New Garden Bed 2008

Watching a new garden evolve over a period of time whether it be weeks, months or years can be interesting.  In May I created what I call the “New Garden” for lack of another name at the moment.  That might change come next season even though it is a baby compared to the rest of my garden which ranges in age from 5-11 years old.  A couple of names I have tossed around in my head are the ‘Shed Garden’ and the ‘Butterfly Garden’.   Haven’t made any decisions yet on that.  Anyhow, this bed did very well for it’s first summer and fall.  Here are some pictures to show you the progress it made in 6 months:

May 23rd (before it began)

May 23rd (before it began)

As you can see in this picture it was a pretty pitiful area with not much to look at other than a couple of Azaleas around a birdbath and feeder.  Spaz doesn’t seem that impressed with it either.  Look at the possibilities!

May 25th (all dug out)

May 25th (all dug out)

Well that’s a little better.  At least you can see how it began.  The grass has been removed, amendments added and tilled in properly.  The birdbath and Azaleas will stay to give it a jumping off point. 

Jun 2nd (planting begins)

Jun 2nd (planting begins)

I bought some plants but underestimated the amount of space I was really dealing with.  Hmmm…it needs more plants!  Great start though.

Jun 27th (coming together)

Jun 27th (coming together)

At this point more perennials have been added and the Angelina have found their new home.  They were so small when it first began.   A trellis has been replaced with a nicer one and two Clematis have found a home.

July 24th (it's growing!)

July 24th (it's growing!)

Barely a month later and everything has grown like crazy!!!  Lots of blooms and the garden is in it’s glory.  No serious drought yet.  I wish I had one of August but unfortunately I didn’t take any photos then.  Too hot to linger out there maybe?

Sept 14th (fall has arrived)

September 14th and fall has arrived in the ‘New Garden’ at last.  Can you believe how much everything has shot up?  I know there are still some blank spaces but it takes time for a garden to mesh together.  The grasses are glorious and create some movement. 

new-garden-nov-30th

It’s November 30th and the months have wreaked havoc on my summer garden.  The grasses are yellow, the bed is full of leaves and the blooms are gone.  But it was glorious while it lasted.  Wasn’t that fun watching my garden evolve over the past 6 months?  Thanks Tina for the idea.  She gave me the idea with her post about a year in her Perennial Garden which you can read here.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Racquel, lovely photo suite, it is such a good idea to follow your garden a year from one point and to see it grow and progress. Very nice / xoxo Tyra

    Hi Tyra, glad you enjoyed my post today. 🙂

    Reply

  2. So lovely to look back on a garden’s progress, Racquel. There’s nothing better than to watch the space filling out with growth. I enjoyed going through Tina’s post and yours too! The July and Sept pics are really beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the progression of the garden Kanak! 🙂 Thank you!

    Reply

  3. It is really amazing how fast everything grows! You don’t really see it until you chronicle it like you have. What a great idea!

    Isn’t it though, I couldn’t get over it myself when I looked at the pictures. Thanks Cindy!

    Reply

  4. What a great idea, I never think to take any before, during and after pictures. I am envious of anyone who has room to put in a new garden. I have filled my whole yard, and now any new space is taken from the city property (not without its risks).

    Thank you Les, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Blogging has helped me with remembering to take more pictures. I bet your yard is amazing filled with plants! As my boys have gotten older I’ve been able to use up more space in the yard. I’m sure that is risky creeping into the city property.

    Reply

  5. It looks great! It has changed so much and I did definitely see the possibilities in the before picture. I’m with Les-it is so fun and good when you have room to put in new gardens. Yours is wonderful. And thanks for the link:) Glad you did this post as they are so fun for the blogger and reader. Have a super great day. I’ll be in the garden myself and finally putting up the Christmas tree. Yup, I am a procrastinator-I mean it is not in the garden now is it?☺

    Thanks Tina! I’m glad you like it and saw the same possibilities I did. 🙂 I still have room to grow with my gardens with is nice. I’ve added to them over the years as my boys have grown. You are welcome for the link. It was a fun post & thanks for inspiring me to do it. Hope you got that tree up you procrastinator, lol. I know what you mean though, I’d rather be in the garden than any other place too.

    Reply

  6. Great job! It sure does take time for a garden of any size to mesh together.

    Thanks Darla, yep it takes time for a garden to mature and mesh together like you said. 🙂

    Reply

  7. What fun, Racquel! The birdbath is looking so much more comfortable with the new plants around it. I love the annual progress idea. Good post!

