It is Bloomin Tuesday!

Well guys & gals it’s another Bloomin’ Tuesday and I have some wonderful blooms to show you this week.  The cooler weather and rain showers we’ve been getting is helping the garden to show off this fall.  

Limelight

Limelight

The Hydrangea ‘Limelight’ is showing an autumn glow in the garden.  What a versatile and long blooming Hydrangea it has been this year.  The blooms open in early summer a creamy white that fade to a lime green as the season progresses and then takes on this pinkish tint around the edges of the sepals in the fall. 

Niobe

Niobe

The buds that were covering my re-blooming Clematis ‘Niobe’ are in full glory at the moment.  This flush isn’t as large as the spring, but still appreciated all the same.  Her rich burgundy red blooms will fade to purple as they age.  The color is so rich it reminds me of velvet.

Toadlily

Toadlily

Not only is my Toadlily still blooming, but look at all the buds yet to open!  This is the most buds I’ve ever seen it produce!  And this is just half of the plant shown in the photo, so there are even more buds!

Peacock Orchid

Peacock Orchid

The Gladiolus callianthus is also referred to as Peacock Orchid, Fragrant Gladiolus, Sword Lily or Abyssinian Gladiolus.  This wonderful fall flower is grown from a corm that is hardy in zones 9-11 according to my research.  However,  I’ve never lifted it and it returns every year like clockwork to my zone 7b garden.  It has a lovely sweet scent that makes it even more charming in my opinion.  

What’s blooming in your garden today?  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week, please visit MsGreenThumb.

26 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Racquel, I love your Limelight Hydrangea and your Toad Lily, I have never seen one before! Your Peacock Orchid has a lovely bloom to it.
    Thanks for sharing and Happy Blooming Tuesday!
    Love, Ann

    Hi Ann, thanks for visiting today. I”m glad you enjoyed all my blooms. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I like the sounds of the Peacock Orchid. Fragrant on top of being beautiful sounds like a winner in my boat. 🙂 Do you know of a source for it? I find it interesting that it is being hardy for you. Perhaps I would have the same luck in my zone 8a garden?

    Hi Cynthia, the Peacock Orchid is a very beautiful fall bloom. I bought mine through http://gurneys.com. It is interesting that it continues to come up year after year. I do mulch my beds, but not in excess. I would think you should definitely give it a try in your own garden.

    Reply

  3. The Limelight is nice, as well as the Clematis ‘Niobe’, which does look like velvet. Since I’m in Zone 9b, I may have to try the Peacock Orchid!
    Aiyana

    Thanks Aiyana. I’m glad you enjoyed Limelight & Niobe today. You should definitely give the Peacock Orchid a try in your garden. I got mine through http://gurneys.com.

    Reply

  4. Wow you do have alot of blooms to open on your Toad Lily, and that Orchid is just lovely.

    Thanks Darla. The Peacock Orchid is one of my favorite fall blooms. It is one of the last things to start blooming.

    Reply

  5. PGL !!!
    You have so much blooming and looking so great yet .. wonderful pictures girl ! I have Niobe too .. but I just put ‘her” and Henrii in this Spring to work together over my new garden arbor/gate area .. and yes .. the colour is so rich it looks like velvet. Your Toadlilies are exceptional too !
    Joy

    Hi Joy! Thank you so much. I’m glad you enjoy my blooms & pictures. I bet Niobe & Henrii will do wonders for your new arbor/gate. I’m quite pleased with the Toadlily this year, thanks.

    Reply

  6. Love the color of the clematis! Do Limelight’s blooms dry well for fall arrangements?
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie! I like Niobe’s rich color too. 🙂 Limelight’s blossoms would make great dried flowers for arrangements. I normally let them dry on the bush for fall & winter interest though. But yes you could cut them off to bring them in.

    Reply

  7. I love the Clematis – I have such trouble with mine. Yours is just glorious! I’ll have to try that Peacock Orchid as it’s just gorgeous.

    Manuela

    Thanks Manuela. I’m glad you enjoyed my Niobe Clematis today. She is a gorgeous bloom! You should definitely give the Peacock Orchid a try in your garden. Very easy to grow.

    Reply

  8. The second showing from the clematis is always such a bonus. Your Limelight is looking so bright too!

    Thanks Cindy, I agree a second flush is always a great bonus with Clematis. Limelight has been a real star in my garden this year. Glad you enjoyed the blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Your blooms are all beautiful. I had no luck with my Clematis this year. Your Peacock Orchid and Limelight Hydrangea are my favorite.
    Sweetie

    Thanks Sweetie. I’m glad you enjoyed all my blooms today. The Clematis had a hard time with the heat this year, especially my Nelly Moser. Niobe is perking up with the cooler days now. Peacock Orchid is a wonderful fall blooming flower & Limelight is my star! 🙂

    Reply

  10. I’m in zone 7, too but I’d not tried the peacock orchid. You’ve encouraged me! I love the hydgrangea, too. Cameron

    Hi Cameron. Glad I could encourage you to try something new in your gardens. The Peacock Orchid is an easy flower to grow for late summer & fall blooms. I’m glad you enjoyed my Limelight as well. 🙂

    Reply

  11. That clematis is awesome! I planted Peacock orchids this year and they have not bloomed, though the foliage looks great. I hope they bloom as I did not know they were fragrant. Something to look forward to. I made your stone last night. It turned out great. As soon as it cures a bit, I’ll pack it up and send it out, probably by the end of the week. I’ll post a picture soon as many have asked for a picture. It will look great by your arbor garden. I made it red.

