Bloomin Tuesday is here again

It’s Bloomin’ Tuesday today and I do have some new blooms to show you this week.  To see other Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in today please visit msgreenthumb.  Second of all,  for those who submitted me for the Best Commenter award finalist at  Blotanical, I appreciate it & feel quite honored!  Thank you!!!

Chelone ‘Hot Lips’ or Turtlehead is finally starting to open.  I zoomed this in so you could see the funny little pink flowers that this shade perennial produces. 

The berries on my Viburnum ‘Winterthur’  are quite colorful right now.  I like the range of colors from deep pink to a deep blue all on the same cluster. 

The fall pansies in my red wash tub have been steadily blooming this week.  They really have enjoyed the cooler days and nights.  I have a yellow, mauve & white planted with a purple mum that has buds forming. 

I found one lonely Gerbera hybrida blooming in the garden.   The pinking on the ends of the petals as well as the yellow undersides make it look special.  My son bought this for me for Mother’s Day a couple of years ago and it comes back up reliably every spring bigger & fuller. 

My Perovskia x ‘Longin’ or Russian Sage is starting to bloom.  I purchased this plant at the same time as the Turtlehead and it is doing well too.  I have two of these in the new garden bed with the Purple Fountain Grasses.  The foliage on this one is different than the ‘Blue Spire or Little Spire’  that I’ve grown in the past.  Well that’s the new stuff that is blooming in my garden today.  What’s blooming in your garden today?

20 responses to this post.

  1. This is too funny. I have a picture of turtlehead on my blog again on a day you are posting on it. I submitted you for best commenter and I know I am so not the only one. You not only comment on my blog but any blog I visit, whether I comment on not, there you are!!!! It was between you and Gail for best commenter. You respond, you conversate, you follow up, and an all around great commenter. Glad to see you, Gail, and Frances all got nominated in various categories and GOOD LUCK! To all the nominees!

    We are on the same wavelength again Tina. lol Thank you so much Tina, I appreciate it. I feel quite honored that you think of me of so highly when it comes to commenting. Thank you, very sweet!

    Reply

  2. Racquel, first-congratulations on the nomination. You really are a great commenter. I always enjoy what you have to say on mine and all of the other ones I read. And you never fail to answer a comment!
    I saw the turtlehead at the Idea Garden a few weeks ago and fell in love with it. Of course pink is one of my favorite colors. It does have a funny little bloom, but en masse it is gorgeous. I am surprised the russian sage is just now blooming. Is this kind a fall bloomer? The gerbera daisy is special. I don’t think I have seen one with edges like that or the coloring underneath. Thanks for a great blooming tuesday.

    Thank you so much Beckie. I appreciate the congratulations and the compliments. 🙂 Turtlehead is new to me & I’m quite pleased with the the funny little blooms. I bet it does look good en masse. Well it was planted in late August but I think my Russian Sage in the past always bloomed from late summer into the fall too. I’ve never seen a Gerbera quite like this one either Beckie. I’m glad you enjoyed my Bloomin’ Tuesday post today!

    Reply

  3. Hello Rachquel, I love your red wash tub with pansies. Gerbera Daisies are one of my favorite. Yours has a very pretty color to it.
    Congratulations on your nomination!
    Love, Ann

    Thanks Ann. I’m glad you enjoyed the pansies in the red washtub and the Gerbera Daisy. They are both wonderful fall bloomers. Thanks for the congratulations as well. 😉

    Reply

  4. Turtlehead is new to me. So far, I’ve seen two new plants Bloomin’ Tuesday posts. That’s why I like to visit!
    Aiyana

    Isn’t that the best thing about seeing other’s gardens everyweek! We get to see what is growing in their neck of the woods & see things that are new to us. Thanks Aiyana!

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel, you obviously win the first berry contest! Did they have berries when you bought the winterthur? And they are such a gorgeous blue. I am in awe of the returning gerbera and will have to give it a try, but maybe should wait until spring when they have a better chance at getting roots established before the cold. Or not, the shelves are full of them at Lowe’s right now. Love your perovskia, such a pretty blue.
    Frances
    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/

    Hi Frances! Yes I lucked out, they were covered in berries when I bought them. So I won by luck? 🙂 My Gerbera’s have always returned for years at a time. I had one that lasted 5 or 6 years in my garden until we had a heavy snow one winter (which is unusual for us). This must be a good time to plant them if the shelves are full at Lowe’s. I’m going there today so I’ll have to see what else they have to offer. 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed my Perovskia for Bloomin’ Tuesday!

    Reply

  6. Our local gardening newspaper guru keeps touting viburnum as a must have for the garden. After seeing your picture, I guess I just have to add one to my garden. It really would add something at this time of year.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    I think you would enjoy having it your garden Jan. It attracts birds & butterflies and the berries in the fall are quite special. 🙂

    Reply

  7. You’ve still got some lovely blooms in your garden Racquel! I’m quite taken with the viburnum berries – they look like blueberries in various stages of ripeness. I may join BT this week. 🙂

    Thanks Nancy. The weather here has been in the 70’s with a nice breeze. Some plants really thrive at this time of the year especially after a long hot & dry summer. 🙂 The berries do add a touch of color to the color, especially with the varying shades of pink and blue. I hope you join this week.

