October Blooms – GBBD

Well it’s that time of the month when garden bloggers from all over the world post pictures of what’s blooming in their gardens at the moment.  Most of my blooms today have been blooming on and off for the past few months.  Here is a slideshow of some of my current blooms in the garden:

Some fairly recent blooms are the False Asters, Lobelia, Peacock Orchids, Turtlehead and Toadlillies.  Some other plants still blooming in my garden at the moment are:

  • Salvia ‘Mystic Spires’
  • Hydrangea ‘Limelight’
  • Hydrangea ‘Forever & Ever Red’
  • Angelina
  • Pansies
  • Agastache ‘Black Adder’
  • Purple Coneflowers
  • Perovskia x ‘Longin’
  • Peacock Orchid
  • Stella d’Oro daylillies
  • Gentian

To join in today or to see other posts please visit Carol at May Dreams Gardens.  What’s blooming in your garden today?

29 responses to this post.

  1. nice blooms racquel! you did great with your slideshow.

    Thanks Marmee! I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow today.

    Reply

  2. You have so many fall bloomers! I can’t believe the peace rose is soooo pretty! The slideshow was great–I really enjoyed your post (as I always do!) 🙂

    Thanks Linda. I’m pleased with the fall garden this year. That Peace Rose has been gorgeous this year. I’m glad your enjoyed my slideshow for GBBD. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Masses. Come and have a look 😉

    Very fancy slide show. White Budleia is nice. Do the butterflies like those as much as the purple ones?
    My C. ‘Niobe’ barely has leaves now, let alone flowers.
    Does the Saponaria grow wild in your area? Here in the UK I saw a patch by the roadside. Couldn’t believe it. May be a garden escape.

    Hi Joco, thanks for stopping by today for my GBBD slideshow. 🙂 Your garden still looks gorgeous too, especially with all those lovely reds. The butterflies really love the White Buddleia, but I would like to have a purple variety too. I’ve never noticed Saponaria growing wild around here. It could easily do it though since it is quite aggressive if allowed.

    Reply

  4. Isn’t it wonderful to see blooms in your garden this late in the Autumn season! Wonderful images!

    Thanks Anna, next month will be the true test, we don’t get a true hard frost until mid-late November. I’m glad you stopped by today & enjoyed the slideshow.

    Reply

  5. Hi Raquel, I love your slide show, and you have a lot still blooming in your garden. I have a few things still too. Happy GBBD!~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks for stopping by today for GBBD! I’m glad you loved the slideshow. Happy GBBD!

    Reply

  6. Blooms sure are looking good in your garden. The toad lily is really blooming nicely. Are you enjoying “Miss Huff” as much as you thought you would be?

    I brought home some soapwart and the upright verbena that was being thrown away. So far they look okay. Actually the verbena is blooming. The soapwart was in bad condition so I’m waiting to see what happens with it.

    Thanks Susie. That Toadlily had so many buds this year I was quite pleased with this big flush. Miss Huff is doing well, she has been blooming on & off for the past 2 months. We’ll see how well she does next year after a full season in the garden. I would be surprised if your Soapwort doesn’t bounce back pretty quickly, she is pretty vigorous in my garden. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Hi,
    Wonderful slideshow. I am looking out the window at the rain and falling leaves. Winter is on the way, but you wouldn’t know it looking at your blooms.
    Thanks

    Hi Balisha, I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow of blooms for Garden Blogger’s Bloom day!

    Reply

  8. Posted by skeeter on October 15, 2008 at 11:09 am

    You have sooo much color in the garden, Lucky you! I really am impressed with the slideshow! Job well done and so much beauty for my eyes on this Wednesday… Again thanks for identifying the wildflowers for me! 🙂

    Thanks Skeeter, I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow presentation of my blooms today. You are quite welcome about the wildflowers.

    Reply

  9. Racquel, That is a very clever slide show, I do like the way the pages ‘turn’! There is still lots of beautiful blooms, color and variety in your garden. Have you noticed all the Toad Lily photos? They seem to be a remarkable plant! Happy GBBD! Gail

    Hi Gail, I’m glad you enjoyed the yearbook theme of the slideshow today. 🙂 The Toadlillies are really looking great in all the garden blogger’s posts this year. It is a great fall perennial for extending the bloom season. Happy GBBD!

    Reply

  10. Nice slide show. You have more blooming than I do. My roses are trying to put on one nice flush before the freeze, but the Japanese beetles are still here destroying the blooms.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, that’s the nice thing about GBBD, we can see what other zones are growing each month. I can’t believe you still have those nasty Japanese Beetles to deal with at this time of the year. I hope your Roses get to do another nice flush before winter.

    Reply

  11. I’m grateful for my annuals and containers as they are the ones providing most of the remaining color in my garden. You have quite a variety still blooming. That’s wonderful!

    That is one of the great benefits of annuals & containers, you can extend the season of bloom in your garden. Thanks Kathleen. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Wow, your ‘Niobe’ is a blooming machine! It’s such a rich color that is a good complement to the usually tones of autumn and makes a good contrast to the Phlox.

