Bloomin Tuesday

Well it’s another Bloomin’ Tuesday again.  I didn’t expect to find anything new to show you when I went out to the garden yesterday with my camera.  But you never know what you may find in the garden and yesterday was no exception to this. To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in please visit msgreenthumb.

Lantana montevidensis

Lantana montevidensis

This little beauty was planted in the garden bed I created for my grandmother last year.  I was quite surprised when the foliage emerged this summer but it never bloomed until now.  I’ve seen a few more flower buds forming.  It has a more creeping form than my ‘Miss Huff’.
Echinacea 'White Swan'

Echinacea

The ‘White Swan’ coneflower was a new addition to my garden this summer.  I’ve planted it in the past with no success.  Hopefully the fact that it just keeps on pushing out blooms this fall is a good sign for next season.  I think the flowers are interesting in all their forms from new buds to spent seedheads.
Impatiens

Impatiens

I found this little volunteer hiding under the thick foliage of the Knockout Rose in my grandmother’s flowerbed.  There are three different shades of pink currently blooming at the moment.  I’m sure once the weather turns cooler again this tender perennial will disappear.   What’s blooming in your garden today?

23 responses to this post.

  1. I love your blooms, I only have 1 left.
    Happy bloomin Tuesday
    Grammy

    Thanks Grammy! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday to you too! 🙂

    Reply

  2. It is delightful when you discover bloomers like these. I still have petunias growing and I think that is nuts. It’s just been extremely warm. That purple lantana is a perennial in my garden so hope it comes back for you. I love a mix of pink impatients.

    It was a nice surprise to find something new blooming in the garden today. Petunias love cooler temps here in VA. We’ve been getting 60’s & 70’s which is nice. If it is a perennial for you Anna then that explains why it came back. I don’t understand why it took so long to bloom though.

    Reply

  3. A garden can always surprise. The White Swan is new to me, but oh so pretty. I hope it comes back for you. You’ll have to let us know. I’ve been wanting to get some of the other colors, but they are so expensive and I’ve heard they don’t come back most of the time. Great Bloom day post.

    Yes it can Beckie. 😉 So far the White Swan Echinacea is doing well in the garden. I will keep you updated on it’s progress. I planted two of the new ones and they are still quite small, and they were fairly inexpensive at less than $10. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. Amazing how the odd flower keeps hanging on. I like the white Echinacea.

    I think it is our Indian Summer like weather. It is staying in the 60’s & 70’s. Thanks EG, I like it too! 🙂

    Reply

  5. It’s nice to see you still have some blooms. I have a mum which just decided to bloom and hasn’t been hindered by the frost and …. well I have a mum 🙂

    I have other stuff blooming too, these are my new blooms for the week. My mums just started blooming this week too. Crazy things! 🙂

    Reply

  6. My geraniums look pretty today. They will last until frost. I’m so glad your White Swan is doing well. Mine continues to have at least 1 flower, and they are always really full and pretty.
    Happy Blooming Day!

    I love geraniums, they come in such a pretty variety of color & foliage types. I’m very pleased with White Swan so far Linda. This is the first season so it is still quite small but prolifically blooming nonetheless. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I was looking at my beds yesterday to see what was blooming. I still have some orange zinnias that the frost didn’t get. Also some Mexican petunias, globe amaranth and butterfly weed. Oh, I also have some marigolds and of course the knock-outs are still going strong.

    Sounds like you still have some vibrant blooms in your garden inspite of the frost. Aren’t Knockouts the best? They just keep on blooming here until the first hard frost.

    Reply

  8. Isn’t is amazing how many blooms are still clinging in the fall? I’ve not tried ‘White Swan’ so I’ll watch your progress with it, if you don’t mind giving a report now and then next year.

    Thanks,
    Cameron

    It just astounds me the tenacity of these plants! I promise to keep you updated on the progress of White Swan.

    Reply

  9. It’s great that some blooms just don’t want to give up. I hope to plant Echinacea s next year. I’ll have to learn more about them. It’s amazing how impatiens just don’t want to give up. I have had several just pop up among my flowers this year.
    Sweetie

    Those are the ones that earn their keep in the garden Sweetie! Echinaceas are wonderful perennials. I’ve grown them for years. The yellow finches love their seeds. 🙂 I’ve had more luck with the impatiens that self sow then the ones I purposely planted.

