Celebration in Lights

celebration-in-lights-015

Tonight we took my Grandparents to see the  Celebration in Lights, Virginia’s first drive thru Christmas light show.  This event has been going on for the past 16 years and my family has made a tradition of visiting a couple of times each season.  It opens on Thanksgiving Day and runs through New Year’s Day each year.  We will make our next trip Christmas Eve with the boys and then come home to cookies, eggnog & presents!   Here is a slideshow I put together of some of the great displays they had this year.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Oh that is a wonderful display of Christmas lights. I bet your grandparents enjoyed it much! Do they play Christmas music while you drive by?

    I love how you posted it outlined with that adorable snowman.

    Thanks Susie. 🙂 They really did enjoy it. It’s been a couple of years since we took them so they were amazed. No but they tell you what channel you can tune your radio to on AM to listen to holiday music. I’m glad you liked my little snowman frame. Slideshow is such a fun way to display photos & they have a variety of effects & music you can choose from.

    Reply

  2. Glad you had fun.

    We haven’t done that in years (boys are grown). I don’t even know if there is still a drive-through lights display nearby anymore.

    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron, we did have fun. We enjoy it even though our boys are no longer boys but young men. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ohhh… that looks lovely! Whoever designed it, did a great job. But I’m surprised at the palm trees up in lights 🙂

    Thanks Sunita. They do a great job every year. The Palm Tree in lights is a nice surprise. 😉

    Reply

  4. What a lot of fun you’ve had…and your grandparents did, too. The light display is lovely.

    Thanks Gail, it was a nice time for all. 🙂

    Reply

  5. This looks fun! Your slideshows are great Racquel. They all give your blog such a unique and special look.

    It was fun Tina. Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow. It was fun creating it too! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Racquel, how delightful! I wish we had something like this close to us. The grand kids would love it too. Happy Holidays!

    Hi Beckie, it is a wonderful experience for old & young alike. Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  7. Very pretty lights. We have one here in Pittsburgh that we plan to go to soon. I’m excited to see how Lillian likes them.

    Thanks Cindy, I’m sure Lillian will be in awe of the beautiful lights when you take her. 🙂 Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  8. Wow! What some beautiful lights. Sounds like fun evening for all!

    Thanks Darla, it was a fun evening for everyone. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Love the ship and lighthouse, how appropriate for Newport News … 🙂

    Thanks Mom, it is pretty appropriate for our area. Very nautical. 🙂

    Reply

  10. What fun Racquel! When I was a kid my parents used to take a couple of evenings to drive us all around in the station wagon to see the lights, and that tradition continued with my kids. I haven’t done it since they’ve all grown up. It would be fun to check out some of the displays the neighbborhoods in our town put on.

    Thanks Linda! We used to do the same thing when I was a kid too. The fancier neighborhoods always had the biggest & brightest displays then. I’ve noticed the past few years in my area that there are less house decorated for the holidays. Such a shame, but I guess with the economy it is a luxury at best.

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel, what a fun show. I’m sure your grandparents enjoyed it, how wonderful you still have them! I was trying to pick a favorite, but couldn’t, but some of them kind of cracked me up, was that Columbus with the flag?

    Frances

    Hi Frances, they enjoyed it very much. I am blessed to have so much family to celebrate the holidays with each year. 🙂 Some of them are a bit off the wall. lol That was Christopher Newport with the flag. Our town was named after him. He was a Captain of the Susan Constant. A bit of history there for you.

    Reply

  12. We used to have a great parade in the cities. I wish I could say that I took the kids to it, but I don’t enjoy standing out in freezing cold weather. Would showing it to my kids on tv count as “bringing” them? I bet your celebration is a bit warmer than the one we have the option of going to.

    Christmas Parades are great but it can be quite uncomfortable standing out in the elements to watch them. I would think so Cinj, we enjoy the Macy’s Parade on TV each Thanksgiving. It’s the same thing right? Well we get to stay in the car with the heater on, so yep much warmer. 🙂

    Reply

  13. What a beautiful show Racquel. The presentation is unique too!

    Thank you Kanak. I’m glad you enjoyed the show & presentation today. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Merry Christmas, Racquel! Those lights are gorgeous. I’m sure you all had a wonderful time! Jan

    Merry Christmas to you Jan! Thanks, we had a great time. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Racquel !! What a great way to post this girl ! .. I bet the grandparents enjoyed it too. It has to put everyone in a festive mood for sure : ) … We are under a bunch of snow here as per usual ? haha

    Thanks Joy! Tis the season to be jolly isn’t it. Glad I was able to up your festive mood today. 😉 Brrr…snuggle down in those covers today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

