What season is it?

Drumstick Alliums

Drumstick Alliums

The weather has cooled off especially in comparison to our scorching hot summer, but is still warm enough that most plants seem to be a bit confused.  Fall is like a second spring in the garden with the cooler  temperatures and abundance of rain.  I have bulb foliage emerging in some of the garden beds at the moment.  The Drumstick Alliums which are pictured above bloomed earlier this summer and then turned brown & dried up.  I cut them back in July and now I got new green strappy foliage   They are planted with Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’, Russian Sage ‘Blue Spire’ and the Daylily ‘Colorful Summer’.  

Dahlia

Dahlia

My Dahlia suffered from the drought this summer causing the foliage to shrivel up and turn yellow.  Since I forgot to give supplemental water it produced a few buds that never opened.  Therefore I cut it back to the ground in July.  However since September it has put out new lush green foliage.   With the cooler mornings & evenings right now I don’t expect to see any blooms this season.   I don’t know the name of this Dahlia anymore, but it has been coming up in this bed for years.  The flower is a burnt orange color and has an informal decorative shape. 

Dutch Iris?

Dutch Iris?

I also noticed some new spiky foliage emerging from the soil in the raised bed recently.  Based on the location I’m almost positive this is the white Dutch Iris that I planted here last fall.  Some bulb foliage like Muscari for example does come up in the fall and lasts until next spring after it blooms.  

Skullcap Hyssop

Skullcap Hyssop

This little beauty was relocated this fall to underneath the ‘Limelight’ Hydrangea.  At the time the foliage was worn out so I gave it somewhat of a trim up and now it has fresh new fronds.   I purchased it last fall along with my Baptisia at the Native Plant Sale.  I’ve misplaced the tag, but I’m pretty sure this is a Skullcap Hyssop.  It has pretty little lavender-blue hood like flowers in the spring.  The foliage is quite pretty too, with a fern like quality.  It seems to prefer cooler & moister weather.   Have you noticed any strange behavior or confused plants in your garden this year?

16 responses to this post.

  1. I think gardeners are very attuned to the seasons and when the weather upsets the natural order of things it is very disconcerting. The plants must be equally confused!

    I think we were on the same wavelength yesterday EG.

    Reply

  2. I have some things popping up in my gardens too!

    I hope you share your new arrivals soon Darla.

    Reply

  3. That skull cap is really pretty. I haven’t noticed too awfully much weirdness. I think things may be getting their second wind since our season has been so long but the frost is coming.

    Thanks Tina, I like it too. 🙂 Maybe that is what is causing the weirdness, the change of weather. I haven’t seen any frost yet, but it was really cool this morning (about 49 degrees-brrrr).

    Reply

  4. Things in my little yard look tired and weary–but the 2 impatients in pots think it is their time to shine again. They love this cooler weather!

    I’m sure your garden needs some cooler weather to revive itself. Sounds like it has already perked up the impatients. 🙂

    Reply

  5. My elephant ear garlic is looking really good right now. It too had died back to the ground after blooming. It is totally confused. No other surprises that I can think of but my plants are looking pretty happy with the cooler weather.

    See the climate must be causing some confusion for these plants. Maybe the dry spell caused a temporary dormancy. The cooler weather does seem to have given everyone’s garden a nice break. 🙂

    Reply

  6. We went from UPPER 80s last week to a FROST this morning! I’ve been struggling with when to sow my larkspur and poppy seeds…too hot last week and now frost this week. I’m going ahead with it tomorrow when my Dutch iris and allium bulbs arrive. Cameron

    That’s pretty much how it has been here too, except for the frost part. It’s coming though…soon. I have a few more bulbs to plant still too. Better get to it I guess. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Your fall temperatures sound like the ones we had last year — there were roses in bloom outside my bank after the first snowfall! My geraniums continue to have lots of buds, but the frost has played havoc with them the past two nights. Your plants look lush and healthy!

    That’s what my roses did last winter too! It was rather pretty having roses w/a dusting of snow on their faces. I guess fall will be over soon & then on to the winter. Hopefully it’s a short one or goes quickly. Thanks Nancy. 🙂

    Reply

  8. It does seem like a second spring! The plants are trying to get a little more nourishment for the winter break. Since we’ve had a couple of really cold nights I think the second spring may be nearing its end.

    Their probably just relieved to free from all that heat & drought finally. 🙂 Our nights have been getting cooler too Dave. It was 49 degrees this morning when I got up at 6:00…brrrrrrrrrrr!

    Reply

  9. Racquel, It has been a very confusing fall here in Middle Tennessee…Coneflower reblooming and now it will be warming up a little. Maybe we will finally get our fall color! The nice gift is all the insect activity still going on in our gardens! Gail

    Hi Gail, looks your fall garden has been full of surprises & confused plants too. 🙂 We’ve had a cool off over the last week. Don’t expect temps beyond the 70’s for the next 10 days. It was quite cold this morning at 6 am when I got up. 49 degrees! And I haven’t seen any signs of insect activity yet today. They maybe hibernating after that cool start to the day.

    Reply

  10. A lot of plants in my garden (especially my containers) are blooming better than ever with the cooler temps. We are expecting more frost this week tho so that may change depending on whether I cover things again or not.

    Some things really prefer the cooler temps. My Black & Blue Salvia has grown 6″ and is blooming profusely at the moment. I’m not seeing any signs of frost in our forecast over the next 10 days.

    Reply

  11. Hi, Racquel–Salix said it was 38 this morning –amazing what a difference some 30 miles can make! So is the hyssop in part shade now? I love it, but haven’t had much success with it–though I don’t think I’ve tried the native cultivars–

    Hey Cosmos. It was 49 here at 5:30 am. It is amazing what 30 miles can make in the weather. Like when it rains in Williamsburg & isn’t raining here. 🙂 This Hyssop gets dappled morning light and afternoon shade. It prefers shady conditions. I bought it last fall & it bloomed this past spring pretty heavily.

    Reply

  12. Hi Racquel! The seasons blend a bit goofy at times … I have primrose blooming … and bergenia!

    That they do Joey. I’ve especially noticed that this year. Primrose & Bergenia in the fall??? Quite strange behavior indeed.

    Reply

  13. We are right on schedule and things pretty much look normal. But that is after a very dry summer. I am glad to see this summer behind us. It was too hot and too dry.

    You are lucky then Anna. Our weather in VA has been strange at best for the fall. It was a long hot & dry summer. I’m glad it’s over too. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Racquel, one of my customers has a reblooming wisteria. My stuff is coming back strong after the hot summer. Your stuff looks great.

    Debbi.

    I bet that is a real beautiful Wisteria. I’ve never seen a reblooming variety. Thanks, the cooler weather is really giving the garden a fresh look again. Like springtime! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Racquel, it is sort of that way here. My azalea is blooming again and I saw some wiegelia in bloom. But I am enjoying the cooler weather.

    It is nice to get a repeat bloom on the Azalea. This cooler weather has been a nice relief after this past summer Beckie! 🙂

    Reply

  16. What a wonderful surprise to find a color you did not plan on. Love your pansies. Have a great week
    Grammy

    It was a nice surprise Grammy and I found another surprise color behind the mum. A dark purple one, 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today. Have a nice week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

