Salute to Evergreens

What would we do without evergreens in the garden at this time of the year.  Those of us that live in temperate climates need evergreens for some color and structure year round.   So here is my tribute to the evergreens in my garden.  That small bit of green to look at on a cold day keeps me going through the wintery days of December, January and February.  Perennials, groundcovers, shrubs or trees.  We take you for granted in the glorious days of summer when the blooms are the main source of our attention.  But you will be the center of attention as soon as the temperature drops and the flowers have faded away for another season.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Good morning Racquel, yes a big salute, they are very valuable both for colour and structure. You have plenty lovely ones in your garden, you show as twelve! I wonder how many I have, I must have look, it is to few that I know. Please Racquel tell me more about elfin-thyme.
    Tyra xo

    Good afternoon Tyra. 🙂 Thank you so much. I think I might have a few more too that were overlooked. Here is some more info on Elfin Thyme: Hardiness: Sunset zones: All. USDA zones: 4-8. Heat zones: 9-1.
    Mature size: Height: 1-2 inches (3-5 cm). Width: 4-8 inches (10-20 cm).
    Flowering period: Summer.
    Flowering attributes: Tiny, purple, lavender or pink flowers.
    Leaf attributes: Glossy, green fragrant leaves.
    Light: Full sun-part sun.
    Soil: Well-drained, neutral soil.
    Feeding: Fertilizing is not necessary.
    Propagation Methods: Divide in spring or early fall

    Reply

  2. I have tried really hard to remember that with my new home. I hope mine double in size by next winter as it looks pretty bare out there right now. We need good bones for our home don’t we?

    They will fill in and give your garden that maturity you are looking for Anna. Yep we do need good bones for our home & garden! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel, I do tend to take my evergreens for granted. But they are the work horses of the garden. In the winter, as you say, they bright spots and in the other seasons they provide a great backdrop to the flowers. Yours certainly show up very well. I love the red berries against the green and those lovely bronze leaves.

    I think we all do in the spring & summer months Beckie. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. A beautiful tribute to evergreens, Racquel. I don’t think this thought has ever crossed my mind, not with winters like ours. But it’s a lovely thought…even in our climes we should appreciate them!

    Thank you Kanak! I think they can be appreciated in all climates too. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I’ll toast the evergreens as well! It’s a lot easier for me to see where I need to plant more in the winter, because we do tend to focus on those blooms in the spring/summer. I saw Christmas lights in you first photo, didn’t I? Bet it’s pretty.

    Good for you Darla! They do fill in those gaps left behind by the blooms of spring, summer & fall. Yep those were some net lights on the Euonymous (first photo). 🙂 I prefer the white lights now that my boys are almost grown. They really enjoyed the multi-color ones when they were small. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Hi Racquel, this is a wonderful idea. I cannot figure out how to do smaller photos like that, sigh. There are plenty of perennials that have charming rosettes during winter, you have showcased them nicely, great job!
    Frances

    Hi Frances. Thanks! I sent you an email to give you some tips on creating these gallery of small photos in wordpress.

    Reply

  7. Racquel,

    Good morning! We rely upon evergreens, too.

    Right now, my husband and I each have a Mac on our lap, our coffee by our side, a fire going and we look out on the waterfall that is surrounded by evergreens!

    What companions do you use for your candytuft?

    Hi Cameron, I knew you probably had some good structure in your gardens. Evergreens give the garden bones & maturity. Your waterfall is a great example of this. 🙂 I have miniature daffs, achillea, dutch irises, salvia, sedum autumn joy and jupiters beard as companions. There is always something showing off in this area. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I am really liking that yellow variegated one, but they are all so special this time of the year. A very nice tribute indeed.

    That is a Euonymous Tina. I love variegated foliage in the garden. Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Thanks for the reminder, Racquel. I have focused so much on flowers in the past few years, that I really need to add some evergreen foliage for these dreary winter days.

    The seeds arrived in the mail, by the way, while I was gone–thank you so much! I’m going to wait until after the holidays to send mine out.

    Reply

  10. Racquel what is the plant in the upper right corner(the 4th box)? It looks similar to Rhododendron.

    You were right on with your guess Susie. It is a Rhododendrum!

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel,
    What is the 2nd on the top? Those red berries really caught my eye. I was thinking about the birds that tough it out and stay throughout the winter, but hadn’t given much thought to the wonderful evergreens who are here year round.

    Hi Balisha! That would be the Nandina domestica ‘Umpqua Chief’. It has wonderful fall color & those charming red berries in the winter and early spring. The birds love the berries and do enjoy the coverage that these evergreens provide in the garden.

    Reply

  12. I do love the evergreen rosettes this time of year. My yard would be all brown without juniperus, pjm rhodies and the rosettes of green from ajuga and sedums! Have a good day…hope you get out in the garden! gail

    Me too Gail. Those spots of green do help balance out the browns at this time of the year. Sounds like you have some wonderful evergreens in your garden too. It is pretty chilly here today so we’ll see.

    Reply

  13. You make such a good point to not overlook our green friends. How much they are appreciated now, when spring and summer’s blooms are gone and autumn’s finery faded.

    Thanks Cindy. Yep they do get taken for granted all season long until the cold of winter sends their companions to bed for a long nap.

    Reply

  14. I agree!!!! We need those evergreens for winter color. I love hollies–they are my favorties.
    Your pictures are so good–you really have a talent at blogging! 🙂

    Yep Hollies are another great evergreen that are taken for granted. But I’ve been noticing how nice they look in December with their shiny dark green leaves & bright red berries. Very festive for the season! Thanks Linda, I appreciate the compliment. Have a good weekend. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Hi, Racquel–I was just out pulling leaves off the penstemon and the smaller conifers–this time of year, I wish I’d planted twice as many evergreens–but will I remember that in the spring?

    Hi Cosmo, how has your weather been? We had a few warm days this week but today was chilly. I didn’t do much outside, just took a quick stroll. I hope you remember in the spring, I’ll try to remind you. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Evergreens are another essential element to the landscape that I need more of in my garden. A nandina, a few yews, 2 mugo pines and some bird’s nest spruces provide our green in the winter. I definitely need more!’

    There are perennials that have beautiful evergreen foliage too Dave. Ground covers are a wonderful example of this versatility. 🙂 Looks like you have a nice assortment of Evergreens too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

