A trip to Lowe’s = New Plants!

I went to Lowe’s yesterday with my hubby to look at water heaters and I couldn’t resist stopping in the garden center. They had just got in a shipment of perennials for fall planting. Now I know I’ve ordered quite a few things already but the prices were great and they gave me a 10% military discount too! So I bought six new plants for my garden, and I even knew in my head an approximate location for each one at home. One of the purchases was on another wish list of mine at home so I saved myself the trouble of ordering it online. lol Doesn’t that make sense? πŸ™‚ Well I’m sure by now you’re all wondering what I got….

Really got excited when I saw Turtlehead or Chelone ‘Hot Lips’ on display. I’ve never grown it before but always wanted to give it a try in the garden. No blooms yet, but the foliage looks pretty healthy and it wasn’t root bound in the pot which is a great sign. This has been planted in my oval bed that surrounds the Pecan Tree which gets filtered sunlight. According to the tag, it gets clusters of pink flowers, the foliage turns bronze in fall and it provides late summer color for the garden. It will get 24-30″ tall and I planted it with my existing Heucera ‘Plum Pudding’ and Autumn Fern. Should be a nice combination in the shady pecan tree bed.

Another new to me addition to the garden is False Aster or Kalimeris incisa ‘Shogun’. This plant has wonderful green foliage with golden margins. The blooms will be pale lavender aster-like flowers, but the foliage is an added bonus if you ask me. I have this planted near the Goldenrod in my front border. Purple & yellow are always a great combination. This will bloom from late summer into the fall and grows to 20″ in height and 16″ in width.

I’ve grown Russian Sage in my gardens in the past, but this variety ‘Longin’ had a bushier look to it then the fern-like foliage I’ve had in the past. I purchased two of these to put between the Purple Fountain Grass which is an annual & won’t survive the winter. These should take over nicely and fill in this back area of the new garden bed. The lavender blooms & aromatic foliage make this a wonderful perennial to grow. It also attracts butterflies & hummingbirds.

I had to give the ‘White Swan’ Coneflower another chance in my garden. I’ve had no problems with the purple variety but for some reason the white one has disappeared from my garden on two occasions. This one was planted in the front border as a companion to the Blackeyed Susans & Purple Coneflowers that are already existing.

Last but not least is the Hyssop ‘Black Adder’ or Agastache. This plant was on my wish list for next season and I had planned on ordering it online this fall or next spring. The flowers are a smokey violet color and the foliage has a wonderful licorice scent. It blooms summer to fall and is quite attractive to butterflies & hummingbirds too. I planted this as a companion to my Lantana ‘Miss Huff’. She will get 24-36′ in height by 24′ in width. Don’t you just love adding new plants to the garden?

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by beckie on September 5, 2008 at 4:48 am

    We just can’t resist the lure of a garden plant sale can we? πŸ™‚ I have the Turtle head on my wish list-maybe I need to checkout our Lowe’s. It is such a pretty plant and seems to hold it’s blooms til late in the season. I saw this one at the Idea Garden. The Russian sage does look different and I’ll be looking forward to seeing it bloom next spring. I have not heard too many good things about the different colored coneflowers. They don’t seem to reseed very well. But like you, I have them on my wish list. Good choices all!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cynthia on September 5, 2008 at 4:57 am

    I am impressed with how quickly you got everything into the ground! They already look happy in their new homes. I love Russian Sage and keep trying to decide if I should plant one. You will not be disappointed with the Agastache! I just love the flowers on those.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on September 5, 2008 at 4:58 am

    I can’t wait to get on with the fall perennial planting. I have a dry shade garden and a corner ornamental grass garden in the planning.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Paula on September 5, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Oh man, can you please come do something with my yard? I’d love to have a beautiful garden with flowers and plants, and a little seating area where I could sit down for more than 2 minutes to relax. You really have a gift for this … I’d go to Lowe’s and not even have a clue what plants to purchase. So, um, feel free to start with a clean palate … my yard! It would be a challenge, for sure!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rowena on September 5, 2008 at 6:36 am

    With ugly weather predictions for this weekend, looks like hiking is out so I’m taking a cue from you — and heading out to the nursery! Thanks for planting the “seed” into my head. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. Posted by flowergardengirl.com on September 5, 2008 at 7:46 am

    You picked some good ones. I’m very fond of Russian Sage. I don’t have any at my new house so I’ll make a trip tomorrow to the big box. I was just at my local favorite nursery and they didn’t have any. I almost like buying plants as much as eating ice cream.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Cindy on September 5, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Such great choices! They look good in their new homes.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Gail on September 5, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Boy amy I feeling Big Box envy! Our Lowes has never had an order of perennials for the fall…just mums! I might have to try another location.

