Seedheads and Berries

Nothing extends the season of interest for a plant like the addition of interesting seedheads or berries.  I like to add plants to my garden that have variegated foliage, edible berries, or unique seedheads.  These are a few of my favorite season extenders pictured above.  Nandinas are evergreen and provide small white clusters of blooms in the spring.  These small blooms are followed by berries that age from a light green to a deep red.  The evergreen foliage becomes quite colorful in the fall.  The Viburnum has leathery like foliage with blooms in the spring followed by berries that start out pink and deepen to a cobalt blue.  SAC (Sweet Autumn Clematis) is a evergreen vine that produces fragrant white blossoms in late summer followed by unique seedheads in the fall.   Salvia ‘Black & Blue’ produces the most vibrant shade of blue tubular shaped flowers  on black stems.  These little black shells are left after the blossom withers away.  Lirope is a grassy like perennial that produces new green foliage each spring followed by purple spikes of bloom in the summer and then these green seed like berries.  The unknown Clematis produces a beautiful lavender bloom w/red stripes in the summer that are followed by these twirly tendrils that is the seedhead.  Now I don’t plant Pokeweed in my garden but it manages to show up somewhere in my yard each year thanks to the birds.  The green circular blooms are followed by purple berries that are poisonous to mammals but the birds eat them.  My Crepe Myrtle produces these flower buds that are deep red that open into a hot pink blossom followed by a brown seed pod.  And last but not least is the Thunbergia or Blackeyed Susan vine that has these cone shaped pods that produce a bright yellow flower with black center.  When the flower fades the green pod remains open and the seed forms inside.   What kinds of interesting seedheads or berries do you have growing in your garden?

20 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel, such an assortment of seed heads and berries. I know the birds in your area thank you for all your lovelies. And you are right about them extending the interest of a garden. Thanks for sharing.

    You are quite welcome Beckie, I’m glad you enjoyed my assortment of seedheads & berries.

    Reply

  2. Hi Racquel, I think I love the viburnums best. There is something about blue berries with the reddish foliage that really adds to the fall landscape. You are a good steward to the birds and critters to provide them an array of delicous delights.
    Frances

    Hi Frances, the Viburnums are quite special with their blue berries. I haven’t noticed any foliage coloring yet, but soon I hope. Thanks, I hope to add more specimens to my garden for the birds & other critters.

    Reply

  3. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on October 9, 2008 at 6:42 am

    I love Nandina. It performs better than anything else with berries in my garden. Sun, shade, wet, dry conditions are no problem.
    Donna

    It is a diehard plant no matter what you throw at it Donna. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Pretty pix. The thunbergia is a vine that I’ve not yet planted at this house. I don’t know why since I loved having it at a previous house. Thanks for the reminder! Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, I’m glad I could remind you about the Thunbergia vine for your garden next season.

    Reply

  5. lots of interest and bird food with the berries and seed heads in your garden Racquel!

    We have a few different kinds of viburnums here, serviceberries, a couple of fruiting dogwoods, cedars with juniper berries, mulberries, elderberries, and honeysuckles. The rudbeckias and echinacea seedheads are left for the birds, squirrels, and bunnies too. Too bad the bunnies eat the echineas before they’re done blooming. I guess they like the immature seeds, or maybe they just want to get the blooms before the finches get to enjoy the seeds.

    Thanks Linda! I would like to add more wildlife attracting plants to my garden. Sounds like you have a great variety of berries in your garden. I would love to add Beauty Berry & Serviceberry to my yard in the future. My Echinaceas & Rudbeckias seedheads are left for the birds too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. This the time of year that our plants take on a different look. Thank you for sharing.

    Another season of interest in the garden, you are quite welcome.

    Reply

  7. Being the highly intelligent gardener that you are Racquel, have you checked inside those little black shells on the salvia for seed?

    Do you grow beauty berry? I don’t remember seeing it in your past posts. It is a beautiful shrub.

    Thanks Susie, I haven’t checked for seed yet on the B&B. I will though, now that you reminded me! 🙂 I don’t have a Beautyberry, but it is on my wishlist. Thinking of the perfect location for it in my garden….

