Spring Bulbs

My order of spring bulbs from vanBourgondien came yesterday in the mail.  I’m quite happy with the choices I made for planting this fall in the garden.  They had a great sale that is still going on until November 13th, if you buy $50.00 worth of bulbs you get $25.00 discount.  You can’t beat a 50% discount at this time of the year.  In addition they enclosed their spring catalog for bulbs and perennials with a coupon for the same discount.  That should give me something to drool over for the next couple of months.   I’m sure by now you are curious on what I ordered…so I won’t keep you in anticipation any longer. (all pictures are from the Dutch Bulbs website)  You can click on any photo to enlarge it!

All of these will be new additions except the Drumstick Alliums which I have grown for years.  Every year I order more to spread around to other garden beds, because the blooms last a long time.   You just can’t go wrong with Alliums, they are so easy & reliable year after year.   I can’t wait until next spring when the new foliage starts emerging and all these wonderful new blooms make their first appearance in my garden.  Now I have even more new things to anticipate for next year.  What kinds of bulbs did you order for next spring?

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on October 11, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I got the same grape hyacinth ‘Bicolor,’ they look really cute! Happy bulb planting.

    Sounds like we have similar tastes GW. 🙂 I love Grape Hyacinth mixed with Daffodils & this bi-color is so unique. I’m still thinking of where I will put it in the garden.

    Reply

  2. Oh…I’m still trying to choose and that is extremely hard, I want them ALL! Narcissus Grandiflora ‘Paperwhite’ and Hyacinthus ‘ Woodstock’ I grown Woodstock before and they are a favorite. Then I need some more tulips….as I said still choosing/ LOL Tyra

    Sounds like you have some great choices already Tyra. 🙂 It is hard to choose when you see all the gorgeous pictures of them blooming in the catalogs. lol

    Reply

  3. Yay, you got Purple Sensation Allium too! I am so excited for mine to grow in the spring. I can’t wait to see yours as well. It will be fun to compare. I just adore them.

    Thanks Laurie, I am very excited too. I adore Allium & it will be neat to compare how they do in each other’s gardens.

    Reply

  4. I can’t wait to see how your foxtails grow. I have always wanted them. Sounds like a good sale.

    Me too, Tina, lol. Usually when I seem them they are the mixed colors, so it was nice to find some that were a just yellow. It was a great sale. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Those alliums are really nice looking. Never grown them. Very rarely do I ever plant bulbs but I have planted iris, daffodils and cannas as well as caladiums.

    Actually, now that I think of it I do have some iris’ planted.

    Bulbs are so easy Susie, I can’t believe you rarely plant them. I couldn’t imagine my garden without spring, summer & fall bulbs. Sounds like you have some great rhizomes & bulbs already planted with the Iris, Canna, Caladiums & Daffodils. You should try Alliums too!

    Reply

  6. Thanks for asking Racquel. I just ordered an Lilies-Orienpet mixture, Allium Sensation, Crocus sativus and vernus. But apparently, I need to order more alliums, thanks for the ideas. Happy planting!

    Great picks Gail! You can’t go wrong with Alliums. One of my favorite late spring-early summer bulbs! You are quite welcome and Happy Planting to you too. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Heck! I didn’t order any. Not so sure what companies are good. Have been thinking about it though. I will check out the company you mentioned. Thanks as usual you are a tremendous help and an inspiration.

    I’ve ordered from this company for years and been very happy with their product. Another one this is great is http://www.brentandbeckysbulbs.com Darla. You are quite welcome. Glad I could inspire you!

