December Blooms – GBBD

Welcome to Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day December 15, 2008.  The blooms are few this month and these have been lingering since November.  The Solidago ‘Fireworks’  is actually pushing out a few small blooms now which is unusual.  Knockout has been a diehard bloomer all season long and the Clematis ‘Niobe’ is still producing buds inspite of our cold spells.  To see more GBBD posts or to join in this month please visit  Carol at May Dreams Gardens.

30 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! Beautiful set of blooms and great display. The mums still look spectacular!

    Reply

  2. Amazing how some flowers keep hanging on as long as possible. Perhaps they don’t realise it’s winter!

    Reply

  3. The Solidago is blooming still? Can’t wait to plant those seeds and have blooms!! 🙂
    Love the knockout rose!

    Reply

  4. You still have some plants with self motivation! Great post.

    Reply

  5. Hard to believe that clematis is still producing blooms! You obviously got your moneys worth with that plant.

    Reply

  6. These plants just are not going to give up the growing season, those mums! Wowee!

    Frances

    Reply

  7. Your violas are lovely! Your KO rose must be sheltered to still bloom! Very pretty! I have buds on mine KOs, but I doubt they will bloom.

    What a big bouquet of mums!

    Cameron

    Reply

  8. You’ve got me beat! You have quite a few bloomers. That rose looks good!

    Reply

  9. What a pretty rose. I love violas, one of my favorites. I always have them in the spring. Are you getting this cold snap? It’s absolutely frigid here.
    Marnie

    Reply

  10. Hiya Raquel,

    You can go off people, having so much colour out in mid-winter when others are scraping the barrel and have to resort to the past 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hi Raquel! I think this must be my first visit as your garden doesn’t look familiar. Lucky to have so much color still. Thanks for stopping by my post — I’m having trouble with my comments so I wanted to be sure to say hi.

    Reply

  12. That’s not bad for December – plenty of beatiful blooms, refusing to give in.
    Katarina

    Reply

  13. Raquel…it’s funny how we can both be in Virginia but have such different garden-life right now! You have so much color, and literal flowers. Mine: NOTHING! That shows the difference between the north and the south! I like the assortment and the colors. Jan

    Reply

  14. Wait, what? You still have a rose blooming this time of year? That really *is* a knockout! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Lovely winter blooms! Especially the rose and the viola, brightening up this cold grey month!

    Reply

  16. How amazing Racquel – It doesn’t look like mid December in your garden at all!
    K

    Reply

  17. Racquel I left you a new award on my blog. Please do not feel like you have to participate. I just think you are very worthy of this award.

    Reply

  18. Posted by tina on December 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Pretty great bunch of blooms! I love that yellow viola. My favorite for sure. So sunny.

    Reply

  19. Racquel, Clematis still blooming…you lucky gardener! So many lovely smiling flowers! Gail

    Reply

  20. Hi Racquel, how nice to still have colors to cheer you on in the month of December! Happy GBBD!
    Meems @ Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  21. Wow, Racquel, you have some microclimate going on! My KO and clematis are long over, and–well–you know what happened to the pansies and the tiny violas. Are you gardening today? I’m so resentful that I have to WORK.

    Reply

  22. You have so many things still blooming! Niobe has been quite a workhorse for you. And what’s with that Solidago? Did someone forget to tell it that autumn is over?

    Reply

  23. You have some good looking flowers still! It’s 2 degrees F. here right now, and I have nothing blooming outside. I am so looking forward to the days getting longer again!

    Reply

  24. Posted by spookydragonfly on December 16, 2008 at 5:19 am

    I agree with the above comment…does your garden know it’s December?! Very pretty display of your blooms!

    Reply

  25. I LOVE that yellow viola. Such pure, sunshiney color!

    Reply

  26. Posted by Racquel on December 16, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Thanks everyone for your nice comments.

    Reply

  27. I’m amazed at all you have still blooming, especially the clematis–you must not have had a hard freeze yet. Even my tough plants like the Knockout Rose have given up for the year.

    Reply

  28. Amazing the number of blossoms you still have in your Dec. garden!
    A refreshing break from the grey winter weather here in my world! 🙂 NG

    Reply

  29. Wow, you lucky gal! For December, I’m amazed!

    Reply

  30. It’s nice to see some actual blooms in gardens in December. I knew it wasn’t ‘winter’ everywhere! Thanks for joining in for bloom day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

