Former Glory Years

Deb did a post the other day telling how she became Aunt Debbi.  We both realized because of this post we had some common history.  See like Deb I grew up in Texas and was a member of the Drill Team during my High School years.  We got to chatting back & forth about some of the funnier moments and decided to do a duel post about our former glory years in High School.    You can check her post out here.   (click on any photo to enlarge it)drill-team-group-picture-senior-year1

This is my Senior year group picture.  I am in the first row  fifth one from the left.  Our football team was the Hornets and we were the Stingerettes.    We wore red lipstick, blue eyeshadow & tons of hairspray.  Not an eco-friendly time in history.   

Junior Year

Junior Year

 Sixth period was dedicated to practice with a few hours after school a week to prepare for the peprallies, football games, parades  and other events we performed at.    (I’m in the first row on the far right with my head turned)  It was quite chilly in those bleachers at night, especially wearing those short skirts.  We performed rain or shine.  Nothing like doing the splits in mud to put things into perspective for you. 

Sophomore Year

Sophomore Year

It was a wonderful time in my life that I will never forget.  I made friends that have lasted a lifetime. This is my best friend Sharon (on left)  and me in Dallas at Drill Team Camp.    We attended camp each summer at SMU.  They host a variety of camps for sports & sport related activities.  It was fun sleeping in a college dorm and hanging out with 30 of your closest companions.  We competed for awards by learning new routines and performing them in front of other drill teams.  Then we took these routines home, practiced them and performed them at football games etc…

Memories

Memories

I will always have special memories of watching the  Rangerettes perform and being part of the halftime show at a Mavericks game.  And whenever I want to take a walk down memory lane, I can peruse my scrapbook of my glory days on the Drill Team.  I would love to hear some of your former glory day memories.

17 responses to this post.

  1. God Bless You for being a drill team member. Without their spirit, football games would be boring. They rallied our team to victory numerous times! This is a great story. I wish I was as skinny today as back then. You have a wonderful bunch of memories and the scrapbook to look back on. I enjoyed the post–took me back in time.

    Thank you Anna. I’m glad you enjoyed today’s post. Getting into the drill team was a great way to be involved with my school & community. Those years were filled with alot of fun memories.

    Reply

  2. Posted by greenwalks on November 11, 2008 at 1:20 am

    I was an orchestra nerd, no short skirts for me! 🙂 We did go to a music competition in Southern California, won the gold medal, and that night I tasted my first beer, on the beach at a bonfire with some friendly surfers. Funny to look back on those days. Nice feathered hair! We did love our curling irons back then…

    That was a memorable moment Karen. Beer & bonfires make for a great night for a teenager. 😉 It was an interesting time in history. The high maintenance hair & excessive makeup…lol

    Reply

  3. The hats were very…stylish. 😉 I tried out for the cheerleading squad and I am sure the coaches are still laughing at my attempt to look coordinated. Anyone who can dance really impresses me. And if you can do it and look cool, well, then you have my utmost respect. 🙂

    Well they were more stylish than the former cowboy hats we wore my freshman year, lol I’m sure they aren’t still laughing Fern. Cheerleading is hardwork, our cheerleaders were pretty athletic! The dancing part was fun. I had to really work hard the first couple of years because I had no formal training like some of the other girls.

    Reply

  4. Racquel, how fun! High school was a wonderful time for many of us. We met such great people and did such interesting things. Being a part of something like the drill team perpared you in a lot of ways for your future. Even if we weren’t aware of it at the time. Fun post!

    Thanks Beckie. It was a nice time for me too. Being involved in activities like this really gives you an appreciation for your school & community. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love this post – and the pictures are such fun.
    K

    Thanks Karen. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It was fun time in my life. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Woohoo, I see you got to wear all white. You must have had some high kicks. This was a ton of fun. I didn’t even have time to pull out the letter jacket and blanket.

    Deb.

    Yep I was an officer my junior & senior year. We had to do a separate tryout with a original routine to music that we created. If you could kick high enough to touch your hat you wore a silver star on your hat. 😉 This was fun, thanks for the suggestion. I still have my letter jacket too.