    Thanks Sunita, it was fun doing this post. I love my new birdbath in the new garden. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Racquel,

    Amazing transformation! That’s what’s so enjoyable about gardening. We start with challenges of bare ground or overgrown weeds and make a beautiful oasis.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron! I agree it is one of my favorite parts of gardening, creating new spaces and watching them grow! 🙂

    Reply

  9. It ended up looking really nice! The retrospective before and after posts are fun to look at. I’ll need to see if I can do the same.

    Thank you Dave. 🙂 It was a fun post to create and I’m glad it was fun for you too! Look forward to seeing your before & after post soon.

    Reply

  10. I enjoyed myself tremendously watching your garden evolve. It always looks so funny at first until the plants start filling in. It really turned out great!

    I’m afraid my beds look like yours now; very full of leaves.

    I’m glad you enjoyed yourself Susie! 🙂 You don’t realize how small the plants are until you look back at the before shots. They can grow so much in one season. Yep the leaves will be their thing until spring. lol

    Reply

  11. I really enjoy seeing a series of photos showing a changing garden. Your shots show how pleasing it is to transform a new area into a lovely garden spot. Isn’t it satisfying to look back now and see the progress? It’s fun to imagine what it will look like next year as the plantings mature and fill in. It’s that fourth dimension of time that makes gardening such an intricate changing art.

    Thanks NS, I enjoyed putting this post together yesterday. 🙂 It was interesting to see how much the garden evolved over a period of months so quickly & dramatically. Next season it will be even better. Promise to keep everyone updated on the progress of this new garden.

    Reply

  12. It is interesting to see a border develop – and you have still got the pleasure of filling in the spaces!

    Yep and I think there are still a few spots to tuck things in next season. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  13. I love seeing the before and after pictures.
    Isn’t it amazing how fast things grow in just a single season?
    I’ll bet in a few years it will look like it’s been there for 50 years.

    Thanks Granny Miller! I was just amazed at how rapidly the plants grew in just a few months time. Wouldn’t that be something if it attained that maturity in just a few years to look like it had been there forever!

    Reply

  14. Thanks for showing the gardens progression. Very nice.

    You are quite welcome Deb! 🙂

    Reply

  15. What I like best about New Garden is the starting point — the hanging baskets on the shed. What a great idea! There was a time I would’ve thought that couldn’t be done.
    I have a metal shed that I wanted a vine to cover. It needed lattice to climb, and I thought I was SO clever buying industrial-strength Velcro patches to attach the lattice to the shed. (I feared bolts in the walls wouldn’t be so good for all the camping gear and bikes we had stored inside, given the rain we get in Florida. Plus, I could do it myself and not have to ask my husband for help.)
    Industrial strength, my foot! That Velcro was weeny! The vine grew great. But the weight of it, coupled with some rain, turned my big idea to mud.
    So I asked my husband for help (sometimes you gotta). He hung the lattice with self-tapping screws and used washers to help keep the shed waterproof. The lattice is now sturdy and the vine is a climbing fool. All I need to do is get a ladder out there and flip it over the roof. Soon, no one will know I have a metal shed!

    Thanks Penny! I treated that shed wall like a wall in my house and I really like it. Glad you liked my starting off point as well. Yep sometimes you just gotta get hubby involved with those kind of projects. I’m the dreamer & planner and hubby makes it come to life. He has built me all kinds of stuff to make my gardening experience even better. He’s not a gardener but he is my hardscaper you could say. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I love to see progressions like this…one day I will have to put up a series of some of our gardens through the seasons. The grasses make for some good interest in the fall. It is also nice to see how one spot can change so much in a season…can’t wait to see it next year!

    Reply

  17. I love before & after photos, thanks for sharing them. This garden looks great already & is only going to get better.

    Reply

  18. Hi, Racquel–I’m in AZ and catching up with my reading. Like everyone else, I love seeing the progress of a garden–and it’s great that you share what you’ve planted (don’t you hate those lovely borders in magazines where you have to guess what plants they’ve used)? Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed all your posts this week–especially the two on that fabulous moon! I hope you’re staying warm, and I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas.

    Reply

  19. I just love to see the progression of a new bed! Wonderful! Looking at all this gives me great ideas.

    Reply

  20. Great photo essay on your garden bed, Racquel. Your plants have filled out nicely and I’m sure they will look even better after another season. Hopefully there are more photo instalments planned?

    Have a very Merry Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

