Unpredictable Skies

clouds-004

Tuesday was a chilly day here in Virginia.  We had a high of 44 but it felt like the 30’s!  Brrrrr….They predicted scattered snow flurries, but I didn’t get any in my neck of the woods.  And I’m okay with that. 🙂   However the clouds had an ominous look to them all day.  I thought they looked interesting against the blue sky.  Needless to say there was no gardening going on at my house.  After the past two days I curled up with 3 (yes 3) cups of hot cocoa and took it easy for a change.

clouds-003

This one kind of reminds me of a face.  You can make just make out the half moon eyes and the open mouth.  Maybe it’s screaming?  Or talking to another cloud?

clouds-001

This one was floating above the building where my son works.  Sorry about the flagpole & lines.  I liked the way it looked with the sun reflecting behind it.clouds-002

Doesn’t this patch of clouds kind of resemble a smoke stack?  The sky looks so blue and pretty here.  Don’t let it deceive you, it was a cold day!

30 responses to this post.

  1. I love the sky and these photos are excellent! I bet it was cold…it is cold here! gail

    Thanks Gail! It is so cold here my teeth are chattering. 😉

    Reply

  2. Three cups of hot cocoa sounds really good!

    That they were Tina, today I might need some hot cider to warm my bones. 😉

    Reply

  3. Nice shapes! Cloud shapes can be really interesting- even the foreboding ones!

    Thanks Kanak. I was thrilled to capture these beautiful shapes on camera.

    Reply

  4. Posted by greenwalks on November 19, 2008 at 2:08 am

    I actually like the one with the flagpole and other thing – looks like someone’s fishing for cloudfish or something! Nice to hear that you took a break – I was starting to wonder if you ever did that! 🙂

    Thanks Karen. Now that you pointed that out it does give the photo another perspective. 😉 I did need a break & my body let me know yesterday because I was sick!

    Reply

  5. My granddaughters and I look for shapes in the clouds. I am always amazed at what they see. Glad to know you stayed in and took a break today. 3 cups of cocoa is just fine. After all your work this fall, you deserved them.

    What a fun activity to share with your granddaughters. I remember laying in the grass as a kid & looking at the clouds. 🙂 Thanks Beckie I needed the rest.

    Reply

  6. beautiful. I have noticed that some of the prettiest skies are on the coldest days.

    I never thought about that Darla, but you are absolutely right. 🙂

    Reply

  7. It is hot cocoa weather isn’t it. On days like this I only venture out to feed the birds and hurry back in.

    Yep it sure is and hot cider is another cold weather fave of mine. 🙂 I am only venturing out for the birds too & a couple of pics. 😉

    Reply

  8. Beautiful sky shots Racquel. I’m with Greenwalks – I like the photo with the flagpole and stuff. The lines and angles add interest. The flag tells its own little story about breezes and adds life to the composition. Keep Warm!

    Thanks Linda! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Thanks for making me look at that picture w/the flagpole & lines differently. 😉

    Reply

  9. Beautiful pictures Racquel. It looks like it’s a warm sunny day, but sounds like you were right where you should be–inside–with those temps! Brrrr!

    Thanks Linda. The sky can be quite deceiving on cold days. Brrr is right! 😉

    Reply

  10. You can have some of our snow 🙂 Actually we were lucky, most of the heavier accumulations went east and west of us.

    Great sky pics!

    Thanks for the offer Mom, but I’ll pass. lol

    Reply

  11. Sounds like you had a great day to me Racquel! There is nothing wrong with cloud watching and cocoa drinking. Enjoyed the clouds. That one does look like he is talking to another cloud. Or he could have been hollaring at you so you would notice him. You never know about those sneaky little clouds. hehe

    It was a nice relaxing day Susie. They do look like they are calling attention to themselves don’t they, lol

    Reply

  12. Hi, great pictures. Get a copy of ‘ The Clodspotters Guide’ by Gavin Pretor-Pinney It’s a great read and you will spend your life looking up once you have read it.

    Gary

    Thanks for the tip about the Cloudspotters Guide Gary! I might have to invest in that! 😉

    Reply

  13. Beautiful skies! Clouds unleash the imagination in everyone.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, they do seem to bring out our inner child! 🙂

    Reply

  14. The creative juices really come forth when gazing at clouds. I can find all kinds of odd intangibles in those billowy shapes! It’s cold today here too so far. Not even forty degrees yet. But it will warm up. It’s early morning. Feeling a bit like winter!
    Brenda

    That they do Brenda! I was sitting in the car waiting for my son & just couldn’t resist taking these photos. 😉 It is definitely winter here now Brenda.

