Jamestown Settlement Part 2

I kept meaning to show more pictures from my visit to Jamestown last month, but other things kept distracting me in the garden.  For the first part of this post you can look here.   Not only did they have a recreated Indian village, but the Fort where the first settlers spent years trying to establish a way of life in the New World.  Here are some pictures of the recreated Fort:

“In 1607, 13 years before the Pilgrims landed in Massachusetts, a group of 104 English men and boys began a settlement on the banks of Virginia’s James River. They were sponsored by the Virginia Company of London, whose stockholders hoped to make a profit from the resources of the New World. The community suffered terrible hardships in its early years, but managed to endure, earning the distinction of being America’s first permanent English colony.” (www.historyisfun.org)

The Outer Walls of the Fort

The Outer Walls of the Fort

The walls of the fort were massive in size and had holes for the cannons to fire through.

Blacksmith Shed

Blacksmith Shed

The Colonists realized they would need artisans to make living in the wilderness possible.  They had their own Blacksmith, Boatmakers and Carpenters to make what they would need for everyday life.

Armory

Armory

They even had their own Armory to store pistols, rifles, gunpowder, swords, helmuts etc.  These are all working reproductions on display here. 

Church

Church

They even had their own Church in the Fort.  The Church has a brick floor and glass windows while the other buildings had dirt floors and wooden shutters.  I liked the exposed beams and the simple wooden pews.

Storage Building

Storage Building

Several building were devoted to storage of dry goods.  This building is for drying meat & food storage.  It is attached to the kitchen with a huge hearth for cooking over a wood fire. 

Kitchen Gardens

Kitchen Gardens

I noticed the majority of the homes had small Kitchen Gardens.  The houses were two room buildings with a main room with a table to eat at and then a small sleeping area. 

Governor's House

Governor

Wish I had taken a better photo of this building.   I forgot my digital camera & ended up using one of those disposable cameras. 😦  This building I think must of been their Govenor’s house, it had glass in the small windows and nice furniture compared to the other homes.  It wasn’t much bigger than the other’s homes.  In the background you can see one of the gun platforms for the cannons.    I hope you enjoyed my short tour of the Jamestown Settlement today.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for part II of the tour. It makes me want to head up there soon. I don’t think I have been inside the fort since a field trip in 3rd grade, which was long enough ago that the President was Nixon or maybe even Johnson!

    You are quite welcome Les. I can’t believe it’s been that long since you’ve been there. We usually go every few years normally when family comes in town from out of state.

    Reply

  2. That is really neat. I have never been there before. I like the church too. Reminds me of a camp far out in the woods.

    Thanks Tina. I’m glad you enjoyed part 2 of the visit. If you ever get to my area you should definitely visit Jamestown & Yorktown. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Those pics remind me of when my parents used to take me to Virginia for vacations. We went to Jamestown many times as well as visited plantations in other areas.
    We also went to Jamestown on our senior class trip when I was in high school.
    Many memories seeing those pics.

    Glad you were able to relive some memories of visiting my area with your family & school. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I enjoyed Part II of your visit as well. I think I wrote in your first post how much it brought back memories for me. Lucky you to live nearby and visit whenever you’d like!

    Thanks Kathleen. I’m glad you enjoyed Part 2 of the visit as well. Glad I could bring back happy memories. The funny part is when you live close by these places you take them for granted. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the continuation of the tour. I like the idea to have an outdoor kitchen with it’s own garden. It would definitely keep your house cooler in the summer.

    You are quite welcome Susie. It would be a nice way to keep the hot cool in the summer. They had a clay oven for baking outside too which was kind of neat.

    Reply

  6. Fascinating! Thanks for the info. My gggggggggrandfather came to MA in the mid-1600’s, so this actual look is very interesting to me. I will research further. I’d love to know the surnames of those who came first. Thanks!

    You are welcome Kathryn. It is very interesting to see our roots & history in the making on display. I’m glad I could inspire you to do some further research.

    Reply

  7. Thanks for the virtual tour Racquel! 🙂 I would of course have been drawn to the kitchen garden! 😉

    YW Cynthia! I found myself drawn to the gardens there too. 🙂 It’s an occupational hazard I guess, lol

    Reply

  8. I really want to be able to take the boys to Jamestown before they grow up and move away. Thanks for sharing the pictures.

    If you ever get the opportunity to take them you should, they would really enjoy it. My teenagers had a good time. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Raquel: Hi. What a nice tour of Jamestown and very informative. Those folks were made of something very different than our comfy, don’t-ask-me-to-work-too-hard culture of today. They had to have some backbone and tireless energy to make life happen. Would love to visit there someday… so rich in history.
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Hi Meems, I’m glad you enjoyed the tour of Jamestown. I couldn’t imagine living back then, it must of been a hard life. You should definitely see it if you’re ever in the area. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by spookydragonfly on October 6, 2008 at 4:46 am

    It has about 40 years since I’ve been to Jamestown, my father was a history buff, anything to do with american history and past wars, we visited on our vacations. It was nice to see this post…brought back memories!

    Glad I could bring back some nice childhood memories for you Kim! 🙂

    Reply

  11. MY ASTERS ARE BLOOMING!!! HAPPY HAPPY ME!!!! (yes I AM shouting!) Perfect post!

    Thanks Carla, lol. I’m glad your Asters are blooming, it’s exciting when something new or you’ve been waiting for blooms in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

