Settling in nicely

This fall I did a complete overhaul of my Arbor Bed.   This process involved a lot of transplanting of existing perennials and shrubs.  My timing was perfect because the weather at the time was cloudy, cool and rainy.  All of my new transplants have established themselves nicely and are settling in for a long winter’s nap.  Next year I have great expectations of how my new planting scheme should look.  Sometimes you just need to revamp your garden to give it a fresh look.  Some of the plants I transplanted included two roses which I cut back to make moving them easier.  They both have new foliage emerging and the Peace Rose has two new buds that might open before we get our first freeze.  The Astilbe was relocated from the Pecan Bed where it was looking pretty ragged.  It looks pretty happy in its’ new home under the large Nandina.   I can’t remember what color the bloom is on this cultivar so it will be a nice surprise next spring.  This spot was the former home of the pass-a-long Peony from my neighbor.  It had been residing there for a few years and never bloomed.  Due to the lack of sunlight in this area I decided to move it near the back of the bed beside the new trellis.  Several new eyes have developed and with a shallower depth I’m hoping for flowers next May.  I’m pretty sure the blooms should be a shade of red, but time will tell.    Several of my ferns were divided this fall and put under the newly trimmed up Hydrangea ‘Limelight’.   They are filling in nicely with new fronds emerging weekly so I have no doubt that they are established.  And finally the Clematis ‘Nelly Moser’ has a new home under the new trellis between the Peony and Red Rose.  This summer was really hard on it and most of the foliage was brown.  So I gave it a drastic haircut and now it has new growth sprouting.  I took a chance and it looks like it is going to be okay.  All in all my revamped garden is settling in nicely.

15 responses to this post.

  1. I remember you working on this bed with the rain coming. So nice to have them settle in nicely. I am trying to do the same thing here but I fear I may be too late. We shall see. Can’t wait to see it next spring.

    I’m sure it isn’t too late if you get to it soon. They just need a good month to settle in before winter. Worse comes to worse you can do it in the spring too. I can’t wait either Tina. 😉

    Reply

  2. Racquel, so happy to hear all of your hard work is paying off. Sounds like most of the plants were ready for a change too. Now, hurry up spring so we can see the new bed!

    Thank you Beckie, I am happy too. 🙂 That’s what I was thinking when I decided to do this revamping, they needed a change. Yes, hurry up spring! lol

    Reply

  3. I’m so glad everything is settling in nicely for you. I hope your peony blooms. I know when I transplanted a pass along one it took 2 or 3 years to get a bloom. It always had healthy foliage but finally this year bloomed.

    Thanks Cindy. It would be great if that Peony blooms next year because I’ve had it for 3 years now without any blooms. Just cross your fingers for me. 😉

    Reply

  4. ‘m looking forward to seeing the fruits of your labor in the spring/summer. I just love peonies. Your pansies below are very cheerful – aren’t you lucky to have blooms this late in the season.

    Thank you Sarah, and thanks for visiting today. 🙂 Peonies are one of my faves, especially the fragrant ones. I’m glad you enjoyed my Pansies too. This is not late in our season. Next month will be another story.

    Reply

  5. I remember your post about working on this! Whew–lots of work was involved, but sounds like it will be worth it. You know this is my favorite bed! 🙂

    It was lots of work and a long time coming. I’ve been wanting to redo this bed for a couple of years now. Hopefully all my hard work pays off next spring. 🙂 I’m partial to it too since it was the first bed I created in this yard.

    Reply

  6. Yep! I like to all that “gardening chess.” You start out just wanting to move one thing, but, oops!, the place it needs to go is occupied by something else which needs to be moved to somewhere else where something else already is and so on. I wish I were better envisioning the garden in 14 moves from the present, but I’m not!

    lol, great analogy Monica. I knew ahead of time that most of these things needed to be moved and kind of had it laid out in my head where to put them. Hopefully it pays off next spring. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I’ve always liked astilbe. I prefer the purples and whites to the pinks. It sounds like you’re going to have a great arbor garden next year. 🙂

    Me too Dave. I know this one is either a deep pink color or white. Because those are the two colors I have in my garden at the moment. A purple one would be good too, lol. Thanks, I hope it turns out as great as I saw it in my head. 🙂

    Reply

  8. That is one of the nice things about gardening. If we don’t like the way something looks we can always move it. Hope all these plants do well for you Racquel. Peonies don’t do well here so I will look forward to seeing yours bloom.

    That is so true Susie! 🙂 Thanks, I hope so too. They do good here because they bloom before it gets hot. Early-Mid May. Promise to post pictures next year.

    Reply

  9. Came to check up on all your work, I know I have missed some posts, but can’t find your archives. Your garden beds are looking good.

    Hi Mom, if you want to see my archives just click on the calender days in the sidebar or you can scroll down to the bottom of the blog & click on next page to go back to previous posts. Thanks, I’m happy with the outcome so far. 😉

    Reply

  10. I need to do a lot of moving and dividing too. I’ve put it off too long to do this season. Next spring for sure. Hope your peony blooms in its new spot.
    Marnie

    Springtime should be good too. I do some moving in the spring every year if I don’t get to it in the fall. Thanks I hope it blooms too. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I remember you doing all this revamping. It was exhausting reading about it (maybe because it was still hot here at the time?) Your hard work and all the good compost will pay off come spring tho. I amended and replanted portions of my front flower bed too and I have high expectations for that as well. It will be exciting to see everything come spring.

    It was exhausting doing the work too. lol Thanks for the vote of confidence. It looks like we both will have something new to anticipate come next spring. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Very one looks so happy in their new homes!

    It looks that way so far Carla. 🙂 Thank you.

    Reply

  13. Great news that the plants are getting established so well. You’ll have such a gorgeous arbor bed next year! Cameron (just got my flu shot…hope everyone stays healthy this winter)

    Thanks Cameron. That’s what I’m hoping for at least. Hope you stay healthy this winter too. 🙂

    Reply

  14. This is a great time of year around here to divide and move plants. You have motivated me to get on with it. Thanks, Deb.

    Glad I could motivate you Deb! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by greenwalks on October 23, 2008 at 12:26 am

    I admire your industriousness. I’m not so great at revamping unless forced to by extreme circumstances (i.e. major plant death)!

    Thanks GW, I like revamping. It really gives the garden a fresh look. 🙂 Sometimes you are forced to due to plant health too, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

