Jamestown Settlement (part 1)

We have an out of town visitor this week, my brother-in-law is visiting from Ohio.  Today we took him to the Jamestown Settlement Museum.  Of course we’ve been several times over the years since it is only about twenty minutes from the house.  My boys have even been there on field trips with their schools.  It never ceases to amaze me each time we go, because they are always adding to it.  The picture to the left is Beauty-berry I think behind the wattle fencing which I would love to duplicate in my garden.  I took so many pictures that I might have to do more than one post on this trip.   They have displays of artifacts from the Indians, Colonists, Europeans and Slaves that occupied this land during the 17Thcentury.  The tour starts off with a 20 minute film called “Witness 1607: A Nation Takes Root” which describes the first two decades of the Colony’s settlement in this area.  Then you proceed through a Powhatan Indian Village that has been re-created  to show how these early Native Americans lived.  They even had a vegetable garden with gourds growing like crazy on the handmade fence and what I think is squash and tobacco growing in the garden.  After that you will follow a wattle fence path down to the waterway named after the settler’s King James to see replicas of the Susan Constant, Godspeed and Discovery.  These ships were life lines and sources of supplies for the settlers to their homeland of England.  Along the riverfront is an area where canoe making is demonstrated using large logs, fire and shells.  They burn the wood to create the indentations and scrape away the cinders with shells which were primitive tools for the colonists.  The waterway provided a source of fishing, commodities and trade for the early settlers in Jamestown.   The trip was not only a big hit with our guest today, but the three teenagers we dragged along even enjoyed themselves.  My eldest son said it was more interesting than Colonial Williamsburg.  I have to agree that not only was it an educational outing but we had a fun time too.  When you can make history interesting to teenagers that’s a real feat! 🙂

19 responses to this post.

  1. We visited the Jamestown settlement a couple of years ago, ahead of the anniversary. We found it very interesting too, whereas Colonial Williamsburg, though pretty, didn’t really have the same kind of impact. Actually, one of the best experiences we had was at the Yorktown museum. In the yard at the back of the museum, you could talk to guides dressed as soldiers about their guns, about how they lived, take part in a mock drill, and find out about the sort of medicines the surgeons used and so on. That was fascinating.

    Looks like you got to experience some of our finest historical landmarks Victoria. Since the anniversary they’ve really made some great additions. I prefer Jamestown & Yorktown Museums too. Colonial Williamburg has become quite commercialized over the years. Sounds like you had a wonderful time too. Thanks for stopping by today.

    Reply

  2. Thanks for showing us Jamestown. We often take the Jamestown-Scotland Ferry or the Colonial Parkway when I am up that way. However we have not been to Jamestown since it was upgraded for the 400th. Maybe it is about time.

    You are very welcome Les. We take the Colonial Parkway which is a nice drive. I’ve never taken the ferry believe it or not. lol They’ve really made some great additions since the 400th anniversary, I enjoyed it alot.

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, thanks for that. Enjoyable and I even learned something. I have been to Williamsburg and loved it, but would like the outdoors living better. The canoe making sounds especially interesting. Imagining what life must have been like for the European settlers makes us appreciate both nature and civilization.

    Frances
    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/

    You are very welcome Frances. If you ever come to Virginia again, you should definitely check out Jamestown & Yorktown Museums. They are vastly different than Colonial Williamsburg. My teenagers enjoyed the canoe making process too, they participated in it. 🙂

    Reply

  4. If you have looked at Life In Wakefield you will see that we (senior lunch) had an archeologist speak on Jamestown the other day. I have been also to the site and it is really fascinating. Glad you took your company there.

    Thanks Marie. I tried checking out your site, but it didn’t open.

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the informative tour. Though never there, Jamestown is must on my wish list.

    Your welcome Joey! It is definitely a place to checkout if you ever come to Virginia. That and the Yorktown Museum as well.

    Reply

  6. I’m glad you enjoyed Jamestown–did you get over to the Island at all? There are some wonderful woodland plants along the loop around the island. I used to live 5 minutes from Jamestown, but I haven’t visited much since I moved (8 years ago)–I’ll have to go what’s changed!

    Thanks Cosmo, no we didn’t go to the Island this trip. You almost need a few days in Williamsburg to see all the great historical sites. 🙂 You should definitely pay another visit soon.

    Reply

  7. When I was growing up, I lived in Virginia (for a time) and our school would go there on field trips. It was always a great time and you’re right, educational as well. I should go again as an adult. I’ve only been back to Williamsburg. That area is rich with history. Enjoy your company!

    Then you know how much history there is in Virginia. I think you would enjoy it even more as an adult. Because we live here, sometimes I take it for granted which happens. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I love this area of Virginia too. My husband’s Army work takes him here periodically and it is always fun to visit. My favorite part is the Children’s Museum as it is the best by far I have ever seen. I haven’t been to this settlement but know I would love it. I also like that wattle fence. Do you have a spot for it and something in mind? Hmmmm, questions, questions. I’ll be looking forward to part 2.

