Fall Planting

Well after an entire day of nothing but rain, it was nice to see the sun again.  Don’t you miss tinkering in the garden when the weather is bad?  Tina asked me yesterday why I wasn’t out moving things around and planting during the rain.  Normally I do transplant things in the rain, but it was thundering & lightening too.  And that is not my kind of gardening weather, lol.  So I stayed indoors and caught up on housework and laundry.   Anyhow, the sun is out and the rain has stopped for now.  I had errands to run in the morning, but I did manage to get 12 Thalia Bulbs planted in the Fountain Bed container. First I removed the leggy Periwinkle,  planted the bulbs about 6-8″ deep and then planted some fall Pansies on top. That leaves 12 to put in the other large container that lives in the Woodland Garden after removing the leggy Periwinkle from it as well.  Then I’ll need more pansies to fill in the top to keep the container interesting until next spring when the Daffodils start blooming.  When I received the Thalia bulbs this past week from Jung Seed Co. they included five ‘Tete a Tete’ Daffodils and two ‘Pixie Princess’ Dwarf Iris as free gifts for ordering.  I planted the Daffodils near the newly planted Pansy container in the ground and the Irises were planted in the inner circle of the Arbor Bed.  In addition, I started planting some of the new perennials.  The Lobelia and Sweet Woodruff were planted in the Pecan Bed since it gets mostly shade during the day.  Then I planted the Belamcanda ‘Hello Yellow’  and Echinops in the Arbor Bed as companions to Shasta Daisies, Colorful Summer Daylillies and the False Indigo.  Now the only plants I have left to find homes for are the new Echinaceas and the Eurphorbia ‘Chameleon’.  The Echinaceas will most likely be planted in the raised border bed and the Eurphobia will reside in the Woodland Garden.  This weekend I will be laying compost in the front beds to prepare for more rain that might be coming our way over the next week.   Where was all this rain this past summer when my garden was turning brown & crispy?  Well at least all my transplants are getting settled in nicely.  The weather has been staying in the 70’s which is perfect planting weather for perennials and spring blooming bulbs.  What kinds of bulbs are you planting this fall?
10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on September 27, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Are you turning into a prune yet? We had a bit of rain but now it’s sunny again in Seattle. It’s perfect gardening weather but with visitors in town, I probably won’t get that much done this weekend. I’ll just admire your handiwork instead! I’m super excited to go to the Univ. of Washington Arboretum’s annual bulb sale next weekend, I always buy too much and find stuff I’ve never seen before. Love species tulips for their early, bright colors and tendency to rebloom in following years.

    Not yet GW, lol. I think it rained some last night though. It is hard to garden when company is visiting. I can’t wait to see what kinds of stuff you get at the sale. Hopefully you post about it! Species tulips are great.

    Reply

  2. We had two days of rain here, too. I started making my list of tweaks to do to the garden in the next few days. As soon as my lavender dries out, I’ve got to get out my trimmers and go to work. I’m going to have to find some replacement lavender since I lost a few large plants to the rain this summer. Cameron

    I guess an abundance of rain can be just as harmful to plants as a drought. This is the perfect time of year to start tweaking the garden. Lavender must really like dry conditions.

    Reply

  3. You know…I think I may do tulips this year. I have to keep them in the frig for 6 weeks, then plant in Nov-Dec. We don’t have the cold weather they need so most Texans I know use this trick. I am thinking maybe red… but please don’t tell the squirrels! 🙂

    I love Tulips but I only get one year of bloom out of them. I have to do the same thing with pre-chilling them to trick them into thinking it’s a different climate. Red ones would be lovely maybe planted with some grape hyacinths & yellow daffodils? If you plant daffodils around them, maybe the squirrels will leave them alone. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Good morning! Thanks for the link. I really like how it shows the website when you scroll over it. Must be a wordpress feature. I think I would not plant in the thunder and lightening either. Though this late in the game I and many more Tennessee gardeners are getting desperate! Too close to winter to not be able to plant. If we don’t get rain soon it will be too late. I am really looking forward to seeing your Pixie Princess irises. I like the dwarf irises. And I must truly be behind since everyone has pansies already! Gotta get moving soon. I have some daffy bulbs a friend gave me. I need to plant them but unless I find markdown bulbs that will be it. I’d like more Gladiator allium but too expensive this year. Sigh. Lucky you to have perfect planting conditions. I’m envious.

