Thank you Santa

thanks-santa-0011

Well I hope everyone had a nice Christmas with your families yesterday.   It’s nice to take this opportunity to be together as a family and enjoy each other’s company if only for a day or two.  Even though our sons are pass the childhood days of believing in Santa Claus we try to keep the suspense and surprise going.  We have a few traditions that we keep strong year to year.  On Christmas Eve we go to the Celebration in Lights as we have for the past 15 years.  We then come home to Eggnog and cookies followed by opening of one present.  This year my husband had to work on Christmas Day so we opened all the presents as well as had the dinner on Christmas Eve.  We had ideal weather this year with temps in the lower 70’s both days.  It would of been nice to have a white Christmas this year but that doesn’t happen to often in my area.  I think we might of had snow once or twice at Christmas in the 20 years I’ve lived here.  As you can see Santa made all my wishes come true with a new set of stainless steel pans.  My favorite accessories have to be the pasta insert (since we eat a lot of pasta in this house) and the veggie steamer insert.  Just think next season when I have my designated veggie garden of all the wonderful dishes I can make with these great utensils!  Did Santa make your wishes come true this Christmas?

13 responses to this post.

  1. A fantastic gift! And I do bet your family will seriously enjoy all those homegrown veggies next year. We had a great Christmas as well. Quite a warm day and sunny. Enjoy those new pots!

    Thanks Tina, yep my hubby & youngest son are big on the veggies. I’m glad your Christmas was great too. 🙂 Sounds like you had the same warm front we did. I took advantage of the nice weather yesterday & did some weeding & trimming back.

    Reply

  2. What a great sounding day you had. It was a bit hard for us to do our Christmas traditions with an ill Peanut. Santa was indeed very good to us too. I’ll have to figure out how to use my new “toys” and pray for a good garden yield this year.

    Thanks Cinj. It was peaceful and nice. When you have teenaged sons, peaceful is a good thing! lol I hope your daughter gets to feeling better soon. I can’t wait to see your new toys and I wish you luck with the garden next season!

    Reply

  3. Racquel,

    Wonderful gift. Glad you had a wonderful holiday. We were in our shirtsleeves here, too. My sons gave me a replacement for one of my pots this year. Almost my entire collection was given to me, piece by piece by the two of them over the years.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. Sounds like you had a nice holiday too with your family. 🙂 What thoughtful sons you have!

    Reply

  4. Love your stainless steel pots. I like the idea of a pasta insert.

    Your Christmas eve sounds ideal. Snowed here and was very beautiful but very, very cold.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, I love them too! The pasta insert is a must have, no more trying to dump hot water out of heavy pots into a strainer! It was a nice day but it didn’t seem like Christmas with the warm weather. Sounds like you had a more idealic time with your snow!

    Reply

  5. You are so going to love cooking with this cookware … the pot really does make the meal 🙂

    It was cold in Cleveland with light snow flurries.

    I did some frenchtoast yesterday and it turned out perfect! It is so amazing how evenly the pan heats up and at a low temp at that! Thanks Mom! Sounds like typical Ohio weather to me, right?

    Reply

  6. Racquel, your Christmas sounds delightful. Traditions are so important in families. Give us all a sennse of security. And if we can’t keep them all,al least we keep the important ones. Here changes in the last few years have meant some new traditions have come about, but that’s okay. They all mean love.

    Glad Santa brought you just what you wanted!

    Thanks Beckie. It is nice to have some family traditions that we can pass down to our children & future grandchildren. It gets harder as the boys get older & don’t want to do some of the stuff anymore. I guess that is life. Thank you, I feel blessed to have been granted my Christmas wish. 🙂

    Reply

  7. What fantastic gifts.
    Here in Sweden where a live, we had a white Christmas this year.

    I wish you and your family a Happy new Year.

    Gunilla

    Thanks Gunilla, I’m happy with my beautiful pots! Sounds like you had an ideal Christmas with your snow. Happy New Year to you too and thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Spiffy pots! Are those All-Clad? I love mine, although don’t have a pasta insert, that sounds fun and useful to boot. Glad you had such a nice Xmas! We had to alter our traditions due to the snow, didn’t make it over to my folks’ as usual, which also meant I had to cook a nice dinner instead of just eating my mom’s! But all in all it was pretty fun. But white Christmases are over-rated, trust me! 🙂

    Thanks Karen, they are Cuisinart. I’ve been wanting the pasta insert forever. It will be very useful especially when it comes to lasange noodles. Sorry that the snow changed your plans but glad you had a fun time afterall. I know snow can be a mess but it would of been nice to get at least a dusting. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I am imagining the fantastic feasts at your house, Racquel, with that new cookware! Sorry you didn’t get a white Christmas, but I would gladly trade our winter weather for a Christmas in the 70’s:) We had more ice than snow, but luckily my children were able to get here for our get-together. Not everyone in the Midwest was so lucky. Glad you had a Merry Christmas!

    I hope I can live up to that Rose, lol. My mom is a fantastic cook, I’m just decent. Of course my family has never complained, so maybe I should give myself a break. 😉 I guess the grass is always greener no matter where you live when it comes to weather. Ice is something we get more than snow and that just makes for problems. I’m glad your children were still able to visit for the holidays. Thanks Rose!

    Reply

  10. Sounds like you will be doing a lot of cooking for your family, Racquel. Well, you have to do it anyway–so it might as well be with some new & shiny cookware! I know what you mean about not having a White Christmas! I’m pretty sure that we will have snow before the winter is over, though. We usually get a decent snow in January or February. My son really wants to be able to go sledding again this year! Hope the rest of your holiday week is special with your family:) Have a wonderful new year! Jan

    Yep, I do all the cooking in this house so it’s nice to have pretty cookware. 🙂 We might get some snow in January but it’s not something we count on getting every year. It’s hit or miss in my area. Thanks Jan, have a nice weekend.

    Reply

  11. I’m glad you had a good Christmas with your family Racquel. New pots and pans are a wonderful gift and will come in handy year round. While it was not exactly warm for us in PA it wasn’t snowing either and today was just rain, rain, rain. Enjoy your holidays!

    Thanks Cindy. I’m pleased with my gift, they have a practical purpose which is what I like in a gift. We’ve been getting rain since yesterday too. Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  12. Merry Christmas to your and your family, Racquel. I’m envious of both the cookware AND the warm weather–I can’t believe Virginia is warmer than Arizona! I really do need to replace some of my pans–but I keep spending money on plants, instead.

    Thank you Cosmo, the same to you. 🙂 Yep I am thrilled with my new cookware, I’ve been wanting new pots & pans for years now. Isn’t that a hoot? Warmer here than AZ! I know what you mean about the money on plants, lol. I do the same thing. Hubby treated me this year! 🙂

    Reply

  13. The right “tools” for anything make all the difference, don’t they Racquel? Your pots look wonderful. I’m sure you’ll get years of good use out of them. I don’t have a pasta insert either but it sounds interesting. We eat a lot of pasta too!
    It was a nice Christmas for us too but much colder than it sounds like for you. I’m ready for a thaw!!! Glad Santa was good to you.

    Yes they do Kathleen! Whether they be tools for the garden or the kitchen, it’s always nice to have great gadgets! That’s what I thought too, they are a good investment since they will last many years. I’ve been wanting a pasta insert forever, it will make my life easier! Pasta is great cause it can be quick, easy & very filling. My teenaged boys can eat alot & pasta fits the bill. lol Thanks Kathleen, hope you get a thaw soon. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

