Faces of the moon

 

2008-11-13_193922

When the moon, after covering herself with darkness as in sorrow, at last throws off the garments of her widowhood, she does not at once expose herself impudently to the public gaze; but for a time remains veiled in a transparent cloud, till she gradually acquires courage to endure the looks and admiration of beholders.  ~Augustus William Hare and Julius Charles Hare, Guesses at Truth, by Two Brothers, 1827

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on November 16, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Wonder when the moon started getting refered to as female? I never thought of it before but your quote brought it to mind! Lovely pics.

    I think because the moon has that feminine mystique quality is why the female reference. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos today. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Could there possibly be a more perfect quote to go with your photos?

    Thanks Amy, I took the pictures first & when I found this quote I felt it was a perfect fit! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Great pics and quote!

    Thank you Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Magical photos…even the veil of clouds look spectacular!

    Thanks Kanak, I really liked the effect those clouds gave the moon. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Very nice post. Interesting as well.

    Thank you Darla. I’m glad you found it interesting. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Beautiful shots–was that last night?

    Thanks Cosmo, actually it was a couple of nights ago. I think Thursday. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Beautiful moon shots! If you want a “phases of the moon” widget, look at the bottom of the left sidebar on my blog to go to the website that makes it. You can get one to add for free, though the registration and subsequent emails trying to upsale/cross-sale a science book are a bit annoying.

    Cameron

    Thank you Cameron. I’ve seen that widget before, thanks for the headsup on how to add it.

    Reply

  8. I can see her as a widow throwing off the sorrow. Kind of like our gardens come spring.

    What a lovely comparison Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  9. You captured all of the quote. What a beautiful post Racquel!
    Thanks!

    Thanks Linda. I got lucky with this one. I took the photos a few days ago & then found this quote after the fact. It was a perfect compliment. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Loved this post Racquel. Quote was perfect.

    I’m glad you loved the post today Balisha. It was fate that I found this quote after I took the photos a few days ago. It was meant to be. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I’ve been seeing some great moon shots lately and now yours! I’m getting inspired to try some of my own. I especially like the ones with the clouds around.

    Thanks Kathleen, I was pretty pleased with how these pictures turned out. Taking pictures of the moon isn’t always a simple task, the street lights sometimes blur the shot.

    Reply

  12. That’s a beautiful post Racquel. I couldn’t help but notice the moon last night. It was really showing off. We were actually driving home and I told my hubbie I need a photo of that but by the time we got home it had gone behind some clouds. Oh well, next time maybe.

    Thank you Susie. Don’t you just hate when that happens, you see a great shot & no camera.

    Reply

  13. Such a great quote to go with your photos. I love looking at the moon through a ‘transparent cloud’. A full moon this time of the year is always so thrilling. Just above the horizon it seems huge.

    Thanks Beckie, I was very lucky to find this quote after I took these pictures. I do too, it looked really large last night & I could almost make out a face smiling at me. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by spookydragonfly on November 17, 2008 at 5:34 am

    Great photos… love a full moon! This past Thursday and Friday offered some amazing captures which I, too, posted.

    Thanks Spooky! It does take on a special glow this time of the year. I will be over shortly to check out your post & pics too!

    Reply

  15. Such great photos and the quote is perfect. I always love the winter sky – if only it weren’t so cold to view it!

    Thank you Cindy! 🙂 It does look different at this time of the year. The moon shines brighter & takes on a mysterious look.

    Reply

  16. I like that sequence of moon photos. Lately I find myself admiring the late night sky and the wonderful scenes of the moon. I always have a hard time getting any good photos with the type of camera I have though (and no tripod).

    Thanks Chris. I got lucky with the way the moon was peeking in & out of the clouds that night. The moon seems almost brighter & more interesting at this time of the year. It is hard to capture on camera, sometimes the streetlights cause an interesting effect too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

