Mums the word!

The lavender mums or Dendranthema in my red washtub container are finally blooming!  I was beginning to think they may have procrastinated too long and the buds would be killed off by a heavy frost.  They will be the final new flowers to open in my garden this season.  Winter is right around the corner so I need to cherish these lovely blooms while they last.  However their cheerful faces were worth the wait.

 

My Grandmother has Pinkish-yellow mums growing in her garden bed.  These were purchased with the lavender ones last spring.   Springtime is the best time to plant mums here because then you get two bloom cycles out of them and they have more time to establish themselves before winter sets in.  We pinch them back until July 4th each year to produce a bushier looking plant.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on November 2, 2008 at 1:37 am

    So pretty! I have one rust-colored mum plant kind of struggling along where I planted a few some years back and the others didn’t survive. I love their brave faces as winter closes in, and also their fresh scent.

    Thanks Karen. 😉 I would love to see your rust colored one, very appropriate shade for the season. They are a true fall plant!

    Reply

  2. Lovely blooms and I agree with Balisha about the presentation. I like your new look, including the header. Will you be changing the header photos according to the topic? Just curious.

    Thanks Kanak! I’m glad you enjoyed the blooms & the presentation today. Thank you, I’m liking my new look too. I might just do that about the header corresponding with the topic. You will have to check back, 😉

    Reply

  3. Very nice, I always wondered about the pinching of Mums.

    Thanks Darla. Glad I could fill in that blank for you today. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by spookydragonfly on November 2, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Such pretty photos! I’ll have to try pinching them back next year, as you suggest…I’ve never done that with my mums.

    Thank you Spooky, I’m happy I could give you some useful tips today about mums. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I have two mums and a large planter of coleus on my front porch. I’m doing the “coleus countdown” to see how long they last (the ones in the garden were pulled 2 days ago from frost). With our passive solar house, the front porch gets fall and winter sun (when low in the sky). Yesterday afternoon, the “outside” temperatures were 70, but the front porch was 90! It’s already 80 on the front porch and currently 57 in the meadow. A great place to sit on a sunny winter day and soak up the rays. – Cameron

    If your porch retains that much heat your Coleus may survive longer than normal. I would love to live in a passive solar home, how efficient it must be on utilities. And porches are wonderful places to sit with family or by yourself with a great book.

    Reply

  6. Lovely! This may be my favorite mum presentation.

    Why thank you Gail, how sweet!

    Reply

  7. Love the pictures! And this time of the year Mum’s definitely the word-lovely!

    Thanks Tina. It is definitely the flower of the month for me. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Lovely photos! How nice to be having something new blooming in your garden this time of year. I pinch my mums back, too, and find that they bloom at just the right time that way.
    Did you change your layout in some way–I really like it.

    Thanks Rose, it is nice to have something new blooming when most things are way past their prime or long ago faded. Pinching them really makes a difference, my Grandmother didn’t pinch hers & they are drooping! Yes, thanks for noticing. I did change my layout. You are the first one to say something. 😉

    Reply

  9. I like your new blog look too Racquel. and your photo shop effects on the mum pictures are fab. Happy Sunday!

    Thank you Kathleen. Glad you like the new look. I do too! 😉 Thanks, I’ve enjoyed playing around with the photos & giving them frames & other effects. Happy Sunday to you too!

    Reply

  10. I love mums of all colors! Sad to think these are the last bloomers for the season for you. Almost time for me to get pansies and snapdragons so I will have something bright during dull winter days.

    Me too Linda, but I really favor the daisy like shapes over the pom-poms! It is sad, but spring will be here before we know it. I look forward to my winter break, it gives me a chance to rejuvenate my spirit for another season. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love the way you presented the blossums to us. It really shows them off.

    Thanks Balisha, I’m glad you enjoyed my framing of the mums today. I like playing around w/my photo program. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Hi Racquel, I am liking this new look too. Very easy to read and the photos look great. I am having a hard time not calling these flowers mums. Dendranthema just doesn’t roll off the tongue, LOL
    Frances

    Thanks Frances, I am happy with the new theme. It adds depth to the page. I’m glad you like it too! It’s hard for me to refer to them as anything other than mums too, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I sign on today and your whole set up is different. That is really neat. I like how you can divide up sections. How’d you do those photos with the different background? It make your mums really jump out.

    Thanks Susie, I get bored easily. lol I needed a change & I really liked this new theme when I previewed it. The program I have in my pictures has an editing feature where I can add frames. I’m glad you liked the effect. It does make the mums look pretty special. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I just haven’t had much luck with mums. But I keep trying. I don’t know what it is that I seem to do wrong. I planted some in the ground a few weeks ago that were quite lush in the pot. But then just dropped over when I put them in the ground. So I trimmed them far back. Green is budding on the stems. So maybe I’ll luck out with it.
    Brenda

    I wish I knew what to tell you Brenda. If they are getting green buds that is a good sign. I have mine planted in part sun which seems to help them survive our hot summers. Good luck!

    Reply

  15. Your mums are lovely and I’m glad they finally decided to bloom. Sometimes they can be so stubborn. I had a shy one as well but it finally opened too.

    Thanks Cindy. They do seem to take their time about blooming. 🙂

    Reply

  16. When the season is about over the mums brighten up our patio and front porch. It is always kind of sad when other plants are starting to give up for the year but you can always rely on mums to cheer you up!

    They are a great fall blooming addition to the garden. Anything to extend the season further is a plus in my books! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

