Gifts for the garden

Yesterday was my birthday as most of you already know, because thanks to Blotanical, I was blessed with birthday messages all day yesterday on my plot & here.  Thank you everyone who stopped by to wish me well.  It was very sweet of you all and I appreciate it very much!  Now what gardener’s birthday would be complete without garden related presents?  I’m sure you’re curious to see what I received for my special day…

My Mom sent me a gift card from Lowe’s (my favorite big box store) for my birthday.  Thanks Mom!  So of course I bought four new plants for the garden with it.  I got two Japanese Painted Ferns, another Shogun False Aster, and a Salvia greggii ‘Wild Thing’.     I’m quite pleased with my selections and they are all happily situated in their designated spots in the garden as I’m typing this.  🙂

My Grandmother gave me this fancy trellis for the back fence of the Arbor Garden.  I plan on moving my Nelly Moser from the arch to grow on this.  It should help disguise a portion of the privacy fence next year.  Growing vertically is my new favorite thing!  

Everyone already saw my early presents from my dear hubby who made it possible for me to purchase two Viburnum ‘Wintherthur’ at the Native Plant Sale this past Sunday.  This was the only thing I really wanted so the other gifts were really a nice surprise.  It was a good birthday and I always appreciate getting garden related gifts or plants for the garden.  Those are my favorite kinds of presents.  I spent the entire day tinkering in the garden.  My hubby fixed dinner and the boys did all the cleanup and we had a wonderful cake that he had decorated with flowers of course, lol

27 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by greenwalks on September 24, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Glad you had such a great day with so many good wishes, thoughtful gifts, time in the garden, and the sweetness of your family. Who could ask for more?!

    Thanks GW! It was the best day ever!

    Reply

  2. Happy belated birthday, Racquel! Sounds like you enjoyed it-doing what a true gardener loves to do, look at plants, buy plants, and plant plants. Who could ask for more.I like the trellis and can see the clematis growing up it already.

    Thanks Beckie! It was my kind of day that’s for sure. My passion & my special day all rolled into one. 🙂 I can’t wait to see Nelly Moser winding her way up the new trellis.

    Reply

  3. Posted by spookydragonfly on September 24, 2008 at 5:10 am

    Happy Belated Birthday! I love the Japanese Painted Ferns, they are on my wish list. For my birthday and Christmas presents my children always join together to present me with my favorite gift…a Wayside Gardens gift certificate! Have a good day!

    Thanks Spooky! Ferns are a wonderful addition to the shade garden & Japanese Painted are spectacular with their foliage color. What a great gift your family gives you for Christmas & Birthdays! That way you can pick what you want. Have a great day & thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  4. Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday! Very well deserved too! 🙂

    Thanks Linda! You are such a sweetie!

    Reply

  5. How wonderful and thank you for taking the time out of your special day to share with us.

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!

    You are very welcome Darla! Next to gardening, blogging is my favorite thing. I enjoy the time I spend online chatting with other passionate gardeners! Thanks for the belated wishes. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Happy Belated Birthday to you! Garden presents are definitely the best for gardeners. Love that trellis. Your clematis will look great on it. Hugs back to you too! Very nice way to start the day for me!

    Thank you so much Tina for the belated wishes! They are the best gifts my family could give me, and I love them for knowing that. Thanks, I love the trellis too and it’s going to be fabulous with Nelly Moser growing on it. I’m glad I gave you a great start to your day! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Wonderful additions to your garden! The nice thing about gifts for the garden is the memories, too. When my son (now 24) was growing up, he gave me garden “art” on Mother’s Day each year. Those items are still in use, having moved several times now. Cameron

    Thanks Cameron! You are so right, the living presents & garden art they give me I will have forever. They are wonderful reminders of the special moments in my life. You son gave you wonderful presents that will always be a part of you & your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I am so happy you enjoyed your birthday as well as your gifts. I absolutely love that trellis!

    Thanks Mom, it was nice day. A peaceful easy day, which is always nice in a house filled with teenagers and my adult children (the grandparents). 🙂 I’m glad you love my new trellis. I think it’s pretty snazzy myself. 🙂

    Reply

  9. A Birthday Poem for a Gardener

    Happy birthday to a gardening gal,
    Who loves to play in the dirt as well.
    May she garden from dawn till dark,
    Making her yard look like a park.
    She always has time for a comment or two,
    To encourage the bloggers who are old and new.
    Though I missed her birthday yesterday,
    I hope she knows that I wanted to say.
    Happy birthday to my dear blogger friend.
    You have enriched my life…to no end.

    Awww….you made me tear up with tears of joy! You are the sweetest blogging friend a “Garden Gal” could hope to meet. What a wonderful poem for my birthday. Those kinds of gifts are priceless and I really appreciate it. 😉

    Reply

  10. ooh, you had a “perfect” day ~ I’d be happy with the same kind of day too! I used to tell my husband to know my “currency” which was anything garden related! lol Your trellis is beautiful and all your new additions will be gorgeous next season. Glad you had a good day.

    It was a perfect day Kathleen. The gifts, the peacefulness & not having to cook or cleanup was icing on the cake. 😉 You understand completely, lol. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed my new additions to the garden too.