    Isn’t is a good feeling to know when you purchase, exactly where you want to plant them? No running around the garden wondering about it all or leaving them in the holding area (I do that). Nice finds by the way!

    gail

    Reply

  9. Posted by tina on September 5, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    This is so funny. I just posted on my turtlehead this morning! You got all pretty good perennials. Definitely give White Swan another chance. I love mine. And, what a gardener to kind of have an idea where they’ll all go! That is my rule now too, though I may have to move other perennials. Darn.

    Reply

  10. Posted by OhioMom on September 5, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Cool purchases … the Russian Sage is a really good choice, love how well it not only holds up all summer but spreads.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on September 5, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Oh, I can’t resist going to the garden center when we go to Lowes or Home Depot. Love all your new flowers. My White Swan Coneflowers continue to do well, and smell so good. I wish my Russian Sage would look better, but it’s still young–maybe next year.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Mother Nature on September 5, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I frequent Lowes but not recently. I better get a move on. dtxaeu. I must force myself to plant the ones I have first. It has been raining a little and it is the perfect time to plant. Have a great day.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on September 5, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    You got some really nice plants. I haven’t been to Lowes all year. Your post has shaken my resolve not to add anything new this season;)

    I have 3 agastache blue fortune which do very well here. I would like to try others including black adder but I’ve heard they are not likely to survive my winters.
    Marnie

    Reply

  14. Posted by Carla on September 5, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Wonderful! And how cool you already had spots for them! May they all grow well for you!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Karen on September 5, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    My Russian sage must be in the wrong place, it is struggling. I keep seeing them flourishing in other people’s gardens, I must find out how to grow it better. Plant sales coming up this weekend and next, although I need to restrain myself because everything isn’t in the ground from the last bunch I bought in May! Shameful admission. Happy planting!

    – Karen

    Reply

  16. Posted by DP Nguyen on September 5, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Congrats on all the new plants. I also have a hard time not stopping by garden stores and buying something, lol. Tina posted about turtleheads today, and they are really pretty.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Darla on September 5, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Wow a trip to Lowes…….one of my favorite things to do! The girls usually go to the in-laws on Saturdays and my husband takes me by there to puchase a new flower. It’s even better when he goes by himself and I say, bring me a surprise! That’s how I got the unique looking plants in my garden.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Defining Your Home on September 5, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    It’s an addiction, isn’t it? LOL You’ve got some great plants. I’ll want to hear how you like chelone. I’ve gone looking for it a few times for my rain garden.

    Reply

  19. What a lovely bunch of plants. It is fun to see how they will look in the garden even though we know what they should look like. Sometimes is all about what you put with something that makes it a standout.

    I love fountain grass but it does come back here each year.

    Reply

  20. Thanks everyone for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed my new plants. Being gardeners I knew you could appreciate my excitement & urge to get more plants. πŸ™‚ I promise to post about the progress of my new plants so everyone can watch them grow up in the garden with me. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  21. Posted by Susie on September 6, 2008 at 3:45 am

    PGL-Don’t you know you’ll get in trouble by taking a detour through the garden section? I know, I can’t resist either. Of course, I’m always comparing what they have to what my nursery has.

    I haven’t planted turtle head before but enjoy it’s pretty pink blooms.

    When I lived in GA White Swan performed wonderfully for me. Here I have lots of customers tell me they can’t keep it returning in their yards either. I hope this one hangs around for you. I haven’t heard of that False Aster so I’ll be interested in seeing how it performs for you.

    I like the late blooming of all these plants. Always nice to have some fall blooming perennials.

    Reply

  22. Posted by PGL on September 6, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Susie, I can't resist looking even though I know I will probably find something I have to buy. lol The great thing about adding plants now is they get a great start for the next year & I have an extended season of bloom in the garden.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Kathleen on September 8, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    You and I and Lowes are trouble I think! Great selections for your garden. I love any agastaches and of course the chelone is a great one for fall color. I still have my Labor Day purchases sitting in pots out front ~ I need someone like you to motivate me about getting them in the ground!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