    Thanks Tina. I guess we have more in common. My husband is retired Navy. 🙂 There are alot of interesting things in this area to see, I take them for granted because I live here. I would love to make a smaller version of that for around my circle bed in the arbor garden. Wouldn’t that be fun!

    Reply

  9. Hi,
    I’ve never been there….but now I feel like I have.I’m looking forward to reading more.
    Cool fencing.That would look great in front of my woods.

    Hi Balisha! Glad I could share a new place with you today. That would be a great fence in front of your woods. It wasn’t hard to make either. Just basic weaving in & out of posts.

    Reply

  10. Sounds like a great visit…I like to go to some of these historical places. Since everyone was happy this makes Jamestown even more attractive. We have a Jamestown in ND – but it not too historical…there is a recreated old prairie town and a huge buffalo though. Thanks for sharing your visit.

    It was a nice visit Chris. I enjoy historical places too. My husband & I went to Colonial Williamsburg on our honeymoon. 🙂 It’s always nice when there is something for everyone. I would love to see an old prairie town, I bet that is cool too. You are very welcome.

    Reply

  11. I will never forget our family trip to Jamestown many, many years ago. It was humid, humid and had to be 100 degrees! 🙂
    Here I was all excited about the history and what happened “right where we were standing!” No one else seemed to share my historical excitement–it was just too hot for them. Thanks for sharing your
    trip.

    It’s hard to motivate kids or teenagers for that matter if it’s hot. September and October are a nice time to visit because the weather is more comfortable, it was in the 70’s yesterday. 🙂 My youngest son is very interested in history, my oldest not so much.

    Reply

  12. Thanks for the visit to Jamestown Settlement. I never really cared for history when I was in school but now I enjoy learning all about our history. Displays like this make education so much easier.

    You are very welcome Susie. It’s nice to experience our history almost first hand at some of these places. The guides dress in authentic era clothing & describe what it was like back then. It was very interesting.

    Reply

  13. Looks like a great spot! These historical villages and settlements really bring history to life.

    It is a great spot Nancy. They do try to make you really see what is was like to live back then.

    Reply

  14. I love the historical recreations of these villages, we have Hale Farm and Village here and they have demonstrations of cooking, candle making, blacksmithing etc.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    I knew you would enjoy it Mom. And I promise to take you when you come to visit. 🙂 I would love to see Hale Farm & Village when we come up there again.

    Reply

  15. I should defininitely go to Jamestown! It sounds like a wonderful visit. I’ve had some forum friends and Garden Conservancy and Plant Delights Open Gardens to enjoy this weekend. I finally posted today about my visit to the home gardens of the director of the JC Raulston Arboretum yesterday. Cameron

    You would enjoy it very much Cameron. If you are ever in the area, it should be on your list of things to see. Your post today was wonderful, what a gorgeous garden. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I’ve been there several times, but it has been a while! It’s one of our great historical sires in the US that everyone should visit sometime. I bet it was interesting to see how the Indians gardened!

    I agree Dave, it is something everyone should experience at some point in their lifetime. The Indian’s garden was quite intriquing. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Jamestown and Yorktown are definately on my list of must visit places (it’s a long list). We actually had planned to go there while on a trip to the Outer Banks several years ago. That trip was cancelled due to a Hurricane though. I forget which one, we have to replan that trip.
    I love seeing colonial gardening techniques.

    It must of been Hurricane Isabel that derailed you. She blew through 4 years ago & wreaked havoc on us. I love the Outer Banks, we use to take the boys there when they were younger every summer. 🙂 Hopefully you get a chance to visit Jamestown & Yorktown. It is worth seeing.

    Reply

  18. What a fun and informative visit! Wish I could have tagged along with you. 🙂 I have never been East of the Mississippi before but would sure love to one day. I love visiting places that take you back in time.

    I’ve never been to your area either Cynthia. 🙂 Now we did live in Arizona for four years so I have been west of the Mississippi. You would of really enjoyed it and hopefully you get a chance to someday.

    Reply

  19. How lucky you are to be so near to such a historic place! I’ve always wanted to go to Williamsburg, though I’ve heard it is rather “touristy.” If we get out East I will definitely add Jamestown to the list of places to see. If your teenagers liked it, then it must be interesting:)

    When you live near stuff like this you tend to take it for granted sometimes. 🙂 When family comes to visit they always want to do the “touristy” things and I get to see it through their eyes which makes it fresh & new again. 🙂 But Jamestown & Yorktown are worth adding to your list of places to see in this area. Williamsburg is nice, but quite commercial now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

