Creating new plants

Aucuba

Aucuba

Last month I did a post called Division,  so I thought I would do a followup to that.  There are a few ways to get new perennials or shrubs for your garden that don’t cost anything.  You can take cuttings, save seed from the plant,  and division.  A few of my plants have been started from cuttings quite successfully like my Aucuba japonica ‘Variegata’ which was given to me as a new wood cutting about 3-4″ long.  My grandmother’s neighbor gave me a piece of it  wrapped in a damp papertowel after I had made a comment on how much I liked the interesting speckled foliage.  I rooted this cutting in a glass of water on my windowsill and when I had several roots it was planted directly in the Pecan Bed.   Now years later that cutting has become a 4 foot shrub.  Starting new perennials from seed is quite easy as well.  I’ve done this by scattering some of the seed collected into the area I would like it either early in the fall or in the spring.  Blackeyed Susans and Purple Coneflowers are a couple of perennials that are easy to propogate this way.  My favorite method of creating new plants is division.  This year I created several new baby plants from existing perennials in my garden. 

Arctotis

Arctotis

 The Arctotis or African Daisy above was a piece of an existing plant that has been coming up in my grandmother’s garden for a couple of years.  It is a bi-color purple & white daisy.  According to my Botanica’s Gardening Encyclopedia this would actually be a tender perennial hardy in zones 9-11.  So hopefully it returns to my garden next year like it has returned to my grandmother’s flowerbed. 

Jupiter's Beard

Centranthus

Centranthus ruber or Jupiter’s Beard is a short lived perennial in the garden.  I divided my existing plant into two smaller plants this fall.  It produces clusters of small star-shaped reddish pink flowers starting in late spring.  This is suppose to be one of the easiest plants to grow in the perennial garden. 

Phlox

Phlox

Phlox paniculata ‘Robert Poore’ is one of my longest blooming summer perennials at the moment.  It has been blooming non-stop since June.  To create new divisions from this plant I pull out the babies that form near the base of the plant and put a small bunch of them together to form a new plant.   So as you can see creating new plants for the garden is not only cost effective (free), but quite easy as well.  Plus if you have a plant that is a real workhorse in the garden like my Robert Poore Phlox that you spread it around for a longer season of interest in your other garden beds.  What kinds of new plants did you create this year?

9 responses to this post.

  1. I can see you are hard at it. I need some Acuba. I have more shade in my new garden. I was sure admiring your dirt. Us gardeners are the only people who look at the flower and the dirt.

    I got alot done this fall in revamping the garden Anna. If you have more shade in your new garden then Acuba would be a great addition. I would send you a cutting of mine if I thought it would survive the trip. 😉 Thanks, I’m quite pleased with the soil in my garden beds. It’s taken years to get it looking this great. I admire dirt in other’s gardens too.

    Reply

  2. I love aucubas and have heard they root easily. You did great with yours for it to grow so big. Are you going to make more now? I hope that African daisy does return for you.

    They root very easily Tina. I’m pleased with how well my first experiment with doing a cutting from a shrub turned out. I did baby it alittle the first year it was in the ground but now I don’t even give it supplemental watering at all. I don’t have tons of shade in my yard so if I created new plants I would have to create a new bed to put them in. 😉 Thanks, I hope the African Daisy returns too. Pretty little blooms on that one.

    Reply

  3. I’ve been knocking out seeds from coneflowers, rudbeckia, tall verbena and perennial ageratum, too. I have ‘Robert Poore’ and it is my favorite phlox. I usually move that one in the spring because I can’t get to my thick bed of phlox as easily in fall with the plants thickly growing behind my Indian Hawthornes (inside the fence as deer love those). My ‘Robert Poore’ also seed out and I find volunteers around and all are true to color. Cameron

    Sounds like you have busy propogating your plants too Cameron. 🙂 Glad to see I’m not the only fan of ‘Robert Poore’, it’s been a great plant in my garden.

    Reply

  4. My centranthus seeds itself everywhere ~ I’m constantly pulling it out of unwanted places ~ but it can’t be beat for all season bloom. After the first blooms are fading, I run my weed whacker over it then it follows with another bout of blooms and so on. I wish I only wanted to propagate what I already had in my garden but I’m always looking for something new!

    You are lucky Kathleen, I haven’t had much luck with this plant in my garden. I’m hoping it likes it’s new homes now. I know what you mean, it’s hard to resist adding new things to the garden. But you can’t beat the diehard plants for providing long seasons of bloom year after year.

    Reply

  5. Nice post, Racquel. ‘Dig and Divide’ is my motto!

    Thanks Joey. Like minds think alike. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Hi, Raquel–great post. I haven’t had much luck with centranthus, either–maybe we’re a little too humid for it? Anyway, I look forward to seeing how yours does. Yeah, I’ve been tossing seeds around, and when I get back from Arizona, I have some penstemon that are screaming to be divided (though I have to figure out where to put them . . . ) One of my favorite things to do in the fall is to buy sale plants at Lowe’s and Wal-mart that have gotten a little root bound and divide those into two or three plants–they always seem so grateful afterwards!

    Hi Cosmo, thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the post today. 🙂 Well glad to know it’s not just me that hasn’t had any luck with Jupiter’s Beard. I just purchased my first Penstemon this year from a native plant sale, it didn’t have a great flush this year but it looks healthy. That’s a great way to get more bang for your buck and I’m sure the plant appreciate it after being root bound for so long.

    Reply

  7. Not only is it free but so rewarding to watch your new divisions and seedling come up and grow.
    It’s interesting you posted on this, we just stopped by my in-laws home and dug up Crape Myrtle babies. We didn’t get a whole lot of roots but hopefully enough to take hold.

    Yes it is Susie. You feel a real sense of pride when you create something new. I wish you luck with the Crepe Myrtle babies. 🙂

    Reply

  8. My gardens are only three years old. So I’m still learning and moving things around, trying to find the best environment. I’m glad to know that about Black-eyed Susans and Coneflowers, as I just planted these two plants recently. Thanks for all the valuable info!
    Brenda

    How exciting to have a fairly new garden & watch it progress over the years. You will enjoy the Blackeyed Susans & Coneflowers. They are some of my most reliable perennials each year in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hi Racquel, making new plants from divisions, cuttings, and seeds is so rewarding!

    This year I dug some blackhaw viburnum suckers and planted them on their own. I planted some small suckers from two other viburnums, and started some Annabelle hydrangea cuttings. All are small but thriving. I’m trying some bluebeard cuttings now. I hope they root.

    This spring I started a new brugmansia from a sucker, and another from a cutting. The cutting baby is almost as tall as the parent plant already. I just brought them in for the winter this afternoon, and they’re blooming happily in the living room.

    I’ve always divided plants, but it’s only been in the past few years I’ve been playing with cuttings. They take longer to establish, but I’m finding it a very rewarding way to start new plants.

    Sounds like you’ve been busy yourself Linda propogating new plants for the garden from cuttings. Using suckers is clever too, I’ve used that approach with several of my plants like Phlox.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

