It is the perfect time of the year

revised-arbor-gardenThis is the perfect time of the year to divide plants, move things around & just basically rework the garden beds.  That is what I’ve been doing while I’m putting down the compost.  So instead of staying focused on the task at hand I’m trying to do three or four different things at the same time.  I actually only have one wheelbarrow full of the first load of compost & my hubby is going to get me a second load tomorrow.  So if anyone out there was wondering where my post was today this is why.  This is the inside of my arbor bed.  I moved the small Spirea on the left to the front of this bed to act as a living border of sorts.  Then I dug up some the ‘Colorful Summer’ Daylillies (which needed dividing badly) and put them in here between the Gerber daisy & the Siberian Iris ‘New Wine’.   I also need to divide the Irisescenter-of-arbor-garden which I will put on the opposite side along with some of the daylillies.   Can you see a different between the bed area & the path area?  That compost is really a rich brown color. My husband ripped the huge boxwood out which was in this bed off center from the birdbath.  I have rearranged some of the plants in this bed so that it looks more uniformed from all sides.  It used to be a perfect circle, now it kind of looks like a pear shape. 🙂  Things look ragged now but wait till next spring when the bulbs come up & everything is fresh again.  My husband also ripped out the boxwood that was under the Pecan tree for me.  Sorry Tina, but it was for the best.  The roots were girdling the trunk so it was just a matter of time anyhow.  I put one of the Forever & Ever Hydrangeas that was getting too much sun in the new bed in the spot where the boxwood was planted.  I also put in some pansies around the edge for a punch of color this fall & winter.  The hostas are starting to die back as well as some of the ferns.  August was just too hard on most of the shade plants.  I put in a nice layer of compost & divided some of the plants up to be put elsewhere (like under the Limelight Hydrangea).I also cut back the Obedient plant since there was only one stalk blooming still (I brought that one inside) and planted  yellow, white & mauve pansies to fill in the void.  There is a lavender mum in the center.  So as you can see I’ve been a busy, busy bee this week in the garden.  But I’m loving every minute of it. 🙂

19 responses to this post.

  1. I WAS wondering what happened to you. I was hoping it wasn’t the same thing that happened to me a week or so ago. There’s a huge difference between your garden bed and the path. All your hard work is really going to pay off. If you have any extra energy, send it my way!

    Thanks Kathleen. I kind of realized how much my posts mean to not only me but others when Tina from In a garden asked was I okay today. 🙂 It’s been a lot of hard work so far, but I just know the beds are going to be fantastic next year & it will be worth all this extra effort now. I’m beat everyday when I go to bed, but it’s a good tired.

    Reply

  2. Posted by fairegarden on September 16, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Wonderful Racquel. You are showing a textbook example of how to rework a bed and even have the lovely chocolatey compost to add to it. Sometimes those big shrubs just have to come out. If they can be safely moved to another spot, fine, but if not, onward and upward! Everything you have done is a major improvement. The hydrangeas and spireas will give some substance to the bulbs and annuals. Gerberas are annuals there, right? ;->

    Frances at Fairegarden

    Thanks Frances. This is the kind of garden work I love doing actually. I was suppose to be a landscaper in another life I think. lol The boxwoods just weren’t working in their present locations and after seeing how damaged the trunks were, it was just a matter of time anyhow. Those Spireas & Hydrangeas provide alot of backbone for the perennials, bulbs & annuals every year. Actually I’m lucky the Gerberas are perennials in my garden. They come back for me every year.

    Reply

  3. Your beds all look lovely — free of weeds and rich brown. Well done!

    Thanks Nancy. I’m happy with the results so far too. I love that rich brown color. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hey PGL-Sorry you haven’t heard from me, I have been out of town. Thanks so much for your concern though. I haven’t read your posts yet but will and will comment. Maybe later tonight or tomorrow. I have to unpack and get settled.

    You know I have often thought that what if something happened to one of us(close bloggers) how would anyone ever know what happened to us? This doesn’t make sense but I think you know what I mean, right?

    Hi Susie, glad you were just out of town and nothing had happened to you. I look forward to our exchange of comments daily. 🙂 I hope you had a great time. You know I was thinking the same thing the other day. Who would let the other bloggers know? Guess we are on the same wavelength sometimes.

    Reply

  5. Hi Racquel–I really appreciate step-by-step accounts with the plants named–and your redesigned bed looks beautiful. You have been busy–and thank goodness for the cool weather, finally!

    Hi Cosmo! You are quite welcome, it was nice to be able to show others who really understand my excitement & passion what I’m doing in my garden. My hubby just smiles & nods his head. lol I’m so happy with this change in weather, gives me a chance to really garden. You know? 🙂

    Reply

  6. My husband and I did a similar thing yesterday from 9am until 3pm…when we finally had lunch! We weeded, we whacked, I moved plants, we mulched plants….and it has rained all day today, so we’re resting! LOL

    You are lucky to have a garden helper. Sometimes I can enlist my teenaged sons or their friends. 🙂 I’m glad you got a day of rest. Gardening is not only therapeutic but aerobic as well.

