Look what I got in the mail…

 

Pinky Winky Hydrangea

Pinky Winky Hydrangea

Ever since Joy showed off her blooms for this wonderful Hydrangea, I’ve been anticipating the arrival of my last wishlist item for the garden.  She is going to be a great addition to my Hydrangea collection.  Hopefully ‘Pinky Winky’ is a prolific bloomer like ‘Limelight’ has been this year.   Here’s some information about this new addition to my garden:

  • Provides fall interest
  • Deciduous shrub
  • Great for cut fresh flowers 
  • Great for dried arrangements
  • Drought tolerant after established
  • Blooms midsummer to fall on new wood
  • Sun or part sun exposure
  • Dry to normal water needs
  • Gets 72-96″ tall  w/upright habit
  • Trim into small shrub or tree shape
  • Two-toned white & pink flowers
  • Hardy in zones 3-9
24 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel, This looks like a hydrangea I could grow. On my wish list it goes!

    Hi Beckie. Glad I could introduce you to another hardy hydrangea for your wishlist! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Woo Hoo–bravo. I love Pinky Winky and Joy says we have a Pinky Winky club—now you belong.

    Hey, I like your header.

    Thanks Anna! I was going to link you in this post too, but I couldn’t get into your website last night to find the post you did about Pinky! 🙂 I’m glad to be a member of the Pinky Winky Club with you & Joy. You gals inspired me to put this on my wishlist. Thanks, I’m glad you like my header. It’s fun being able to adjust it with the seasons. 🙂

    Reply

  3. How exciting!

    Thanks Darla! 🙂 I am pretty excited about this new addition to my Hydrangea collection.

    Reply

  4. Useless trivia time: the breeder of ‘Pinky Winky’ did name it in honor of his young child’s favorite TV show – The Teletubbies.

    What a great piece of trivia Les. I wondered about the name…it seemed familiar somehow. I don’t have young children anymore. lol

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, I have been looking at this one and know it is better at surviving the drought we have than the macrophyllas. Congrats on belonging to Joy’s club, LOL. I like the header photo too, isn’t it fun to find shots for it? I look forward to watching PW grow to maturity in your lovely garden.
    Frances

    Hi Frances. If it is anything like my Limelight it should be find with our hot & dry summers. The mopheads are such babies when it comes to drought. I’m proud to be in Joy’s Pinky Winky Club! 🙂 Thanks, it is fun to change up the header depending on the season or the post. Your headers are so creative. Thanks again, I hope it is everything it’s hyped up to be. I know Limelight has lived up to my expectations and then some.

    Reply

  6. Dry to normal water needs…Racquel you are speaking my language!
    I must check this cutie pie plant out as soon as possible! Thanks for posting and sharing your mail order friend! Gail

    Hi Gail! I’m glad Pinky Winky is right up your alley, lol. I’m sure I will give her a little extra attention for the first couple of months she is in the garden, but she should get plenty of time to establish before next summer rolls around & wreaks havoc again. You are quite welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I saw photos in one of my new catalogs. It looks great. Let us know.
    Marnie

    Hi Marnie, I will keep you updated on Pinky Winky’s progress in my garden.

    Reply

  8. Good luck! Yours looks way better than the one I received in the mail. Let us know how it does.

    Thanks Tina. She does look pretty healthy! I got her through Spring Hill Nursery online. They have great selections and the plants always look great when they arrive. I will keep you in the loop on her progress. 🙂

    Reply

  9. What a cute name… 🙂

    Hi Balisha! Thanks, lol. According to Les, she was named for the daughter of the creator’s favorite children’s show character.

    Reply

  10. What Balisha said 🙂

    Thanks Mom, see what I told Balisha. 🙂

    Reply

  11. That looks really cute.(-: Love the name too!!!(-;

    Thanks Cindee! I like the name too. 😉

    Reply

  12. Good luck with your new plant, Raquel. Forgot to mention the other day that i really like your header and the beautiful quote on it!