    Reply

  8. Everything looks really good, but I just love, love the viburnum!
    Can’t believe you already have pansies. I don’t plant mine until November, it’s just too hot here. Pansies add such brightness to dreary winter days!
    And…congrats!!! 🙂

    Thank you Linda! I love the Viburnum too, the berries are quite spectacular at this time of the year. We’ve had some cooler days so the pansies are really happy at the moment. They don’t like heat. They’ll last until next May in my garden and bloom off & on. Thanks for the congrats, I appreciate it very much. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Happy Birthday to you! 🙂

    Love the blooms! Enjoy your special day.

    Cameron

    How sweet are you Cameron! Thank you so much 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today and thanks for stopping by to wish me a Happy Birthday.

    Reply

  10. Your Gerbera daisy is beautiful! I can’t believe yours comes up every year–I can’t get one to survive the summer here. My father loves these flowers and babied one all winter long last year–in the house–but it,too, died early this summer. Our winters are too cold for them, I think.
    Lovely berries on the viburnum.

    Thanks Rose. I think my zone 7b garden is mild enough to make them a perennial here. Now they won’t last forever if we get a freakishly cold winter, like the year we got a couple of feet of snow my Gerberas didn’t come back that next spring. I’m glad you enjoyed the blooms & berries today. 🙂

    Reply

  11. The Turtle Head plant is really interesting! I’ve never seen one of those. I love the pansies- they bring back wonderful memories of being a child!

    Thanks Dee. I’m glad you like the Turtle Head, it’s something new for me this year. Pansies are such a wonderful old plant that really do well here when it cools off. These will bloom all the way through next May.

    Reply

  12. too funny ~ I have turtlehead on my blog today too! Your garden is still going strong! Also I want to add my congratulations on your nomination for best commenter. I think that was well deserved. Have a wonderful birthday as well!

    So did Tina from In the Garden! lol We’re all on the same wavelength today. 🙂 Thanks, it’s doing quite well after the long hot & dry summer. The weather has cooled off, but we could still use some rain. Thanks for the congratulations on the nomination for best commenter & the happy birthday wishes! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Racquel (what a beautiful name)! Congratulations on your nomination as best commenter. It is well deserved. All of your blooms are beautiful but the CongraGerbera hybrida is outstanding.
    Sweetie

    Thank you so much Sweetie for the congratulations and the compliment on my name! How very sweet of you! 🙂 I love the gerbera too, it’s pretty special to me since it was a gift from my son. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Racquel, Congrats on you nomination! I just bought a turtlehead this fall. I LOVE your gerber! I can’t seem to grow them in the ground or in pots and I love them. The berries are wonderful too. Do they retain these colors if dried? Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! Jean

    Thank you Jean! I appreciate your warm congrats! I’m very pleased with my Turtlehead, it’s nice to add more fall bloomers to the garden. I’m glad you like the Gerber, she is a beauty. 🙂 I don’t know about drying the berries because the birds enjoy eating them which was the reason why I wanted them. That’s a great question though, they would be interesting in a dried arrangement. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday Jean!

    Reply

  15. I love that washtub full of pansies! It’s too early to plant pansies here. Love the virburnum and the Russian Sage!

    Manuela

    Hi Manuela! Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the washtub full of pansies today. We’ve had some unusually cool weather for September so they are thriving, plus they are planted in morning sun w/ afternoon shade so it helps. I’m glad you liked the Viburnum & Russian Sage as well. They are both new additions to my garden this year. So far so good.

    Reply

  16. Love the Viburnum ‘Winterthur’and Russian Sage.
    You have a really nice blog.
    Glad I found you.
    Congats on the award

    Thanks Patsi, I’m glad you love the Viburnum and Russian Sage. Thanks for visiting my blog today and thanks for the Congrats. Glad you enjoyed reading my blog. 😉

    Reply

  17. Back again to wish you a happy birthday! Hope you get to do something just for yourself today. And congratulations on being nominated for best commenter. I finally was able to get back on Blotanical today to cast my final votes!

    Hi Rose! Thank you so much for the birthday wishes and the congrats on the award nomination. Very sweet of you to stop back by. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Racquel, Happy Birthday to You!!!!! Hope you have had a wonderful day!!!

    Your blooms look wonderful. I especially like your tub of pansies!!!

    Hi Susie! Thanks for the birthday wishes! I appreciate it very much. 🙂 I’ve had a nice day in the garden where I’m happy. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today especially the tub of pansies.

    Reply

  19. happy belated birthday! (ours are very close together) wonderful blooms! i love seeing what others are planting and what gets them excited in their garden.

    Thanks so much Marmee, it’s a very small world isn’t it? 🙂 I enjoy showing you my garden & all my blooms. They mean alot to me, so it feels nice when others enjoy them as well.

    Reply

  20. Hi Racquel ~ I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog. You have some beautiful plants! And… a belated happy birthday to you. What very special gifts you received – nothing better for a gardener! 🙂

    Hi Deb! I’m glad you enjoyed your visit today & my blooms. Thanks for the birthday wishes and for stopping by today! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

