It’s Bloomin’ Tuesday again…

Well it’s another Bloomin Tuesday. And the garden is still full of blooms this second week of September. Somethings are fading out now while others are just coming into their own.

Solidago or Goldenrod ‘Fireworks’ is in full glory. The name was quite appropriate for this cultivar don’t you think. The flowers on this beauty remind me of sparklers on the fourth of july.

Phlox ‘Robert Poore’ has been a reliable bloomer in my garden this summer. This is the third or fourth flush of blooms it has produced. I keep deadheading the old blooms and it keeps making more flowers. Talk about a great perennial.

I found one lonely little Balloon Flower in the garden last evening. His face is alittle dirty from the downpour we got this weekend courtesy of Tropical Storm Hannah.

This is my unknown Clematis blooming again. It had a small flush of blooms last month and is making more now. This picture doesn’t do it justice, the flash keeps fading it out. It’s a deep lavender flower with a burgundy-red stripe.

To join in on the fun or to view other participants please visit Jean at msgreenthumb. What’s blooming in your garden today?

34 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cynthia on September 9, 2008 at 4:41 am

    Your goldenrod really does look like fireworks. How pretty! It is well named.

    I also enjoyed your pecan tree post from yesterday. It reminds me of when I once lived in the South with my husband and we had a pecan tree in our yard. It was very old and beautiful and produced so many pecans. Yum!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anne Fannie on September 9, 2008 at 5:02 am

    I just love that Clematis bloom and your little Balloon Flower. Even with a little dirt from the downpour, it still is a heart stopper! Thanks for sharing this Blooming Tuesday!
    Love, Ann

    Reply

  3. Posted by Linda Lunda on September 9, 2008 at 5:48 am

    Hi… strange… I thougth I did a comment… but… hmmm.
    I think your unknown Clematis are beautiful in all ways!
    Linda

    Reply

  4. Posted by Aiyana on September 9, 2008 at 10:47 am

    All the flowers are very nice. Do you have a lot of fall flowers, or do you just wait until spring? Fall is always great for flowers here in AZ, except cactus flowers, which will soon stop until next spring.
    Aiyana

    Reply

  5. Posted by Carla on September 9, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Love your golden rod! I’m glad it was decided this plant was worth hybridizing. Phlox may be put on my ‘want’ list-however I’ll have to get the mildew resistant. Thanks for sharing today-your babies look healthy and happy!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Darla on September 9, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I have that same Clematis growing on my mailbox. It bloomed well in the Spring and early Summer now it’s trying again. Haven’t grown Plox yet but I want to, any tips?
    Great flowers!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on September 9, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Pretty “almost fall” flowers! Does Goldenrod only bloom in the fall? It has always been a favorite of mine, but I was afraid it got really big and I didn’t have enough room for it.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Gail on September 9, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I think you have your own practically perfect phlox! He is a good looking one. I love Golden Rod, currently, my new favorite is Zigzag Golden Rod, it is smaller and has zigzagged stems that look great in the winter, too.

    Gail

    Reply

  9. Posted by Sweetie on September 9, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Such a nice post! I would love to see your entire garden. I am in awe of the Clematis bloom – especially since mine looks exactly like it did when I planted it in late spring. The Phlox are lovely. They were a favorite of my mother. The Goldenrod are beautiful also. Actually, your blooms are so nice that they are all my favorite.
    Sweetie

    Reply

  10. Posted by Defining Your Home on September 9, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I’m another fan of Robert Poore phlox. Mine just keep on blooming, too. The color works with so many combinations. Cameron

    Reply

  11. Posted by PGL on September 9, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Thanks Cynthia. I'm glad you enjoyed the Pecan Tree & the Goldenrod. It does look it's exploding when it's in bloom. πŸ˜‰

    Thank you Anne Fannie. I'm glad you enjoyed the blooms today.

    Thanks Linda, I have to agree regardless of the name it is still a pretty Clematis.

    I actually have quite a few things that will bloom into fall Aiyana. I need to get some more fall bloomers though like Dianthus, Mums, Asters & the Anemones Jean showed today. Can't wait to see your garden as the season changes.

    Thanks Carla. Robert Poore is quite disease resistant for a Phlox. I've never had a problems with it. I'm glad you liked the Goldenrod too.

    Isn't it a small world Darla. I wish I knew the variety, it was mislabeled as Snow Queen. On Phlox you want one that is mildew resistant. Mine is quite hardy when it comes to diseases.

    Goldenrod is a true fall perennial Linda. It only blooms at this time of year. It does get rather big after years but is easy to divide.

    Zigzag sounds like an interesting specimen Gail. I will have to check that one out. πŸ™‚ I have to admit Robert Poore is a great Phlox. I've had him for years in the garden and he just is a trooper.

    Thanks Sweetie, you are so nice. πŸ™‚ If you want to see my entire garden just go to My garden photos and you will see all my beds displayed. I'm glad you enjoyed the blooms today.

    It is a lovely shade of purple Cameron. I've had him for years and never been disappointed.

    Reply

  12. Posted by tina on September 9, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    It all looks great. After you last posted on your unknown clematis blooming, I found a bloom on mine too! I was so excited! Mine is either Miss Bateman or Nelly Moser. Not sure which. Darn! It is so difficult keeping track sometimes.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Suzanne on September 9, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Your Goldenrod is magnificent! It does remind me of fireworks, but it is better because the effects last so much longer! Your little balloon flower is lovely too!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Cindy on September 9, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Love the Goldenrod! It does look like sparklers. I thought that yesterday as I used a sprig to occupy Lillian for a few minutes!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on September 9, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    I really like goldenrod. Even the wild plants are beautiful. I like your clematis too. I don’t think I ever seen that one. Unusual combination of colors.
    Marnie

    Reply

  16. Posted by OhioMom on September 9, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Love that goldenrod! The clematis indeed seems happy in it’s new home.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Kathleen on September 9, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    love the fall blooms and your phlox that keeps reblooming is wonderful. I love perennials like that.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Jean on September 9, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I’m with everyone else, Love the goldenrod! The phlox is great too being disease resistant and blooming over and over. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday!