    Reply

  15. Burr…44 degrees. Sure you don’t live in NJ ?
    Clouds are always amazing to look at…a place of tranquility.

    Nope Patsi, I don’t! lol It is unusual for us to get so cold this early but every year varies. They do inspire tranquilty!

    Reply

  16. You were having a complete opposite day from us ~ we were unseasonably warm. I feel lucky now. I used to love laying on the grass when I was a kid and looking at the clouds/sky kind of like you’ve done with your photos. I think we could all use more of that. Stay warm!!

    Isn’t that weird Kathleen. I use to love doing the same thing. Me & my brother could do that for hours on end. 😉

    Reply

  17. Hot chocolate – the ultimate comfort drink – and lovely to hold in cold weather. I’m off to make a cup!

    Yes it is, that or Hot spiced apple cider! Yum! 😉 Enjoy a cup!

    Reply

  18. What beautiful shapes that the clouds have made. So pretty!

    Thanks DP, I thought they were extra pretty!

    Reply

  19. Lovely photos of the clouds–the last ones don’t look quite so ominous:) We actually had a fairly pleasant day today with temps in the low 50’s. But Wednesday is my “day out” for Tai Chi and other activities, so I didn’t get anything done outside. Tomorrow night it’s supposed to dip into the teens–I’m not raking in that kind of weather!

    Thank you Rose. Nope that was what made them so unpredictable. They started out Ominous & got friendlier! 🙂 I don’t blame you, I wouldn’t be raking leaves in the teens either!

    Reply

  20. Posted by Racquel on November 19, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I’m feeling alittle under the weather today and that’s why I havent’ responded to your comments yet.

    Reply

  21. Beautiful, prod-the-imagination clouds! I think the one with the face is possibly singing. Maybe its serenading the flowers in your garden!

    Thank you Sunita. 🙂 That’s a nice thought, serenading my flowers sounds better than yelling at another cloud! 😉

    Reply

  22. Hope you’re feeling better, Racquel. Yeah, we’ve gone from unseasonably warm to unseasonably cold in just a couple of days. I saw a few flurries on Tuesday, and I waited until noon yesterday to walk Ranunculus and he still froze his little tail off! Stay warm and get well.

    Thanks Cosmo, I am feeling a bit better today. I’m keeping warm & drinking lots of hot cider. It keeps my sinuses clear. The weather has really dropped fast & I’m not liking the cold. Poor Ranunculus, hope he’s okay now.

    Reply

  23. Awww, the clouds look so nice and blue. All this week we have had grey upon grey upon grey…Boring. I am glad though that you got to see some nice “blue” skies!

    Thanks Zach. The grey skies can be quite bleak in the winter months, I’m glad I have some blue skies still.

    Reply

  24. Your camera does a really nice job capturing the blue of the sky. I love to ‘cloud gaze’. Pick out shapes. Ooooh, hot cocoa. I’ll join you in a cup.
    Marnie

    Why thank you Marnie! 😉 Me too, the sky was quite lively that day! I’ll pour you a cup of cocoa Marnie! Sit down & enjoy…

    Reply

  25. Racquel, I knew something was up. Hope you get to feeling better.

    Thanks Susie, I guess when I miss a day of blogging people notice. 😉 Thanks I’m feeling a bit more like myself today. 🙂

    Reply

  26. Fabulous cloud pictures Racquel.
    Three cups of cocoa! Yummey
    K

    Thanks Karen, I enjoyed your sunset pictures too, beautiful!

    Reply

  27. Yup! Those ominous clouds definitely DO make it a 3 cup-o-cocoa kinda day!

    Thanks Cindy! My favorite season, cocoa season! 🙂

    Reply

  28. I just love cloud watching–and hot cocoa. What a perfect way to spend a chilly day.

    Me too Jenny! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today.

    Reply

  29. Pictures of clouds are always interesting…I wish I could take some of the ones I see at night though. It’s amazing how the clearest and bluest skies can be on the coldest days.

    They are interesting Chris & the night clouds are really interesting. But hard to capture on film. I prefer these blue skies to the bleak grey skies that will show soon.

    Reply

  30. Great photos! We get some pretty spectacular displays here as well coming off the mountains and the water. We’ll have to share some of ours with you next time.

    Thanks Guyz! I look forward to seeing your spectacular displays next time too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