    Reply

  8. I’ve found I enjoy the seedheads left by the clematis, too. The “twirly tendrils” are unique. I don’t have the “Black and blue” salvia, but I do have “Victoria blue,” which also leaves interesting seed pods all winter after its brilliant color finally fades. Interesting post!
    I love the marker Tina made you–I’m so glad you posted it because I wanted to see it.

    Thanks Rose, I’m glad you enjoyed the post today. Seedheads can add another dimension to the garden when the blooms fade. Isn’t that marker Tina made the best! I love it!

    Reply

  9. Is your viburnum blue muffin? Very pretty berries. I like the clematis seedheads too. Not as dramatic as the flowers, more subtle and graceful.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, actually my Viburnum is ‘Winterthur’. The Clematis seedheads do have a graceful presence in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Those Viburnum berries are fantastic! I’ll bet you have lots of bird activity around them. I’m always too quick to deadhead my Clematis, so I never get to see the seedheads. I’ve finally left the ‘Crystal Fountain’ alone, but I don’t know whether it’s funky center will produce good seedheads.

    Thanks MMD! I usually deadhead the early Clematis blooms but leave the last bunch of stragglers in the fall on the vine. ‘Crystal Fountain’ is a beautiful cultivar, hope you share pics of the seedheads.

    Reply

  11. Very interesting info on some of your plants. The berries and seed pods do make the plant a little more interesting to watch. Thanks again for sharing.

    Thanks Darla. I’m glad I could share some interesting info about berries & seedpods with you.

    Reply

  12. Those black and blue seedpods look like little bird beaks asking for food. Very cool. I like clematis seedheads too, the flowering tobacco pods, and the milkweed seedpods best. Any that show up really well are fun for me.

    They do look like little bird beaks Tina, lol. That’s how I feel too, just another layer of interest in the garden.

    Reply

  13. I love the Viburnum, too, though I don’t have any. There is a bush just off our balcony that has lovely red berries — jodi (bloomingwriter) identified it for me last winter, but now I can’t remember what it was. The birds love it, though. Ah, found the post! http://tinyurl.com/4d7szv Viburnum trilobum — an American Cranberry Bush?

    Sounds like you do have a wonderful Viburnum in your garden. The American Cranberry Viburnum is a wonderful native plant.

    Reply

  14. You posted a good question, and as I sit here at work trying to think of my yard-I think it would be the wax myrtle. There are little berry things, but I don’t think they ever bloom-I’m not sure what they do, but they are cute! 🙂

    What a wonderful shrub to have in your garden Linda. The roots of this plant were used in remedies for mouth sores & for soap. The berries were used in the making of candles in colonial times.

    Reply

  15. Hey pop on over to my blog, please, and see if you know about the Mexican Sunflower. Would love to know if the info I posted is correct for what you know. Thanks!!

    I will stop by! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Hi Racquel,
    Interesting post. I was able to identify one of my bushes in the woods with your pictures. A little funny…..My clematis had 4 seedheads in a row on the stems. They reminded me of the Beetles with their funny haircuts.

    Hi Balisha, glad you enjoyed my post and you were able to identify one of your bushes. Was it a Viburnum or a Nandina? That is funny about the Clematis seedheads, lol. They are funny little hairdos. 🙂

    Reply

  17. I completely agree! Letting a plant go to seed is part of the fun for me. I love how you’ve showcased them to let others in on the fun.

    Thanks Cindy. It does add some interest in the fall & winter months when the blooms are long gone. I’m glad you enjoyed my showcase today. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Such an interesting post, Racquel. Love the blue-black salvia. Have thought about one seed head. And you’ve given me an idea for a future post. Thanks.

    Thanks Kanak, I’m glad you found my post interesting today. Glad I could inspire you do a post on a seedhead from your garden. Look forward to reading it. 🙂

    Reply

  19. I just love all the berry and seeds posts going around garden blogs these days. Gives such a feeling of autumn and change of season. The birds and critters of the garden appreciate the food they offer too. Lovely post, Raquel. Enjoy the rest of your evening.
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Thanks Meems, it does have an Autumn feel with the berries, nuts & seeds. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  20. Those are beautiful blue berries. My best berries that last a long time are my hollies. I have two female hollies, one on each side of my front door that have gorgeous red berries. I hide the male holly around the side of the yard where no one sees it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