    Reply

  11. Belated “HAPPY BIRTHDAY” Racquel!!!

    Wonderful goodies you’ve gotten and a great day enjoyed.. wishing you many more of the same 😉

    Thank you Lucy! 🙂 I appreciate the birthday wishes!

    Reply

  12. Wonderful new plants for your birthday! I love the trellis that you were given. It is beautiful and your vertical plants will love it and make it home. 🙂

    Thanks DP! I’m glad you love my new trellis. I do too! 🙂 I can’t wait until my ‘Nelly Moser’ Clematis starts filling it out next spring and the blooms will really set it off.

    Reply

  13. So sorry I missed your birthday! I’m glad to hear you had a good day. Love all your gifts, of course! Jean

    That’s okay Jean. Thanks for the birthday wishes! I’m glad you enjoyed my gifts too. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Happy belated birthday! I have no clue what date Blotanical sends out notices for my birthday because I made one up & forgot what it was. I wish my bday gifts had been half as nice as yours. The trellis is almost too beautiful to grow something on.

    Thanks MMD! I appreciate the birthday wishes. That is too funny, it usually shows on your plot your birthday or you can go to your information to see it. I’m glad you enjoyed my gifts! It is rather pretty, but I think Nelly Moser will be quite happy sharing the glory with it. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Well…a late Happy Birthday! I’m sure that the trellis will be a wonderful addition – I am thinking of ways to make our garden go vertical next year…it’s fun to make walls of plants.

    Thanks Chris! I appreciate the birthday wishes! Growing vertically is such a wonderful way to utilize all that unused space & makes a better backdrop than the plain old privacy fence.

    Reply

  16. Happy Belated Birthday Racquel! Sorry I missed your birthday and your post yesterday. I was away from my computer for most of the day and it seems I missed a lot! Lucky you getting such nice gardening birthday presents. 🙂 I love the trellis!

    Thank you Cynthia! That’s okay, I know you have a life outside of blogging world. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my presents too. They are going to be great additions to my garden. I feel quite blessed!

    Reply

  17. Happy belated birthday. I’m a big fan of vertical growing too. My worst day was when my sweet autumn clematis died. Plants that climb are wonderful.

    Thanks Daphne! I can’t believe you SAC died, it is like a vigorous weed here in my garden. I have to chop it back from taking over the entire garden. But every September when it blooms, I remember why I haven’t gotten rid of it. 🙂 I love Clematis, annual vines, anything actually that climbs.

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel, I think I left a HB note on your plot after getting the notice from Blotanical so won’t rewish you again. ;-> Your haul look great, Lowe’s often has very nice plants. Love the trellis, it is very artistic and Nelly should love it too. Dinner and clean up with no work from you does make for a perfect day. Well deserved!
    Frances

    Hi Frances, I appreciate the HB you left at my plot on Blotanical. Thank you very much! I’ve been very lucky with finding great plants this year at Lowes, and they are taking very good care of them as well. They also give a one year guarantee which is pretty good. For a mom & wife it’s always good to not have to cook & clean on your b-day. 😉

    Reply

  19. Happy belated birthday! Lowes is my favorite “big box” garden center too.

    Thank you Robin for the birthday wishes! They have had some fantastic plants this season & the prices are good too. 🙂

    Reply

  20. Your hubbie decorated your birthday cake!?!!
    Oh my goodness, how wonderful. Sounds like you had a great birthday. Love your new trellis and of course the new plants.

    No, he bought it and had it decorated though! lol Does that count too? 🙂 It was a wonderful birthday, whenever the teenagers give me a break it’s a good day. lol Thanks!

    Reply

  21. Great presents, Racquel–I can’t wait to see them in the ground. I’m glad you had such a lovely day.

    Thanks Cosmo! I will make sure to post pictures of their new homes soon.

    Reply

  22. OMG! I am sorry I missed it! What awesome birthday presents!
    Happy Belated “Birth” day!!!!!!!

    That’s okay AGWB! Thank you so much for the belated birthday wishes! I’m glad you enjoyed my gifts. 🙂

    Reply

  23. You’ve had a bountiful birthday…there is nothing like gifts for the garden from folks who love us. Glad you had a good day!

    Gail

    Thanks Gail, I feel quite blessed to have a family who supports my passion for gardening. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Well, happy belated birthday. Somehow I missed the email. Looks like you had a great day.

    That’s okay Deb, thanks for stopping by to wish me a belated b-day! 🙂 I did have a very nice day.

    Reply

  25. Hi Raquel,
    Glad you had a great birthday. Like you, I use my birthday and just about any special occasion to leverage goods for the garden. Always fun to feel guilt free on our garden additions right? You made some good choices with your gift card… and I really like the trellis your grandmother gave you.
    meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Thanks Meems! Well when they ask what I would like, it’s like duh! 😉 Actually they don’t even ask really anymore, they just say what do you want for the garden. lol I’m glad you liked the plants & trellis. I’m pleased with my gifts. 🙂

    Reply

  26. How do I vote for you? Or do I?
    I tried to open the Blotanical link and nothing happened.
    Sorry I’m still new to this stuff.

    Thanks,
    Patsi

    You would have to be a member of Blotanical to vote for me. If you are, you just log in and go to the main page for the voting link. 🙂

    Reply

  27. magnificent submit, very informative. I’m wondering why
    the opposite experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should continue
    your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