    Good morning Tina! You are quite welcome for the link. 🙂 It is one of the nice features of wordpress, they have so many I like. I hope you guys get some rain soon to help with fall planting. I am looking forward to seeing the Pixie Princess too. I have several other dwarf iris that are yellow. They are cute when they bloom & take up very little space in the process. Pixie is a white bloom with purplish blue on the edges from the pictures I found online. Looks really pretty. Pansies are great for extending the bloom season into the early spring when the bulbs start blooming. Markdown bulbs should be easy to find come the end of next month. Gladiator Alliums are gorgeous but you’re right, very expensive. I ordered some Purple Sensation that was reasonably priced. I love Alliums! I hope you get some perfect fall planting weather soon Tina!

    Reply

  5. No rain here yet; in fact, I had to water my shade garden yesterday to make sure some new perennials I planted make it to next year! I don’t usually plant bulbs until October, but I’ve ordered lots of daffodils and tulips, plus I bought some crocus, hyacinths, and bluebells. One added benefit of blogging is that I now have pictures of the bare spots in my garden last spring, so I know where to plant the bulbs!

    I hope you get some rain soon Rose. The rain we got Thursday was much needed & appreciated by my garden. Especially the newly transplanted & planted perennials. I don’t usually plant bulbs until October, but we’ve been having some cooler weather for the past two weeks and next week is going to be the same. Sounds like you bought a great assortment of spring bloomers. I have Alliums, Daffodils, Grape Hyacinths, and Foxtail Lillies that should be arriving next month. Isn’t that one of the highlights of blogging! I know what I planted last season, what worked & what didn’t. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ha! You read about my bulb fiasco! Sounds like you are keeping way better track of your bulbs than I did. I don’t blame you for not planting during thunder & lightening. Have a great weekend!

    It’s very easy to forget where you plant bulbs or forget the names. I’ve been better about keeping track of the tags or writing them in my journal lately. This blog has been a great record too. Have a great weekend Kathleen!

    Reply

  7. I wish I could say I plant all kinds of bulbs, but the truth of the matter is, I don’t. I don’t plant any. Shame on me!!! We haven’t had any rain for a few days so I am ready for some. I definitely don’t want to have to water. Have a great weekend Racquel!!

    Shame on you Susie! lol Bulbs are a great addition to the garden especially in the spring when most of the perennials are still dormant. I hate hand watering too, I can understand where you’re coming from. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  8. I don’t even buy my bulbs until october. Sounds like you are getting a lot done. I can’t wait until we have a cool down to get back out there.

    I normally don’t plant bulbs until October or November at the latest. But the weather has been perfect, in the 70’s. I am trying to get all this done now so that by next month I won’t have as much to do for fall cleanup. It’s going to be worth it all come next spring! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I haven’t decided yet what bulbs to plant. More daffs and some hyacinths probably. Please send us some of your rain!

    They have so many choices now it’s hard to decide. I love Daffs because they are so reliable and Wood Hyacinths are great too. I would airmail it to you if I could Dave. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I really enjoyed visiting your site, we gardeners have so much in common. I thought I was the only one who gardened in the rain, although it has been very little of it this year.
    I love the Autumn Fern, I have had mine for about three or four years and have been very pleased.
    By the way, Happy Belated Birthday! What wonderful gifts you received.

    Thanks Machelle. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog & thanks for visiting. Gardening in the rain, lol, is one of my favorite times to move things. Who hasn’t ran out during a rainstorm to stake a plant that was flopping on the ground. 🙂 I’m quite pleased with the Autumn Fern so far. Thanks for the belated b-day wishes. I’m so glad you could visit today! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

