Deck the halls

xmas-treeThis holiday weekend was the perfect opportunity to pull out the Christmas decorations.  After being married for 20 years you start to realize how much stuff you can accumulate in that time span, which is a lot!  Since this has always been my favorite holiday I have collected enough to fill eight large storage containers.  People that know me well would be shocked because by nature I am the opposite of a packrat! But since most of these things are family heirlooms handed down or trinkets my boys made for me over the years it is different than just holding on to stuff.  My treasures are priceless because of the memories they hold for our family.  Decorating the mantle has always been my creative endeavor mantlefor the year. Hanging the boys stockings that were made by my grandmother years ago is still fun even though they are long past the Santa days now.  This year we added stockings for the family pets which I found on clearance at the pet store last January.  I wrote their names on them with glitter pens which was less messier than the old days of Elmer’s glue & glitter.  🙂  We also added a stocking for my eldest son’s girlfriend with her name since she is real fixture in our household too.   Now I need to start wrapping the presents to put under the tree and planning my meal.  The boys use to enjoy making cookies with me but they’ve outgrown that tradition.  Did you deck the halls this past weekend?

Christmas is forever, not for just one day,
for loving, sharing, giving, are not to put away
like bells and lights and tinsel, in some box upon a shelf.
The good you do for others is good you do yourself…
~Norman Wesley Brooks

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on December 1, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Like the poem, it should be that way and I hope it is for your family! I am just not quite ready for the whole hoopla to begin… still getting back to life after the Thanksgiving vacation. Maybe next weekend we’ll get our tree and wreaths and then I will feel more festive!

    Thanks Karen, I hope I have passed that down to my boys. I figure I would rather enjoy the hoopla a little longer. 🙂 Once you get the tree up it’s hard to not feel festive.

    Reply

  2. Hello there PG !
    The tree and stockings look beautiful .. and our cats have their own stockings too : )
    I have to admit to doing nothing yet .. I’m waiting for hubby to be home Thursday. Then I will panic about getting it all done ASAP !
    We do have worries with Emma and the tree .. and the decorations .. she takes everything apart and brings various pieces back to us for approval ? .. she is like a raccoon and a dog ! LOL
    I have been married a long time .. but we have moves so many times that “clear outs” happened with each move .. so we trim down what we have .. but still seem to have more than enough !
    Ho Ho Ho … Santa is coming this month : )

    Hi Joy! Thank you! I knew you of all people would understand the stockings for the four-legged members of the family. 🙂 Don’t panic yet, you still have some time, lol. I guess your Emma really makes Christmas an adventure. That is too funny. My cat loves to sit and stare at the tree, but no messing with it so far. He meows if I turn the lights off though, lol I know what you mean, I have actually gone through stuff a couple of times over the past 20 years and donated alot to charity. 🙂 Yep, you better watch out, you better not cry…Santa Claus is coming to town!

    Reply

  3. Hi there…We haven’t done much for the holidays…I will this weekend….it is easy to move away from decorating when there are just two folks left at home. I am hoping all my blogging friends will help me embrace the holiday spirit! gail

    Hi Gail. I’m sure it is easier to move away from the decorating once you become empty nesters. The older my boys have gotten the less we do too. They are both in mid-late teens now so we don’t go all out anymore. Children really make the holidays special. 🙂 Embrace the holiday spirit!

    Reply

  4. Hello ! No decorating at my house yet. I am in the process of cleaning it first – LOL! But I did get the fall decorations put away, the first step. I love sentimental decorations the best. They bring back such wonderful memories.

    Hi Cindy, well you just got back to town so I figured you might still be trying to recover from the holiday. 🙂 Cleaning it first is good, lol. I didn’t put up any fall decor this year, got alittle lazy I guess. 🙂 You’re right the sentimental trinkets do bring back happy memories of years gone by when my boys were actually little boys.

    Reply

  5. I hope to find time to make some new decorations. Something simple and natural.
    Marnie

    That sounds like a fun idea Marnie. I hope you post pictures of them if you find the time. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Love the gray background and new look. I did not deck the halls. Still working in the garden:( Yours are lovely and now done-ready for Christmas.