    Reply

  7. Ack! I hope you still have a little boxwood. I love its scent. Personally I only have four little dwarf boxwoods, but I love them. I confess I would rip them up too to save a pecan tree.

    Unfortunately I don’t have any left Daphne. I prefer the dwarf type which these were suppose to be, another case of mislabeling. These were the hugh monster type that were determined to take over the entire bed. Some sacrifices you just to make for the sake of the garden.

    Reply

  8. Okay, I’m caught up. Your beds are looking very happy with that new compost. I know it is a lot of hard work, but don’t you just love how things look when you move them around? You’ve probably slept very well this week with all that work you’ve been doing.

    Thanks for posting the pic of the Thunbergia. It covers your trellis wonderfully and it is really pretty. I don’t remember seeing a white one before so I’ll be interested in seeing that. The one plant, Gentian, I’ve never heard or seen that before. Is it a perennial?

    Lastly, that picture of Spaz in her garden spot is too cute!!!

    I hope you had a chance to sit down & catch your breath Susie from your trip. 🙂 I do really love rearranging things because once I’m done it looks the way I pictured it would in my head. Well most of the time. I’ve been having no trouble falling asleep this week, that’s for sure. lol I knew you would like seeing the Thunbergia. I found the seed through Park Seed for the white version. I had never heard of or seen a Gentian either, I found it at Lowes when I was shopping for Pansies and had to get three. lol It said annual on the tag but after further research it’s suppose to be a perennial.
    Thanks about the picture of Spaz. She did look like a garden statue sitting so still. lol

    Reply

  9. What a wonderful day you had! Wish I had time to spend a day in the yard.
    Re blogging–I don’t know how you blog everyday, but I sure am glad you do! I check it first thing when I get to work! 🙂

    Thanks Linda. I need to catch up with the housework now, lol. You have to take advantage of great weather though in the yard. I love blogging, it’s nice to talk about the garden with others who feel the same way. I’m glad my posts are your morning highlight.

    Reply

  10. Posted by greenwalks on September 16, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Wow, busy bee is right! Dividing iris and daylily is on my ever-growing to-do list too, as well as crocosmia and penstemon. I’m kind of a fraidy-cat where that stuff is concerned but I’m going to try to be brave and hope I do an okay job! They’re pretty sad to be so overgrown so I figure I can’t make it too much worse!

    Thanks GW! Iris are easy to divide, daylillies are a challenge because the roots tend to grow together like a puzzle. I divided my croscosmia earlier after they had finished blooming and I’ve never divided Penstemon before. I have one that I just got earlier this summer so I’m sure in a few years that will be something that needs done too. 🙂 Most perennials are pretty easy to divide, the ones with taproots I leave them alone. They always do better after division that’s for sure.

    Reply

  11. Posted by greenwalks on September 16, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    PS Your beds look so great!

    Thanks again GW!

    Reply

  12. That’s okay Raquel, you have to do what you have to do for the garden for sure. It might have been a bit off balance with the boxwood there anyhow. It looks good and I know you are satisfied (at least for now).

    Thanks Tina, I knew you would understand. 🙂 I’m glad you like the way it looks now too.

    Reply

  13. Raquel, everything looks great. We are having cool weather and I am doing a lot of reworking as well. Must be in the air.

    Thanks Deb! It must be in the air, lol. Just that time of the year when we make improvements to the garden.

    Reply

  14. It is surprising to read all the comments about cooler weather as we were in the 90’s today!

    I envy you being able to go out and get all that work done. I love it when I can be out in the garden working, working, working. My toddler makes that a little hard at times as she is a VERY active little girl that enjoys the garden a little too much! lol Most days I have to steal some gardening time while she is napping.

    Your beds look great! I can’t wait to see pictures of them come Spring time! 🙂

    It’s been nice to have a cool week Cynthia after an entire summer of extreme heat & drought. It is unsually cool for this time of year, but much appreciated. It’s hard to find time for gardening with small children. I have teenagers that are for the most part self-sufficient except when they want something. lol Want to trade? 🙂 Thanks, I’m looking forward to Spring too.

    Reply

  15. Any advice for us unfortunate souls in the UK, who have to dig through the frost to get to just get to the soil?!

    A more serious question though:

    I’ve got two dogs and can’t afford to plant anything too delicate as they will inevitably become destroyed. Can I still make my garden beautiful even with dogs running around it all day?

    Reply

  16. WOW! You certainly accomplished quite a bit this week. Come Spring your efforts will be rewarded 🙂

    Thanks Mom, that’s what I’m hoping for, the end results come Spring. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Can’t wait to see that all filled in……Nice job!

    Thanks Darla, I can’t wait either. lol 🙂

    Reply

  18. You have been busy.

    Yes I have Laurie & Chris. Thanks for stopping by to check out my efforts. 🙂

    Reply

  19. PGL,

    You garden is going to look great once your plants get their roots down! That is a lot of work moving all those plants. Every now and then it’s a necessity!

    Thanks Dave! It does rejuvenate plants that been sitting there for a long time that’s for sure. It also gives the garden a fresh look the next season. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