    Reply

  19. Posted by nancybond on September 9, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    All your blooms are lovely, but I’d have to agree that the goldenrod is a winner! The clematis is very pretty, too.

    Reply

  20. Posted by the pleasures of homemaking on September 9, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    The Goldenrod is beautiful! I have trouble with Clematis sometimes it does great and other times like this year it’s just leaves.

    I enjoyed your Pecan tree post below. We have a huge one in our side yard and our neighbor has two. Lots of pecans dropping!

    Manuela

    Reply

  21. Posted by PGL on September 9, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    If you send me a picture of it via email Tina I can tell you if it is Nelly Moser. I have her too! πŸ™‚

    You’re right Suzanne, it’s so much better. The blooms will last for a long time and the butterflies love it!

    I bet your daughter was entranced with the bright yellow blooms Cindy. Thanks!

    Thanks Marnie. I’m glad you liked my blooms today. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Mom, but actually this is the Clematis that was mislabeled.

    Thanks Kathleen, I love rebloomers too. Especially reblooming perennials. πŸ™‚

    Thank you Jean. I think the Goldenrod was a big hit today. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Nancy. Looks like Solidago ‘Fireworks’ was the star of the show today. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for visiting Manuela. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today as well as the post about the Pecan tree. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  22. Posted by Darla on September 9, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    You called my Fern Vine a Cypress Vine and I have also heard it called Star Vine……do we really know? I’ll look it up.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Darla on September 9, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Yep, Cypress Vine came right up. Thanks I like to know the correct names of my plants……

    Reply

  24. Posted by tina on September 9, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    PGL, The bloom is gone now. Just lasted a few days. But thanks! I was out there taking pictures for bloom day and found I really didn’t have so much blooming as I thought. And this is one bloom that is gone.

    Reply

  25. Posted by Balisha on September 9, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Hi PGL,
    Thanks for the tour of your garden. I didn’t get out to take pictures, so I am enjoying others. I love the goldenrod…so much prettier than mine.

    Reply

  26. Posted by GardenJoy4Me on September 9, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Hi PGL ! .. I know what you mean about the flash fading out true colours of the plants .. I have that problem too. I finally found my goldenrod tags .. Crown of Rays and Baby Gold .. and they both behave so well ! LOL
    Nice to see the Autumn blooms in your garden !
    Joy

    Reply

  27. Posted by PGL on September 9, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Glad I could help Darla. I love Cypress vine by the way, I bought seeds for next year. Mine are mixed red, pink & white.

    Unfortunately they don't last too long Tina. Maybe you'll get another one, let's hope. πŸ™‚

    Hi Balisha! Thanks, I'm glad I could brighten your day with my blooms.

    Hi Joy! It's a shame we can't really capture the true color & beauty of some flowers on film. I'm glad you enjoyed my Goldenrod. I will have to check out the cultivars you have. They sound interesting.

    Reply

  28. Posted by Paula on September 9, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    I just love looking at your photos! I bet your yard looks so lovely. I love that “Fireworks” beauty. I’m curious about scents of some of your flowers. I know some do and some don’t have aromas. By the way, I just love the phrase “Bloomin’ Tuesday” … Sounds like it needs to be spoken with a lovely British accent!

    Reply

  29. Posted by Susie on September 9, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    That goldenrod does look alot like sparklers. When we were little that was about the only fireworks we were allowed to play with. Your clematis really is lovely.

    Lets see, what is blooming in my garden? Actually, too many to name. My gardens really have bloomed nicely this year.

    Reply

  30. Posted by Laurie and Chris on September 9, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Great bloomin’ tuesday pictures. You really do have alot blooming still.

    Reply

  31. Posted by Cindy on September 10, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Oh goodness that clematis is beautiful! It’s really making me want one of my own.

    Cindy

    Reply

  32. How sweet Paula. My garden is starting to look tired, some areas are better than others. πŸ™‚ The Phlox is very fragrant, the goldenrod I don't detect any scent. Most clematis aren't fragrant except Sweet Autumn Clematis. I do love fragrant flowers the most though. I can't take credit for Bloomin' Tuesday, that is all the host Jean's doing.

    Your gardens probably look quite lovely right now Susie. Mine is getting somewhat worn out from all this heat. πŸ™‚ I'm glad you liked the Solidago 'Fireworks', it is looking its' best at the moment.

    Thanks Laurie & Chris. I'm glad you enjoyed my blooms today. πŸ™‚

    You really need to get you a Clematis Cindy. πŸ™‚ Thank you.

    Reply

  33. Posted by Cinj on September 10, 2008 at 1:40 am

    What an aptly named Goldenrod. I have some wild goldenrod blooming around here, but nothing near as gorgeous as that.

    Thanks Cinj, I’m glad you liked my Solidago ‘Fireworks’. It’s a great one.

    Reply

  34. Posted by greenwalks on September 10, 2008 at 3:40 am

    Your mystery clematis – so cute! The color already looks lovely in the photo, so if it’s even more beautiful, how cool!
    – Karen

    Thanks Karen. I really like the color of this one. It was suppose to be Snow Queen which is white. It was mislabeled at the garden center. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