    Thanks Tina, I like it too. It makes my photos really stand out. You are still working on that December list huh? 🙂

    Reply

  7. Oh my, YES! I love decking the halls for Christmas too Racquel!!! It’s my favorite time of year (if I can’t have endless summer). I love your new blog header. I think I must just now be noticing this or you are getting very creative?! I’m glad your decked out and ready! Let the fun begin…. 🙂

    Sounds like we both are crazy about Christmas! 🙂 Thanks Kathleen, actually I just changed it today so you didn’t overlook it before. lol Yep tis the season to be jolly!

    Reply

  8. Racquel I like your new header and your darker background. I have already been decorating as well. We put the tree up before Thanksgiving but I decorated it Saturday. My honey doesn’t get into decorating much. I too have the stockings hung by the fireplace. We made these stockings for each other before we were married. We both surprised each other with them.

    Thanks Susie. I’m glad you like the new header/background! We started getting into the tradition of putting the tree up the day after Thanksgiving a few years back. It gives us more time to enjoy it! Sounds like you’ve been busy decking the halls too. 🙂 My hubby doesn’t do the decorating part but does hang the outside lights for me. How sweet that you guys made each other stockings! I also have some that my hubby’s grandmother knitted for the boys when they were young. They are candy cane striped with one being red & white and the other green & white. 🙂

    Reply

  9. What a lovely tree … no decking around here, maybe a wreath or two 🙂

    Well that is decorative too Mom! 🙂 Thank you, it is plum full of ornaments! lol

    Reply

  10. Hi Racquel, your tree looks great as well as the mantel. We always buy a cut tree, so don’t like to get it up too early to avoid the shedding that is inevitable. I am not ready to embrace Christmas yet, Thanksgiving is the big deal holiday for me and I am still recovering from that. We will be traveling to visit the various offspring on Christmas, so I am a bit of a Scrooge. I do miss the old days when the kids were younger and all at home, we went all out decorating!
    Frances

    Hi Frances, we have an artificial one because of my youngest son’s allergies. But that is okay. It is economical too! 🙂 Sounds like you will have a busy Christmas season visiting the offspring. Mine are as grown as yours but I too miss the days when they were still believing in Santa! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Your decorations look really nice and I like those borders on your photos. I find that I can’t really start dragging stuff out until we get the tree. Once the tree is up, out comes the whole shebang. I love to decorate, though, and try to add some new decorations each year. Of course, there’s always something that falls apart and has to be thrown away, too. (Don’t tell my son, but I kinda hope it’s the Spongebob xmas stocking this year!)

    Thanks Jen! Yep you need the tree to make dragging the stuff out worth the while. 🙂 We have an artificial one so it is always on hand. My lips are sealed about Spongebob, lol. We have the same situation here, since my boys are young men now. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today!

    Reply

  12. I started Sat afternoon cleaning and putting up fall..then made it into Christmas Sunday evening. Whew! Why do I do this! 🙂
    Your decorations are so pretty. I hope everyone will post pictures of their Christmas decorations. I love to see the special things people do to decorate. Happy December!

    Looks like you had a busy weekend pulling it down & putting it up Linda. Because like me you are a glutten for punishment, lol 🙂 Thanks, I hope everyone else post some holiday decor too! Happy December!

    Reply

  13. Posted by spookydragonfly on December 1, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Looks like you’ve been busy decking your halls! Very festive! I would have to agree with you, heirlooms and ornaments made by family members are my favorites. I have yet to get moving on decorating for Christmas this year, it just creeped up too fast!

    Yep, Yep! 🙂 Thank you, now it feels more like Christmas with the tree & stockings. Family heirlooms & handmade trinkets melt my heart. I’m sure you will get busy soon, we lost a week between Thanksgiving & Christmas this year that’s why it crept up so fast!

    Reply

  14. I’m working on it! I made some crazy quilt stockings years ago, with embroidery and beads, and finally found them yesterday. They need to be out where I can see them and remember how long it took me to make them. I will certainly then appreciate them more!
    Brenda

    Good for you Brenda! I hope you post pictures of the handmade stockings soon. I’m no whiz with a needle so I always admire anyone who can make neat things.

