Why do I garden?

raindrops on Gladiolus callianthis foliage

raindrops on Gladiolus callianthis foliage

I garden because it nourishes my soul to be part of nature.  When I have a bad day there is no other therapy that can restore my spirit and give me a sense of peace.  Digging in the soil makes everything right with the world again.  Watching something grow that I planted is rewarding and exciting.  Finding new surprises in the garden on my daily strolls gives me great pleasure.  Gardening is more than a hobby, it’s my passion. 

Why do you garden?

(Per the November Newsletter Stuart from Blotanical created a contest where we answer this question with  160 words or less in a post)

21 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel, I love to garden to see the things I planted grow-like you-it never fails to amaze me. I enjoy all the blooms, foilage, and of course all the critters they attract. There is joy in being in a blooming garden when the sun is shinning and the breezes are blowing.

    That sums it up pretty well Beckie. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I love your answer, I was nodding my head in agreement as I read, I feel the same way too.

    I hate to be the one that breaks it to you though ….. it was 160 characters or less!

    Sorry!

    Thanks Zoe, that’s okay. It was my mistake, I was thinking 160 words or less, lol. Stuart already emailed me. 😉

    Reply

  3. Gardening is the love of taking care of beautiful things God created for us. It’s my love of the outdoors, of watching something grow from a tiny seed and my love of making things look a little better because of gardens.

    Very well put Linda! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Making my surroundings better and greener… There’s no greater satisfaction than watching my ‘babies’ grow! Which is why i garden.

    Thanks Kanak, we gardeners have similar reasons for why we garden. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Racquel,

    My grandmother was my influence for a love of gardening (see today’s post on child-friendly plants). Although I’ve gardened for over 30 years, I was working full-time, being a mom and in a hectic commute. Until a few years ago, I just had small “flower beds” to tend because there was so little spare time.

    Three years ago, we built our house with a big garden in mind. Two years ago, I escaped the corporate world by retiring early to regain my health (in a downward spiral, my mitral valve prolapse was causing problems, long story).

    My colleagues couldn’t believe that I was walking away from my job for what I called “peace of mind.” I poured my body and soul into gardening. Gardening has healed me. It’s my therapy, my canvas of creativity and my enjoyment.

    I’m off the heart meds, I can bike or walk 12 miles a day with no problem. I had a few other medical problems that are now gone, too.

    My husband decided to escape the corporate world and retired early this summer. He’s so much healthier (running 10k) and is doing great things with his creative side as well (musician).

    We’ve found that we’re so much happier with this simple life. We didn’t need anymore “things” just our health and happiness — and our gardens and music.

    Thanks,
    Cameron

    My grandmother was an early influence on my gardening addiction too Cameron. 🙂 It’s amazing how many of us realize that simple is better. I’ve never been a materialistic person, my little garden gives me job beyond compare. It sounds like you & hubby made some life changing decisions and are happier & healthier for it. Good for you!

    Reply

  6. Very well put. This is a good time to reflect on the things that bring us joy.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, it is a good time to reflect on our blessings. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Who could put it any better than that!

    Thanks Darla, I knew you would understand completely. 😉

    Reply

  8. I agree with Darla, I don’t think I could answer that question any better than you did. Working in the garden makes me feel very close to God and I enjoy tending to something that he gave us. To me it is like a little miracle every time a little seedling appears from some little hard, round thing that we have stuck in some soil. It may be hard work but it is very rewarding.

    Looks like you were able to add a nice addition to my answer Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  9. It is so great to garden. Not sure I could really say why I garden, just something that is so satisfying and a part of me. Not to mention the feel good hormones gardening releases every single time.

    It is hard to put into words exactly Tina, but you did a good job! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Excellent and ditto for all of us! Gail

    Thank you Gail. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I garden for many of the same reasons you do Racquel. I also love the benefits gardening brings to the natural world around us (birds, bees, butterflies, etc.) I think with all the development today, anything we can do to help them out is positive. 🙂 Great post!

    Thanks Kathleen. Your addition of the wildlife makes a good compliment to my post. 🙂 I guess we all have similar reasons why we garden with a few additions.

    Reply

  12. Great answer! I so agree.

    Thank you MMD! 🙂

    Reply

  13. It gives me a chance to interact directly with nature, an experience that a city dweller such as myself can easily lose out on.

    Great answer on your part Krys! 🙂

    Reply

  14. I think that we all have the love of gardening in common. You can get lost in your own thoughts… while out on your knees. Time just slips away and the result can be something amazing.

    That it does Balisha, that it does. 🙂

    Reply

  15. How true! I’m looking forward to spring, right now, the garden is covered with a foot and a half of snow!

    With all that snow I bet you are looking forward to spring Mary Ann! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Well said, Racquel! I agree with you about gardening nourishing your soul. It’s one of the best ways to de-stress and to find inner peace that I can think of. And to see something you’ve planted grow and bloom–it’s almost like raising a child:)

    Thanks Rose. We seem to have the same reasons for gardening. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Because, like you, it feeds my soul:)

    Great minds think alike Carla! 😉

    Reply

  18. Hmmm…I think I started to garden as part tradition and part desire to be sustainable and productive. I continue to garden to be closer to nature and learn from it. Besides it is great therapy and an excuse to get outside and involved in our environment. You’re right that “hobby” just doesn’t seem an appropriate description.

    I like your reasons too Chris! 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  19. Well Racquel you said it so well. My garden is for my body and soul. I said to my husband this morning ‘ my hands are too clean’ I’m longing to get dirty again 🙂 I have to wait a few week…months! Then it all starts all over again. / Tyra

    Thanks Tyra, there is nothing like getting your hands dirty in the garden! 🙂

    Reply

  20. Racquel, You’ve nailed it in so few words for the gardener in all of us. I would add that I abosolutely cannot be stuck indoors. Something in the deepest part of me draws me outdoors no matter where I am. To be outdoors and garden at the same time … well, that’s just all the more productive. Meems @ Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  21. I think yours was just the right amount of letters/words to answer the question. I love your post, and I feel the way you do about gardening.

    Sue,
    A Corner Garden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

