Silly string in the garden?

Sweet Autumn Clematis

Sweet Autumn Clematis

I thought the masses of sweet smelling snowflake blossoms at full flush were a great selling point for this vigorous climber.   However, after the blooms start to fade you are left with interesting seedheads that look just like silly string has invaded the garden.

24 responses to this post.

  1. At first I thought it was dodder. I had dodder come into my garden on some coreopsis and had no idea what it was but it looks just like this! Bad stuff it is and the plant and all went to the dump. I should have posted on it but I was so embarrassed I had it and did not know what it was that all I could think of was getting rid of it! lol At any rate, you have a mass of seeds; which I think are a delight.

    Never heard of dodder Tina. Hope I don’t ever get any of that on my perennials! I’m glad you found my SAC seedheads delightful!

    Reply

  2. Just when I start to forget just how much I want to get a Sweet Autumn Clematis you go and post this picture! Now I really want this plant! I love how Clematis can get the most interesting seedheads.

    Glad I could refresh your memory to add this plant to your wishlist. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the interesting seedheads on SAC.

    Reply

  3. That’s pretty cool looking.

    Thanks Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I’ve not ever seen that before. It is really interesting looking. Silly string is the perfect description for it.

    Thanks Susie. The seedheads are interesting & an added bonus for SAC. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Looks kind of like a bad hair day! 🙂

    lol Linda! It does kind of look that way…:)

    Reply

  6. Great, unusual picture. Mine will look like that in another week or so.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie! Just another great feature of SAC. I know you are fond of this plant too.

    Reply

  7. Most unusual plant I have ever seen.

    Thanks Leedra. Glad you stopped by today! 🙂

    Reply

  8. A second show from the seedheads is great. I’m liking this SAC idea more and more.

    It is an added bonus MMD! I always enjoy interesting seedheads especially in the fall & winter months. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply

  9. It does look like silly string — those darned fairies! 😉 What a unique plant.

    Never thought about the garden fairies…lol Thanks Nancy. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Looks like playful stuff to me, too! 🙂

    Thanks Cameron. I”m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Interesting affect, isn’t it? I was just noticing these seed heads on my neighbors clematis but I didn’t think of the silly string comparision!

    Yes it is Kathleen! I don’t know what made me think of it, but it really looked like silly string to me. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I guess I’ve never seen so many seed heads at this stage! Cool-and kind of creepy!

    It is quite massive Carla. They are kind of creepy…like a Halloween decoration. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I love the abstractness of that photo. It’s always nice to have additional interest from a plant beyond the peak of blooming.

    Thanks Cindy. I just noticed the abstract quality of the photo myself. 🙂 Isn’t that the truth, added interest is a big bonus in plants.

    Reply

  14. Great picture, Racquel. Do you get lots of volunteers? I had three this year, two of which I just found (one was growing through a large camellia and I didn’t see it until it flowered–nice surprise!)

    Thanks Cosmo! I get a few, not tons. They do pop up in the strangest places. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Looks like the plant is full of creepy crawlies, getting ready for Halloween 🙂

    Thanks Mom, lol. Someone else mentioned the same thing. I didn’t even think about it until now. 🙂

    Reply

  16. That is a wonderful photo – the structure is amazing.

    Glad you enjoyed the photo of my SAC seed pods today. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Posted by mothernaturesgarden on October 1, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    It’s perfect for Halloween if it is still the same then.

    It is quite spooky looking Donna. I don’t remember how long the seed pods stay around…we’ll see.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Sandy on October 1, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    It does make for a nice photo. Is it hard to clean up?

    Thanks Sandy. Not too bad. I just whack it back once the heavy frost hits it and it stays dormant (but green) till spring when it perks back up.

    Reply

  19. Posted by greenwalks on October 1, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Hilarious! I love how you can barely see the leaves in that shot.

    Thanks GW! Does that tell you how many blooms SAC produced this year?

    Reply

  20. It does look as if someone had a party in your garden!

    That’s exactly the way it looked to me Dave, lol.

    Reply

  21. What an interesting picture–I never would have guessed this was sweet autumn clematis. I’m trying to root some cuttings I took from my son’s house–or did I tell you this already??

    Lots of lovely blooms yesterday!

    Thanks Rose. Just another added bonus of SAC. You did tell me, hopefully the rootings are successful. Or you can look for a volunteer in this garden as another option. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms for Bloomin’ Tuesday. 🙂

    Reply

  22. My Pinky Winky hasn’t bloomed yet, but she has grown and grown. I’m hoping for beautiful blooms next year. Glad you have one too. She is supposed to be very good.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, sounds like she is working her way up to some wonderful blooms for you. That first year in the garden is so vital in their root development & maturity. I think my ‘Limelight’ didn’t bloom until the second season and it was pitiful compared to every season since then. It will be well worth the wait. Thanks, I’m glad I added her to my wishlist too. 🙂

    Reply

  23. Ok Racquel … now you have got me back with the “Pinky” club … I now WANT Sweet Autumn for my garden gate arbor thingy .. this looks great and I have heard lots of good things about it .. gotta’ have it next Spring for sure !

    Hi Joy, glad I could inspire you to add SAC to your garden. It will look great on your garden gate arbor thingy! It is a wonderful vine and the blooms are fantastic!

    Reply

  24. I’m sure you have had many comments from guests when they see the clematis. I love the plants such as Sweet Autumn for the different displays they present. I’m not a person who wants their garden to look like my neighbors. You have picked a winner here! Silly String Indeed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