    Reply

  15. My men did all the work for me. All I had to do was say awwww thank you.

    You are one lucky woman Deb! 🙂 That was very sweet of them to do all the work!

    Reply

  16. Such cute hearth decor! I started putting some things out today. But I decided I was going to do a little bit whenever I feel like it and not stress over it. There’s just too much to put out completely, so I just pick and choose the stuff I like and leave the rest in the storage containers.

    Thanks Cindy! I do the same thing, there is so much stuff that I pick out my favorites to display.

    Reply

  17. Racquel, you are just too organized! 🙂 I still have to clean up from Thanksgiving and granddaughters. Then I need to move furniture around to accomaodate the tree and then go through several totes of decorations. I have accumulated a lot over the years as well and hate to part with any of them. But I just don’t have room to put everything out.

    Your decoration are lovely and mantel looks Christmas Card perfect.

    Thank you Beckie. I try to be organized, it makes things in my life go alittle smoother. 🙂 We had to move our furniture around to accomodate the tree too. We have tons of stuff but I just pick out my favorites now for display.

    Reply

  18. your tree and mantle look pretty. It’s nice to collect ornaments that have meaning especially after your kids are gone. I like the ones with my kids pics on them. So you just keep collecting and enjoying.

    Thank you Anna. 🙂 I feel the same way, one day when they have families of their own maybe I’ll pass them along to display on their trees. My grandmother gave me the ornaments I made as a child and I cherish them.

    Reply

  19. Hi Raqcuel, do you start to decorate for Christmas now? Those Christmas stocking looks very pretty/ Tyra

    Yes I like to enjoy my tree and decorations as long as possible. 🙂 Thank you Tyra.

    Reply

  20. I must say that I’m impressed by how much you’ve done!

    At least I can see the photos today (couldn’t yesterday). We’re experiencing network slowdown on top of my crashed PC problem. I’ve got to figure out how to enlarge the text on the Mac for WordPress comment boxes—it’s teeny tiny! 🙂

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. It took me most of the weekend to sort through all the stuff I have accumulated over the years. Hope you get the computer problems sorted out soon. Wish I could be of some assistance, but I am no guru. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Hi Racquel,
    Very impressed with your fervor for getting things done right away. If I could stay out of the garden I could get lots more done for Christmas… but I’d rather be gardening…. what can I say? I’m slated to get started on my decorations like right now… Must get going in that direction! I did dress up my blog for Christmas. You know first things first. LOL I also have a plan to buy the tree on Thursday. I should be all ready (furniture moved) for it by then. Really like your new header! Have a great day! -Meems

    Hello Meems, yep I was a busy bee this past weekend. And I’m glad I got it all done now. 🙂 I would rather be gardening too, but my garden is asleep for the winter while yours is still going strong! I love your new blog design for Christmas, very festive! Thanks I’m glad you like my new header. Take care!

    Reply

  22. Hi Racquel,
    Your decorations are beautiful. We have decked our “halls” too. I will take some pictures…probably tomorrow and post them. Love your new header, but this comment place is hard for me to see. OLD EYES! LOL

    Hi Balisha, thank you. I look forward to seeing your holiday decorations too. Sorry about the comment section, I don’t use that area so I didn’t notice. See what I can do about it!

    Reply

  23. Hi Racquel, You are really ahead of the game! I am still behind with decorating for the holidays. I just took down Thanksgiving and fall decor, and the Christmas boxes are sitting in the garage, just waiting for me! Now, if I could just get started…that’s the hard part:) I have soooooo much stuff accumulated over the years. Each year I get rid of more and more items, because it is just getting to be more than I enjoy! The family will cut down a tree in 2 weeks and the ornaments will go on then. Take care! Jan

    Hi Jan, I guess I got a good headstart on the season. 🙂 I like to enjoy the season as long as possible since it takes awhile to put it all up each year! Yep I have downsized too over the years to the stuff that really means something to me. Wish we could do a real tree but my son is allergic. The artificial one is cost effective too. Take care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

