Natural Beauty

Butterflies … not quite birds, as they were not quite flowers, mysterious and fascinating as are all indeterminate creatures. –Elizabeth Goudge 

17 responses to this post.

  1. I adore butterflies!
    Shirley

    Me too Shirley. They are nature’s flowers. Thanks for visiting today. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Yes they are very beautiful, it is rare though that I can catch them with opened wings with my camera. 😦 /LOL Tyra

    Thanks Tyra. I captured several pictures of this Monarch on my Butterfly Bush, but this was the only shot where he displayed his colorful wings open for me. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I’ll always stop where the word ‘butterfly’ is mentioned! Loved the picture and the quote!

    Thanks Kanak. I’m glad you stopped by today to enjoy my butterfly photo. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Wow-great picture. I see them flying, but never get a photo opportunity. Thanks for sharing yours!

    I’m glad you enjoyed my butterfly photo today Linda. 🙂 You are quite welcome!

    Reply

  5. I finally captured a Monarch last evening. Beautiful butterfly.

    Can’t wait to see the photo Darla! Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply

  6. What a super visitor and great picture to remember it by! Like the poem too.

    Thanks Tina. I took several pictures a week ago of this Monarch. I’m glad you liked the poem too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I enjoy watching them so much! I love the way they just kind of float along looking for some beautiful bloom to say hello to. Enjoyed the quote too!

    I do too, Susie. 🙂 Especially the Monarchs with their colorful wings. Glad you enjoyed the photo & quote too.

    Reply

  8. There are still a few Monarchs around, but the Swallowtails seem to be gone. I spotted a sulpher or two and a gorgeous Frittilary, too. Cameron

    Same here Cameron. Our areas must be quite similar. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Beautiful photo. I don’t believe I’ve see a white butterfly bush(buddleia).
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. I’ve had that Butterfly for about 5-6 years now. It is a great long time bloomer. I would love to have a purple variety.

    Reply

  10. Love them too!! Although they’ve been gone from my garden for awhile now. Lucky you to still have them in yours.

    I do feel quite blessed to still have them lingering in the garden. They love that Butterfly Bush!

    Reply

  11. If they would only hold their beautiful wings open so we can all get great photos! Beautiful visitor and flower, Racquel. I had a Monarch visitor recently, they were scarce this year, so when one showed up I followed it from flower to flower trying to catch an open winged shot;-) Gail

    I took several pics of this beauty & this was the only shot I got with the wings open. Thanks Gail, I’m glad you enjoyed the photo today. They have been few & far between here too Gail. Sometimes you just get lucky & have your camera with you. 🙂

    Reply

  12. What a great photo! That butterfly is so big, and I love the little white flowers it’s resting on. There’s just something wonderful and entrancing about butterflies. Lovely quote, too!

    Thanks Paula. I’m glad you enjoyed the butterfly photo & quote today! 🙂

    Reply

  13. What a beautiful monarach! I love the accompanying poem as well.

    Thanks Cindy, glad you enjoyed the poem & picture of the Monarch today. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Perfect in flight capture!!! Can’t beat a monarch!

    Thanks Carla, I was real pleased with this shot. 🙂 I took a bunch of pictures of this Monarch & this was the only one with his wings open.

    Reply

  15. Your butterfly quote by Elizabeth Goudge reminds me that I used to read some of her writing…years ago. They were lovely books…think I’ll go to the library and get one. That butterfly is beautiful.

    Glad I reminded you of a favorite author. Thanks Balisha. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Hi Racquel, so wonderful to see the monarch in your garden. We have a couple of them at present but the vast numbers of butterflies are gone. I worry that they need to get moving too to reach their destination.
    Frances

    Hi Frances, I’m glad you enjoyed my visitor. I’m sure you are right about them migrating south for the winter. The weather is getting cooler in the mornings & evenings now. The days here are still quite warm though.

    Reply

  17. Great monarch picture. I love the quote.

    Thanks Laurie & Chris. I’m glad you enjoyed my Monarch photo & quote today. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