    Reply

  7. Boy, do those pictures bring back memories of high school activities. It was great that you were so involved and now have such wonderful memories.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Yeah it was different time! I’m sure you can tell by the hairdos, lol. Thanks Jan, it was great time in my life and the memories I have will last a lifetime. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Great memories glad you shared them. The blue eyeshadow and red lipstick, I’m sure the hairspray was Aqua Net….We used it in gymnastics and our hair wouldn’t move in the middle of a tornado!

    Thanks Darla. The deeper colors showed up better under those hot lights on the football field. I don’t remember what kind of hairspray but Aqua Net is a good bet! That stuff is like super glue! lol Gymnastics huh? That took some athletic ability!

    Reply

  9. Great post! Love the pics and sharing your memories 🙂 In high school I was all study and little participation in events. We didn’t have a drill team, but we did have cheerleaders. I do have fond memories of high school, the time before. Before all the adult responsibilities 🙂

    Thanks Mom! I’m glad you enjoyed it. It seems like a lifetime ago now, but it was a fun time!

    Reply

  10. Memories…..I was in the drill team in Jr Hi (not called middle school back then!) and went to SMU drill team camp. Fun! In high school I was the mascot!
    tee-hee! It was the perfect job for me–lots of running up and down the field (I won’t mention the green cougar suit I wore!) 🙂 cheering the football team on to victory. Great idea for a post Raquel! Those were some happy days!

    They called it Jr High when I was in school too Linda. Am I showing my age? lol We had a pep squad in Jr High but no drillteam. How fun that you were the mascot! A green cougar huh? lol They were happy days and looks like they were for you too! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Such sweet memories and to have this in common with Deb! The pictures are a treasure you can now look at each day on here too. Very nice memories.

    Thanks Tina, isn’t that ironic that me & Deb have this common ground! It’s a small world! 😉 I will always treasure these memories of my high school years.

    Reply

  12. That was a blast from the past!! Lots of fun to go down memory lane with you Racquel. Ya’ll were all so cute! Love those outfits. I can see why you would have been chilly on a cold night. I wasn’t on the drill team or a cheerleader but participated in more athletic events. Maybe I’ll post about that. Enjoyed this post much!

    I almost used that as my title, lol! Thanks Susie, glad you enjoyed the trip down memory lane. And thanks for the compliment! 😉 Look forward to your post about your athletic endeavors!

    Reply

  13. From stingerette to gardener??!! That’s a big jump! Like Susie I was an athlete in school but the cheerleaders and drill team were our biggest supporters. It is always fun to look back but I’m still hoping my glory days are ahead of me! 😉

    It is a strange jump isn’t it? lol But they both require using some muscles & energy. 😉 It was fun cheering for our athletes & I think they appreciated it. I’m with you there, that’s why I said former glory years. lol

    Reply

  14. I love hearing about memories…yours are wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing with us.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. I’m glad you enjoyed our glory days. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Loved your tandem post with Aunt Debbi! You two were just darling. I must have gone to the only Texas high school that didn’t have a drill team! Come to think of it, I don’t think they have one now, either. That’s the way it goes in small towns!

    Thanks Nola. 🙂 That is unusual, I grew up in a small town too. We don’t have drill teams in Virginia.

    Reply

  16. Fun to look back on those days. I’ve got lots of pictures from when I was in marching band. We had a drill team, but I wasn’t on it. I hated all of the makeup they had to wear, still do. I’ll have to do a post about my highschool days, these posts are making me nostalgic. I guess I’ll have to get my scanner up and running if I want to do that. Boy, if Fern thinks those hats are bad, just wait until she sees the ones we wore!

    It was a fun post Cinj! Our band was so great, they were the best in the region. We had to wear all that makeup because of the lights on the field, otherwise we would of looked dead. lol You should do a post, it’ll be fun to see the pictures & memories you have from those days. 🙂 I kind of liked the hats, they were better than the old cowboy hats we wore my freshman year. lol

    Reply

  17. Thanks for this blast from your past!

    You are quite welcome Nancy! I almost titled it that. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

