Skywatch Friday

sunset1

My son captured this sunset on his cellphone Wednesday evening.  I was driving and of course didn’t have my camera with me.  Traffic was backed up due to an accident and I happened to gaze up and was amazed at the color of the sky. 

sunsets-skies-004

Here’s the sun setting yesterday.  This photo was captured from my backyard. 

sunsets-skies-001

This was taken yesterday as well, but looks so different because of the trees.  It almost looks as if the trees are on fire!

sunsets-skies-003

While to the east the sky was still a beautiful shade of blue.   The trees make a nice shadow like contrast at dusk.  This was my first time participating in Skywatch Friday.  To see other participants or to join in this week please visit  skyley.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Fascinating pictures! It’s amazing how sunsets can create that surreal look on one side and the other part remains unaffected by all that display. Your son got a great shot with the first picture.

    Thanks Kanak! They do look unreal when one part of the sky is so colorful and the opposite is just blue with a few stray clouds. Thanks, I’ll let him know. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by spookydragonfly on December 5, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Great captures of the sunset, Racquel. I really enjoy the top photo of the clouds with the different shades of coloring!

    Thanks Spooky! I really like that picture too, the orange of the sun reflecting off those clouds was amazing!

    Reply

  3. Very nice, that one the trees do look like they are on fire.

    Thanks Darla. It does look like a small forest fire from afar.

    Reply

  4. I love the winter sky…very nicebut the last photo really speaks to me! Gail

    Me too Gail. It seems more interesting at this time of the year. Maybe we just notice it more since the garden isn’t there to distract us. 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Beautiful skies! I love the one that looks “on fire” I believe that is my favorite. We can have some pretty sunsets here–isn’t it a shame we don’t usually have time to stop and enjoy this spetacular show?
    Have a wonderful weekend Racquel.

    Thanks Linda. I’m glad you enjoyed my sky photos today especially the “on fire” one. It is a shame we don’t take time to appreciate this natural beauty. Have a good weekend!

    Reply

  6. I love to watch the sky, too. It’s one of those activities that helps us to stop, slow down and enjoy our world.

    Thanks for posting your pretty photos.

    Cameron

    You are welcome Cameron. We all need to take time to enjoy the simple things all around us. 🙂

    Reply

  7. The sunsets of winter seem more vibrant. I suppose because all below is so bleak in color.Great photos!

    That’s exactly what I was thinking Beckie. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  8. I like the trees on fire picture the best! Nice pictures.

    Thank you Susie. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

    Reply

  9. Great skywatch shots!

    I love the sweet autumn clematis in the previous post. I have two and just love them.
    Marnie

    Thank you Marnie! It is one of my favorite plants too Marnie. I have just the one, but it is a monster size plant. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Thank goodness for teenaged sons and their cellphones-good job to him and you!

    Isn’t that the truth Tina. My cellphone doesn’t have that feature, it is just a basic phone. Thanks, I will let him know! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Wow, those trees really do look like they’re on fire. The sky can reveal such wonderful and amazing things to us. In early morning and late afternoons it can reveal lots of surprises to us.

    They really did look that way to me too Cinj! I always miss the sunrise so it was nice to capture a few sunsets. 🙂

    Reply

  12. What great pics! I love the “blazing trees” one 🙂

    Thanks Mom, glad you enjoyed them today! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Great sky pictures. I especially like the first one. The pinks and blues are so pretty.

    Thank you Cindy. Glad you enjoyed them!

    Reply

  14. Beautiful! I always enjoying seeing how quickly the sky can change throughout the day.

    Thanks Amy. I do too! 🙂

    Reply

  15. What a beautiful series! Happy SWF!

    Thank you Gretchen!

    Reply

  16. Please tell me, am I in a new home, Racquel? Love these photos!

    Hi Joey, yep I changed my layout again…lol. I hope you like it! I really like the way my photos pop on this dark background. Thank you!

    Reply

  17. Awesome sky photos! You’ll get hooked on this! I love it!

    Thanks Sue! I really enjoy taking pics of the sky so I think you may be right, lol.

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel, so wonderful is the winter sky, and teenaged sons, although mine are much older now! I am finding the silhouettes of the leafless trees against the horizon to be fascinating! One could do a whole series of those. Yours are fabulous.
    Frances

    Hi Frances. Do you think we notice the sky more in the winter since it has nothing to compete with in the garden? I love the bare trees against the sky, they are so solemn. I know I could take pictures of the sky all day. I’m glad you enjoyed my series today. 🙂

    Reply

  19. I forgot to say, how do you feel about wordpress changing the whole set up on us? Have to relearn how to answer the comments and do everything else! Just complaining a little here. 🙂

    Frances

    It took a little adjustment at first, but I really like the new format better. It is actually more user friendly once you get used to it. I think you will end up really liking it Frances. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Racquel what gorgeous pictures of those clouds and sky .. I always seem to be the last in the pack to get over and see how you are doing and leave a comment. I love the clouds especially .. I’m a cloud hugger ?? LOL .. they just fascinate me .. and these are beauties !!

    Reply

  21. That first one your son caught has cool colors and interesting clouds. Can we even remember when there were not photo taking capabilities on a cell phone? Boggles my (older than a teenager) mind. Happy New Year

    Reply

Leave a Reply

