Reblooming Clematis

What’s not to like about a perennial that blooms in the spring and turns around and gives you another flush of flowers in the fall.  Clematis ‘Niobe’ is one of those re-blooming Clematis in my garden that just keeps on giving year after year.  Here is a slightly fuzzy picture of her (to the left) blooming her heart out this past May.  I have three of these gorgeous vines growing in the Rose Garden on heart shaped trellises.  After a long hot summer and very little rain I wasn’t expecting a second bloom this fall.  But yesterday I was out in the garden observing some new plants and was quite surprised to find several buds forming on Niobe.  This is actually the picture I use for my icon on my blog & Blotanical.  I love Clematis for all the wonderful qualities they bring to my garden each year.  Their flowers come in a variety of colors, sizes, and shapes.  There are Clematis that bloom in the Spring, Summer and Fall.  So with careful research and placement you could have some blooming all season long in the garden.  Here is the growing information for this perennial vine:

  • Bloom Cycle:  Spring and Early Fall  
  • Large Flower Type
  • Grow in full sun – part shade
  • Hardy in Zones 4-11
  • Grows 6 to 8 feet in height
  • Cultivated by Vladyslaw Noll, Poland, 1970. AGM
  • Very dark red 5″ flowers with  yellow anthers
  • The flowers open a dark red & fade to purple with age
  • Pruning type 2
21 responses to this post.

  1. I have love Niobe…mine is reblooming now, too.

    Thanks Connie, it is a pretty color Clematis.

    Reply

  2. You are so good at this! How great that you get two bloomings out of one plant! That deep color is beautiful! You would shake your head at my woefully bland yard. It’s neat and tidy, but zip in the color variety department.

    Thanks Paula. It’s a rebloomer, I didn’t do anything. 🙂 I love vibrant colors & in the spring it is outstanding with the Knockout Roses. You can spice up your garden Paula with a few well placed containers or a few annuals planted for curb appeal. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, you have a way with the clems it seems! Several of ours have dried up to nothingness with lack of rain and none in sight for the forseeable future either. I did have Niobe at one time but haven’t seen her for years so guess she is gone for good. I love the color and might look for another, but not until we get some rain! Sorry again for being negative. Don Rickles, get back in your cage! ;->
    Frances
    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/

    Hi Frances! Don’t get me wrong, I got some dry foliage & browning but once the cooler weather w/ rain came along they perked right back up. Nelly Moser isn’t looking so hot at the moment, 😦 The drought or lack of rain has caused many problems in my garden too. You are too funny, not negative at all. It is hard to watch plants suffer because of things beyond our control.

    Reply

  4. Well dang it, I’ll have to check mine, yours is beautiful.

    I would check Darla. These things have a way of changing overnight almost. Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Mine is reblooming too. I wasnt’t aware that I had bought a Clematis that reblooms. I purchased it last year and forgot to save the ticket, so I have no idea what kind it is.
    Yours is beautiful!

    Alot of varieties rebloom Laurie. Most bloom early summer & then again in the early fall. Thanks, I bet yours is beautiful too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I so agree with the clematis/rose combo. I use Jackmanii on the fence beside my Radrazz Knock Outs. This ‘Niobe’ is a beautiful rebloomer.

    They are perfect match in the garden Cameron. Jackmanii is a beautiful royal shade of purple, my neighbor has one and it’s gorgeous every summer growing on her arbor. Thanks Cameron! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I have just one clematis–mine is the one that seems to have two plants in one, so it blooms profusely in the spring, looking like a Nelly Moser, and then a lavendar bloom in late summer into fall. A clematis that is supposed to re-bloom sounds like a winner!

    Looks like you got a two for one Rose! That’s great that you are getting a second flush of blooms.

    Reply

  8. Gorgeous, Racquel. My “Jackmanii” had a slight rebloom this fall, nothing much to blog about–but yours is beautiful. Btw, I missed a post of yours–how do I get back to your older ones? Sorry if it’s obvious and I missed it–

    Thanks Cosmo. My neighbor has Jackmanii & it’s a beautiful shade of purple. All you have to do is go to the bottom of the page & hit next page. I have it set to display 2 posts at a time on a page.

    Reply

  9. I thought I recognized that photo!! Yes, you have a knack for clematis, they really are beautiful. I need to try and transplant a few of mine so maybe they’ll do better next year.

    I love that picture so I had to use it as my icon Kathleen. 🙂 I’ve had pretty good luck with Clematis. They don’t seem needy like Roses. I hope your’s do better next year.

    Reply

  10. Hi Raquel, that clematis is beautiful!

    I love clematis, but have yet to add any to my garden since moving here.

    Thanks Linda. You should definitely add them to your garden, they are a great perennial.

    Reply

  11. I love them all and yours is great to bloom so much!

    Thanks Tina, I feel the same way you do about Clematis. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I love the color of this clematis.

    Thanks Laurie, it is a wonderful color. When it first opens it is a deep shade of garnet that fades to this shade as it ages.

    Reply

  13. Posted by greenwalks on September 20, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    I knew that was your icon the second I saw it. I can see why, what a beauty! I love plants that do double duty with repeat blooms. Not had much success with clematis but want to keep trying. Do you miss it in the winter?

    I figured most people would recognize it GW! 🙂 It is a beautiful Clematis & the color is fantastic. I love repeat bloomers too, they earn their place in the garden. You should keep trying. Some prefer part shade if you live in a hot zone, maybe that helps. I miss all my blooms in the winter, but yes the Clematis is one of my faves.

    Reply

  14. Fantastic! I love the purple clematis, but then I think I love them all 🙂

    I love them all too Mom! 🙂

    Reply

  15. That is such a beautiful color. I enjoy walking out into the garden and finding something that I didn’t expect to see.

    Thanks Susie. Isn’t that just the greatest thing about gardening, the daily surprises. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Clematis is one of my all time favorite perennials. I have yet to add one to this garden but I intend to correct that this year! 🙂 I saw that the Wayside Gardens catalog has your Sweet Autumn Clematis in it and I am considering that one too after reading such nice things about it here on your blog. And I do not mind at all if it is quite prolific. I have a spot in mind for it where that would be perfect! 🙂

    I hope you do add a Clematis to your garden Cynthia. I love my SAC, but some people don’t. I even saw them selling at Lowe’s this year, which I’ve never seen it at a big box store.

    Reply

  17. That is a beautiful bloom. What a lovely flower/plant to look at with fall weather approaching.

    Thanks DP, I’m glad you enjoyed my pretty blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  18. You have to love anything that beautiful that blooms twice in one season! Gorgeous!

    Thanks Nancy, it is a double blessing to get a 2nd flush.

    Reply

  19. Your purple stars are beauties! How nice it blooms twice a year.

    Thanks Cindy. They are an added bonus blooming at this time of the year, when late spring is so far past. 🙂

    Reply

  20. A stunning photo. I’ve never grown clematis but must re-think and find room for this beauty … lucky you with your green thumb 😉

    Thanks Joey. They are definitely worthy perennials in the garden. You must get one for your garden, you’ll never regret it.

    Reply

  21. Sometimes the rebloom is even better than the first blooming with Clematis. Do you do anything special to get them to rebloom? I’ve started cutting mine back & fertilizing after the first bloom. That seems to help with some, but I wonder if I should be cutting them back even more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