    Thank you so much Kanak! I’m glad you like my fall header & quote too! 🙂

    Reply

  13. How exciting for you, particularly if it shows some fall color!

    Thanks Nancy, fall color is always a great bonus in perennials & shrubs. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Congrats on your new addition Racquel! I’m sure it will do great with all your newly amended soil. Be sure and post photos next year!

    Thanks Kathleen! 🙂 I have great expectations with the new soil & home for this plant. I will keep everyone updated over the next year on the progress.

    Reply

  15. Oh, I can’t wait to see Pinky Winky in bloom. I just love that name, it will be going in my head all day now.

    Me too Cindy! Maybe next summer I’ll get a few blooms, I know with shrubs, sometimes it takes a couple of seasons for them to shine. It is a fun name! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Good luck with your Pinky Winky!

    Thanks Dave! I appreciate it. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Holy Smokes Racquel !!
    You are using the “force” and now in the “Pinky” club : ) ..
    This is a tidal wave we are riding now .. hang on ! LOL
    Is it me, or does your blog look way cool and different now .. I have lost what was left of my brain .. probably under the bed with the rest of the dust bunnies ; )

    lol, Joy, lol! I am very excited to by in the “Pinky” club! You & Anna inspired me to add this wonderful Hydrangea to my garden this fall. After seeing the beautiful blooms, I just knew I had to have it. 😉 I have been working on dressing up my blog, new header & new theme. Glad you like it! You are so funny! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Okay with a name like that you just got to have it!! Seriously, it sounds like a great shrub. I look forward to seeing bloom photos.

    Isn’t that the truth, Susie. If you click on the link “Joy” you can can see what her blooms look like now. I can’t wait to see mine bloom. It is going to be a great addition to my Hydrangea collection.

    Reply

  19. This will be a great addition to your garden–I saw these on Joy’s posts, too. Beckie and I just checked out plant sales again today, but the Pinky Winkys were all sold out! I did buy the Limelight I’ve been wanting, though:)

    Thanks Rose. After seeing Joy’s Pinky Winky, I knew I had to add it to my garden. It must be quite popular, because it just came on the market this past spring. I think you will be very happy with Limelight. She’s a beauty too!

    Reply

  20. Hydrangea are beautiful, I should get some more too. Mine is still struggling to bloom though, so I may have to live out that dream vicariously looking at yours.

    They have become my new favorite shrubs for the garden Cinj. I hope you don’t have to live vicariously through mine.

    Reply

  21. I’m looking forward to seeing the blooms on this one! I love hydrangea, but can’t grow it well here because our summers are too intense (although I do have one that hangs on every year). I’ll have to love yours from afar. 😉

    Me too Cindy! You must have some really hot summers. I will post pictures for you to admire when it starts blooming. 🙂

    Reply

  22. Posted by spookydragonfly on October 3, 2008 at 4:16 am

    I’ve seen the Pinky Winky in my catalogs snd hsve considered giving it a try. It is very attractive…anxious to see how Pinky does for you. I really love the hydrangea…and they do well for me. Don’t you just love flipping through the new nursery catalogs?

    Thanks Spooky! I will have to keep you in the loop so you can see Pinky’s progress over the next year or so. I love Hydrangeas to, and I absolutely love nursery catalogs! 🙂

    Reply

  23. This sounds like a winner!
    I look forward to seeing it bloom on your site!
    Best,
    Philip

    That’s what I hoping for Phillip. Promise to keep everyone updated on Pinky’s progress in my garden over the next year or so. 🙂 Thanks for visiting today.

    Reply

  24. Hi Racquel, they’re wonderful hydrangeas. The only thing I don’t like about them is their name – just a bit too cutesy for me. I don’t think that little obstacle will stop me from getting one though.

    Hi Linda. They do seem like great hydrangeas. The name is cute but names don’t mean that much to me when it comes to plants. I’m more interested in the hardiness, length of bloom etc…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

