How odd is this?

tomato-plant1

A few days ago I found this volunteer tomato seedling growing near the edge of one of my garden beds.  It’s odd since I didn’t have any tomatoes in this area.  So I’m assuming it blew it with the wind or maybe a bird dropped it.  The fact that it survived this long is amazing with our cooler daytime and nighttime temps right now.   So I decided maybe I would try to save it by potting it up & bringing it inside.  Afterall if it managed to survive thus far I really have nothing to lose.   I could put it under a fluorescent light I have in the garage.  I kept a whole tray of these small containers from my fall pansies to plant seeds in over the winter possibly.  They’re quite sturdy 3″ pots with the tray so I thought I could reuse them again.

mum-petals

These Mums have the most unusual petals I’ve ever seen.  The tips open up like a scoop on the end.  You can just make out the faint hint of purple on the edges of their skinny star shaped blooms.  I’m always amazed at the variety of shapes, colors & textures of blooms in the garden.   Do you  have any odd things going in your garden at the moment?

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on November 12, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Tomatoes are pretty famous for coming up from compost. Didn’t you spread a ton of it in your garden recently? I thought I had a daffodil blooming in the fall but it turned out to be an errant leek.

    Thanks for the reminder Karen. I didn’t even think of that. lol Now that would of been interesting, a daffodil in fall!

    Reply

  2. I have had African Daisies/Osteospermum, the spoonflowers, in my garden already…is that what they are?

    Actually these are just mums. (Dendranthema) Their a spoon-shaped according to my gardening encyclopedia.

    Reply

  3. That’s wonderful, I hope the tomato survives. That is an interesting mum what’s the name?

    Me too Darla. Wouldn’t that be neat! I don’t know the name but the type is a “spoon-shaped”.

    Reply

  4. good luck with your tomato seedling Racquel. It’s amazing sometimes how far a little seed can travel on a breeze, in a bird belly, or with the compost. Pretty mum!

    Thanks Linda. I’m thinking it might of been the compost I spread in all the beds this fall. It is amazing that the seeds can survive for quite some time & still germinate.

    Reply

  5. Don’t you love the way the birds help us garden? There is something growing in my wildflower bed. I’ve been meaning to take a picture. Can’t decide what it is
    — golden rod maybe–it’s not something I planted though! 🙂

    I’ve gotten more interesting combinations purely by accident then any other way! Take a picture, I would love to see it.

    Reply

  6. Can’t wait to see how your mater does. Yesterday I raked up a pile of leaves for my container garden compost bin. To my surprise I had oregano still growing in my pot, I snipped it and brought it in to add to the seafood paella I made last night. We have already had a dusting of snow here, and east of us got 6 inches .. guess the oregano survived because it is in a sheltered area of the roof.

    Thanks Mom, I hope it survives. Your Oregano should be okay even if it dies back & comes back from the roots next spring. Great idea on the compost bin for your container garden. 🙂 It’s good that the snow gave you a pass this time around.

    Reply

  7. Those mums are cool! I’ve heard of them and do like the cupping of the petals. I hope your tomato gives you lots of tomatoes.

    They are pretty cool Tina. I looked them up in my garden encyclopedia & they are described as a “spoon-shaped” flower. Which makes sense, lol. I just hope the tomato survives.

    Reply

  8. I guess mums come in all different styles, types, and colors. I like those little spoon tipped petals. Congrats on finding the tomato. It will be interesting to see how it does.

    They do come in quite a few types & colors Susie. This one is called ‘spoon shaped’ which is appropriate, lol. Thanks, I hope it survives over the winter too.

    Reply

  9. The miracle of nature’s seed sowing! Love the little surprises.

    Cameron

    Nature does have a great way of surprising us in the garden Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I’ve had volunteers for the last two years from a potted tomato I had 3 years ago. Those seeds are tenacious;)
    Marnie

    Wow, that is a cost effective way to grow tomatoes! I’ve heard that about tomatoes, never experienced first hand until today. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Oh, I bet Greenwalks is right about the seed coming from the compost. Beautiful mum photo. I don’t think there is anything unusual in my yard of late?? Maybe I’ll take a stroll around today and look tho.

    Yep GW probably is right. I forgot all about that compost. Seems like a strong seed to survive the composting process. Those piles from the city get pretty hot, usually kills off everything in the process. Thanks Kathleen. I noticed you found a little surprise in your garden today too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Volunteer tomatoes are always kind of interesting. We had one come up from compost a few years ago and we grew it and managed to get a few tomatoes. They were very odd shaped, possibly a mix of slicing tomato and a cherry, but boy were they good!

    It was interesting for me Dave, never experienced volunteer veggies. I bet that was an interesting looking tomato. Proves that beauty doesn’t always mean a good tasting veggie. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Gives you an idea about why weed seeds last for centuries! Shall you have tomatoes in January… gail

    Don’t say that Gail! lol That would be interesting to have tomatoes in January. Hmmm…. 🙂

    Reply

  14. You’ll be having the earliest tomato next year! No odd plants for me right now, unless you count the dandelion I found blooming last week during our warm spell – which is now a cold spell.

    Wouldn’t that be something Cindy! 🙂 I guess the cold is going to be a thing to count on from here on out.

    Reply

  15. I was out working in my yard when I noticed my Calla Lilies are coming up…I thought of you..because that’s odd this time of year.’

    That is odd at this time of the year Darla. My Calla Lillies have already withered back to the ground, they are so sensitive to the cold.

    Reply

  16. Hello PG .. I wanted to thank you for your thoughtful and kind message. I’m trying to get back together again .. keeping busy will help. First things first, is trying to thank everyone personally .. you are a gem .. I appreciated the message very much : )
    Joy

    Hi Joy, you are quite welcome. I hope that keeping busy will help you through this emotionally touch time in your life. Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂 Take care, Racquel

    Reply

  17. Maybe a little birdie brought it to you…
    Brenda

    You never know Brenda, they are such great seed scatterers! 🙂

    Reply

  18. How warm is your garage? Tomatoes need the night time temps to be above 50 degrees to set and grow fruit. Also, you’ll want to get your little guy into a deeper pot because tomatoes like to send their roots down deep.

    Probably between 50-65 degrees normally. It is 62 right now. Thanks Fern, you’re right. I didn’t even think about that fact.

    Reply

  19. That is interesting…we always get volunteer tomatoes because I usually miss a couple of late fruits that are then smashed into the row. Some of the best plants come from volunteers.

    I think because I’ve always grown my maters in pots I’ve never had this happen before Chris. You’re right, some of my best plants started as volunteers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

