean soup with the ham bone – so delicious with homemade cornbread.

    It is delicious Linda! Split pea is my grandparent’s favorite soup too. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Posted by thegardenfaerie on December 28, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    The food looks good! I don’t like to eat ham, but I don’t mind its flavor. (It’s the texture I don’t like…)

    Thank GF, it was a tasty meal. 🙂 That’s how I feel about beef too, especially stringy bits.

    Reply

  14. That sounds so good. I like to use a ham bone for a Navy Bean soup from my husband’s grandmother.

    Thanks Cindy, I think you would enjoy it. Sounds like your hubby’s grandmother has a good recipe too.

    Reply

Leave a comment