    Thanks Tina! This is the only one that bloomed so far Tina. I have others that are still just foliage so we’ll see. The fragrance is wonderful especially if you plant it close to a walkway so you have to brush by it. 🙂 Can’t wait to see the stone! You are so sweet to make it red to match the Arbor Garden! 🙂 You are the best!!!!

    Reply

  12. WOW! Nothing like that blooming here 🙂 I love that Toadlily.

    Thanks Mom! Glad I could share my blooms with you. I’m pretty in love with the Toadlily at the moment too. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Your blooms are beau-t-ful! I have toadlily-and even in a pot its blooming:) I’m going to put these others on my want list!

    Thanks Carla! I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms and found some to add to your want list! I’ve never grown Toadlily in a container, great suggestion.

    Reply

  14. That clematis looks like rich, red wine! What a striking color. All your blooms look lovely!

    Thanks Nancy! What a great description of the richness of Niobe’s color. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Love that Gladiolus callianthus, it reminds me I think I tried it once, but did something wrong and killed it, or it didn’t make it through a bad winter here in zone 8 perhaps, but it’s probably one I should try again.

    Thanks Megan. It might of rotted in the ground if you had an extremely wet winter or like you said it might not have survived you winter. I usually buy a few each year just in case some don’t make it. They are fairly cheap & easy to replace.

    Reply

  16. I am new to Blooming Tuesday and I am loving looking at all these beautiful flowers!!

    Welcome Teric to Bloomin Tuesday! I’m glad you are enjoying all the blooms! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Racquel, the limelights have done so well around here this year. It must have been a perfect growing season for them. Your clematis is lovely and what a bonus to have it rebloom. Those toad lilies are on my wish list for next year. Such an unusual bloom. Thanks for shariing your still lovely garden.

    Hi Beckie! I know I’ve had blooms in past years, but it seems like it’s been extra spectacular this year. I’m glad you enjoyed Niobe & the Toadlillies. Great plant for your wishlist. You are quite welcome and thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Your burgundy clematis is wonderful! Love the deep, rich color!I’ve already decided I need to get some toad lily. The amount of buds is amazing. Never seen this orchid but what a gorgeous bloom! Plants are sure bloomin’ where you are planted! Jean

    Thanks Jean, glad you liked Niobe. She is pretty special with her rich velvety color. You will enjoy Toadlily for its’ fall blooms & exotic beauty. Peacock Orchid is related to the Gladiolus, she is quite easy to grow from a corm. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Love your blooms! The cooler weather makes my impatients look great, but the pond plants like it hot, so they are starting to back away. “To everything there is a
    season…” 🙂

    Thanks Linda. That quote says it all, while some plants love the current weather, some prefer the hot dog days of summer.

    Reply

  20. The Toad Lily is full of buds about ready to open to dazzle your eyes! The Toad Lily is such a colorful showoff that I can’t understand why more are not planted.

    It’s been in my garden for years. I couldn’t imagine my fall garden without the Toad Lily. The blooms are exotic and beautiful.

    Reply

  21. One wonderful benefit of the Bloomin’ Tuesday posts is learning about new plants like Toad Lily. Thank you for posting your beautiful pictures.

    Isn’t that fun seeing what’s blooming in other people’s gardens throughout the country! I’m glad I could share something new with you today. You are quite welcome & thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  22. Your toad lily is loaded with buds! How fabulous. I agree that your Niobe clematis blooms look like velvet. I love that color.

    Wouldn’t it be spectacular if all those buds opened at once! Thanks Kathleen, I’m so glad you enjoyed my Toadlily & Niobe today. They are both fabulous bloomers. 🙂

    Reply

  23. I was just out in my yard watering. I’m afraid there isn’t too much blooming right now. But my pot of lettuce has taken off. I’ve already harvested arugula. I’ve had to thin out a lot of it to keep my lettuce from smothering.

    I think I’m going to have to find some place in my yard for that hydrangea. It is so pretty!

    Watering isn’t one of my favorite garden chores Susie. Are you still getting quite a bit of heat with no rain in sight? That might be the problem. My lettuce is responding to the cooler weather at the moment too. I thinned mine out about a week ago and it really helped. If you have a place that gets morning sun w/afternoon shade I think Limelight would be quite happy in your garden! 🙂

    Reply

  24. Temps right now have been in 80’s and 60’s at night. Cooler temps are coming though. So far, no rain in sight. My husband thinks Ike took all the rain with him when he went around us.

    80’s aren’t too bad for September, your area is slightly warmer than mine. We’ve been in the 70’s with a day or two in the 80’s and 60’s at night. We’ve had rain several days over the past week. Wish I could send some your way. I hope hubby’s wrong. Do you get more rain in the fall & winter months? We get most of ours fall, winter & early spring.

    Reply

  25. Posted by greenwalks on September 30, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Looks great as usual. Interesting way to prune nandinas, mine are really wild and could use a pretty good haircut!

    Thanks GW. I’m glad you like the haircut I gave to my Nandinas. It gives them a nicer shape.

    Reply

  26. All that work you do on the soil is really showing, Raquel–what fabulous blooms (reblooms?) And isn’t the rain wonderful?

    Thanks Cosmos. The Clematis Niobe was the only rebloomer. The rain is fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