    Thanks MMD, it does look quite striking growing next to the lavender purple of the Phlox.

    Reply

  13. Great display! Do you like chelone? I had those on my list to get last year and never got around to it after a few attempts to get it locally. Would it work in my rain garden — good soil, drains slowly, full sun, deer path? Thanks, Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. The Chelone seems to be a great shade-loving perennial so far. I know it loves a moist area, but prefers light shade – full shade.

    Reply

  14. Your slideshow is wonderful and you have many blooms still. Hard to pick my favorite but seeing your Peace Rose reminded me of one at my parents when I was younger. I had forgotten about it until your photo triggered my memory, thank you.

    Thanks Cindy. The Peace Rose is my grandmother’s favorite so it has a special sentimental place in my garden. I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow of blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Beautiful slide show! I can’t believe how manty blooming plants you still have. Lovely! Jean

    Thanks Jean, I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow of blooms today. I’m pleased with the fall garden this year. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Lovely slide show – my two favorites are Clematis Niobe and Salvia black and blue – both of these have been on my shopping list for a while – so lovely to see them in your garden.
    Karen

    Thanks Karen. I’m glad I was able to show you two plants that are on your wish list. Niobe is a wonderful Clematis with it’s deep color & it is a rebloomer. Salvia Black & Blue is new to my garden this year and I love it. It has been blooming on & off since I purchased it in August.

    Reply

  17. That is really cool, the slide thing. I just posted my BGGD and wish I would have used that. it makes everything look so nice and clean!

    Love all of the pics!
    Happy BGGD

    Thanks Zach, I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow presentation of my GBBD blooms! 🙂

    Reply

  18. I love Knockout roses because they are so easy to care for, but their flowers can’t compare to that beautiful “Peace” rose. Your garden certainly is still alive with color! I asked someone about the “Black and Blue” salvia, but now I can’t remember who I asked to check back for a reply! So, sorry, if I’m repeating myself–is it an annual or perennial? It’s a lovely shade of blue.

    The Knockouts are a wonderful long blooming & carefree rose, but their blooms are not as fabulous as the hybrids. I actually cut that rose this afternoon when it opened to bring in the house. From the info I gathered on the Black & Blue, it is suppose to be a hardy in zones 7-10 (I’m 7b). I’ll let you know if it comes back next year. The color is fantastic, in fact I couldn’t even capture the deepness of the blue with the camera. It brightens it up some, it’s a deep azure blue.

    Reply

  19. Forgot to add I really liked the slide show!

    Thanks Rose, I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on October 15, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    You still have quite a lovely show going on there in Virginia.
    Donna

    Thanks Donna. I’m glad you enjoyed the show today. 😉

    Reply

  21. Hi Rachel,
    I am new to blogging, but not gardening. I love your slide show. We grow some of the same plants. I want to try those toad lilies and the Robert Poore phlox, which I’ve heard is resistant to disease.

    Sue

    Hi Sue, welcome to blogging. I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow of blooms today. The toadlillies and phlox are great perennials for the garden. Robert Poore is really disease resistant & a power house bloomer in the garden. It’s been blooming all summer and still is putting out blooms.

    Reply

  22. Very nice slide show. We have many of the same plants.

    Thanks Deb, glad you enjoyed my slideshow today. 🙂

    Reply

  23. Raqcuel, I really like the slideshow idea and yours was full of fun blooms. Those pink verbena are so pretty. I keep wondering about trying the white butterfly bush… only have the purples. Are the butterflies just as attracted to white? Enjoyed your post.
    meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Hi Meems, I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow of blooms today. The butterflies seems just as interested in the white blooms of the Butterfly Bush. It is very fragrant & prolific with blooms.

    Reply

  24. Great slide show, Racquel. Amazed at what is still popping before the frost hits. I just love toadlilies!

    Thanks Joey. I’m glad you liked the slideshow of blooms today. I love Toadlillies too, very pretty little flowers. 🙂

    Reply

  25. Beautiful hydrangeas Raquel and I enjoyed the way you presented them in the slideshow. Very novel.

    Thanks Stuart, I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow of my blooms.

    Reply

  26. Hi Raquel,

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I visited your blog and wanted to thank you for the link to that slide show program. Pretty neat. I may start doing some like yours soon.

    Hi Cindy, you are quite welcome. I hope you enjoy putting together your own slideshow presentations. 🙂

    Reply

  27. Lovely slide show – the salvia Black and Blue is very striking.

    Thanks Happy, I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow & especially the Black & Blue. It is a striking color. 🙂

    Reply

  28. Wonderful slide show! Your garden is lovely in October. I love the white blooms on your butterfly bush!!

    Liisa

    Thanks Liisa. I’m glad you enjoyed my slideshow of October blooms today. That White Butterfly Bush is a must in my garden, it attracts so much wildlife. 🙂

    Reply

  29. Goodness, I am late in commenting! I enjoyed your slide show, you do have a lot going on in your garden in October. Thanks for joining in for bloom day!

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

    Reply

Leave a Reply