    Reply

  10. I like White Swan too. I planted on about 3 years ago. A lot of very hardy plants still blooming:
    Marnie

    Well then you’ve been successful with it, because this is the first one I’ve had that didn’t wither up and die within a month. Thanks Marnie!

    Reply

  11. Your blooms are lovely — there’s not a single thing left to bloom in my little garden, not even a geranium. They finally succumbed to a fierce pruning which almost filled the compost bin. Even my African Violet is blossom-less right now. But I see the promise of buds on my Christmas cactus, so perhaps in a week or so…………..

    Thank you Nancy! Sounds like your garden has gone to sleep for the winter. I look forward to seeing your Christmas Cactus blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I’ve never grown the white coneflower that’s neat. I have tons of the purple. My lavender lantana did not perform this year either.

    The white isn’t quite as hardy as the purples in my opinion. But they are a pretty color. I don’t know why the lavender lantana waited so long to bloom this year Darla. Very weird!

    Reply

  13. I’ve never seen lavender lantana before. Very pretty.

    I’m use to the yellow & orange varieties too. Thanks Kanak!

    Reply

  14. What fun to find new blooms so late in the season! I love coneflowers and hope your come back. I transplanted a lot of mine this year so hopefully the rabbits can’t find them! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday!

    It was fun Jean! I hope so too, because they have such lovely blooms right now. I didn’t realize that rabbits like to munch on Echinacea. Good luck! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday Jean!

    Reply

  15. I haven’t seen that lavender lantana either. It’s pretty. I love ‘White Swan’ Echinacea, I have one in my garden too. It hasn’t really reseeded like the common purple does so prolificly but that one plant continues to come back year after year. Your photo is nice. I have very few blooms left but at least there are a few.

    This was my first experience with it too Kathleen. I’m more familiar with the orange & yellow varieties of Lantana. I have great hope for ‘White Swan’ in the future. The last one I had didn’t survive after the first season. It doesn’t seem as vigorous as the purple ones. Thanks!

    Reply

  16. Hi Racquel, what a bonus from the coneflower. White Swan is far superior to those fancy echinaceas like the sky series as far as hardiness and floriferousness, man is that the right spelling? ;-> I would love to have a hardy lantana, must try the low growing purple, it might make it. We are right on the edge of the hardiness zone, but I have never had one come back. Thanks for hunting down some blooms!
    Frances

    Hi Frances, thanks I felt I’ve gotten a great deal out of this plant considering it was planted in September. I planted the two of the sky series too this year and so far ‘White Swan’ seems hardier. It has been blooming non-stop since I planted it. The sky series haven’t even grown much. 😦 Supposibly the ‘Miss Huff’ I planted this year is the only hardy one in my area, but I don’t think that is the case. There can be different microclimates in each area. I wish you luck with a creeping purple lantana in your garden. You are quite welcome, glad I had some new surprises to share today! 🙂

    Reply

  17. All our blooms are gone….nice to enjoy others, thanks for sharing

    You are quite welcome Dawn. Glad I could share mine with you today. Thanks for stopping by for a visit!

    Reply

  18. Your impatiens are perennial? Ours are annual. I plant them every spring. Lovely blooms today.

    Nope, not perennials. Just happy little reseeders! 😉 I didn’t plant these, a kind bird dropped some seed in the garden or maybe the wind? Thank you.

    Reply

  19. That echinacea is a pleasant surprise! I love coneflowers, but I have only the traditional purple ones. What an interesting lantana, too–mine were hit by the frost a week ago. I do have a few Stella d’Oro lilies that have decided to try blooming again, but otherwise, only the frost-hardy plants are still blooming. That’s a brave little impatiens!

    Thank you Rose. Glad you enjoyed my white coneflower blooms today. 🙂 That Lantana is pretty, I’m use to the yellow & orange ones myself.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Lola on November 4, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Great looking flowers. I put the Lantana Montevidensis with Strobilanthes in the same pot & I really like the look. I also found other colors of lantana. I have 3/4 different colors. I really like this plant. This is my first yr. to have them. I hope they all make the winter.

    Thanks Lola. That sounds like a great combination for a container. I’ve seen cream colored one lately too that are very pretty as well. Good luck with your Lantanas!

    Reply

  21. love that white swan cone flower. So pretty.

    Thanks Deb! 😉

    Reply

  22. Posted by ashok on November 4, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    beautiful flowers thanks for sharing

    http://ashok-discoverindia.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  23. I have only seen orange/yellow Lantana montevidensis. Your is so pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