    Reply

  8. Okay, so I could spend all day at that website!!!

    Thank you so much! 🙂

    Reply

  9. You have your order already! 🙂 Mine should be here next week. I’ve got the purple sensation allium and two colors of Dutch irises coming soon…probably late October for my zone. You’ll have a gorgeous spring bloom season! I’m wondering when the alliums will really bloom here. My Dutch irises are among the first to bloom in April, but I think the alliums may come later. Cameron

    I was shocked too Cameron. In fact I got an email Thursday evening saying they had been shipped & got them yesterday afternoon. 🙂 My Drumstick Alliums normally bloom in late May here. I have a yellow & white Dutch Iris that blooms in April, that I love! Sounds like we have the same taste in plants.

    Reply

  10. Great selections Racquel. I bet they are planted already too??!! I would love to add more foxtail lilies to my garden. It took three years for my lone plant to bloom but it was worth the wait. I bought many alliums, a few daffodils and tulips and a couple fritilleries (sp?) I love those bi-colored grape hyacinths tho. I didn’t see any of those! Can’t wait to see the pics of your garden next spring.

    Thanks Kathleen. Nope, haven’t planted them yet. I will soon. 🙂 I’m very excited about the Foxtail Lillies because I’ve wanted some for years now. I got a package of three so hopefully they do well. Sounds like you purchased some great selections too. Tulips just don’t work here because we are too warm, I will have to enjoy yours next spring.

    Reply

  11. As much as I hate planting bulbs, I so welcome them in spring. You’ve chosen some beauties that will delight you for sure. I love Allium ‘Purple Sensation’, fun to photograph and stunning in my back garden (I’ll think of you when mine bloom). Actually, heading out this weekend to choose my bulbs but might consider ordering after reading this post 😉

    I don’t mind planting them so much, it is just trying to figure out where they would look best & then remembering to mark that area so I don’t disturb it. Come spring I am always happy with the results. Thanks I’m very excited about Purple Sensation Allium. Alliums are one of my very favorite bulbs to grow. They bloom for quite awhile too. I found some great deals at Lowes on bulbs too, but might look around at some of the upscale garden centers too. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Seeing those gorgeous spring blooms is making me long for spring already. I wish we could skip winter and just go straight to spring!

    Me too Robin, me too! 🙂 It will be here before you know it. I’m sure the garden needs a nice nap so it can rejuvenate itself for another season of blooms.

    Reply

  13. I picked up some more of some of my favourites, Puschkinia libanotica and Muscari ‘Blue Spike’.
    I got a few new types of some old favourites too. One is Muscari azureum, which are a pretty light blue. Another are the white variety of Chionodoxa.
    I also am trying again with Galanthus.

    All great choices! I love all the wonderful bulbs and their new varieties they have available right now. It is going to be exciting new spring with these wonderful blooms.

    Reply

  14. I am going tomorrow to buy bulbs-not to plant, but to get in the frig so I can plant in Novenber. I think I’ll buy tulips, hyacinths and maybe some daffodils.
    I love to think spring!

    Sounds like a great plan Linda. I use to do that to get Tulips to bloom here, I don’t have to do that with daffodils or hyacinths. Spring will be here before we know it. Look at all the wonder things we will have to look forward to. 🙂

    Reply

  15. I like those foxtail lilys. I don’t believe I’ve seen them before. I love alliums too, they are one of my favorite bulbs.

    Thanks Cindy. I’ve wanted some Foxtail Lilys for years. They usually come in mixed colors. I like this solid yellow. Alliums are one of my favorite bulbs too. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I love those daffodil minnows!

    Aren’t they sweet! I love miniature daffodils.

    Reply

  17. They look like some interesting choices. I’m looking forward to seeing them in the spring!

    Thanks Dave, I’m looking forward to seeing them next spring too. 🙂

    Reply

  18. These should look lovely in your garden! I just spent some time last night deciding where I was going to plant all the bulbs I’ve bought. I think I got a little carried away–I have nearly 300! I bought mostly tulips and daffodils, but some hyacinths and crocuses as well.

    Thanks Rose! I’m happy with the choices I made this year. 🙂 Wow, that’s alot of bulbs you bought, can’t wait to see pictures next year. I love Tulips but they just don’t do well here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

